Do Tokens Have Summoning Sickness?
Tokens, being permanents on the field, technically have summoning sickness, but since they are not creatures, it does not affect them in the same way it affects creature tokens, which are unable to attack or use tap abilities until the beginning of their controller’s next turn. The key distinction lies in understanding that while summoning sickness applies to all permanents, its effects are specifically relevant to creatures, making the concept somewhat moot for non-creature tokens.
Understanding Summoning Sickness and Tokens
Introduction to Summoning Sickness
To delve deeper into the relationship between tokens and summoning sickness, it’s essential to first understand what summoning sickness is. Summoning sickness is a game mechanic in Magic: The Gathering that prevents a creature from attacking or using any of its tap abilities during the turn it is played. This rule is designed to balance gameplay by preventing players from immediately using powerful creatures or permanents as soon as they are played.
Tokens and Their Interaction with Summoning Sickness
Tokens, on the other hand, are permanents that are created by spells, abilities, or other effects. They can be creatures, artifacts, enchantments, or any other type of permanent. When a token is created, it does not go through the same process as casting a spell, meaning it does not use the stack and does not have the same timing restrictions. However, token creatures do have summoning sickness because they are creatures, but non-creature tokens do not, as the sickness only affects the use of tap abilities and attacking, neither of which applies to non-creature tokens.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
-
Do Clue Tokens Have Summoning Sickness? Technically, clue tokens do experience summoning sickness because all permanents do, but since they are not creatures, the effects of summoning sickness ( inability to attack or use tap abilities) do not apply to them.
-
Do Token Creatures Have Haste? Creature tokens you control do have haste if a specific card effect grants them haste; otherwise, they follow the standard rules for creatures and summoning sickness.
-
Does Creating a Token Count as Casting? No, creating a token is not the same as casting a spell. Tokens are created by the resolution of spells or abilities, and this process does not involve putting a card onto the stack.
-
What Cards Get Summoning Sickness? Although all permanents experience summoning sickness, only creatures, artifact creatures, land creatures, planeswalker creatures, and enchantment creatures (or lands, artifacts, planeswalkers, or enchantments that have become creatures) are affected by summoning sickness.
-
Is Summoning Sickness Only on Your Turn? A creature gets summoning sickness as it enters the battlefield; it lasts until the beginning of its controller’s next turn. During this time, the creature cannot attack or use any tap abilities but can block if the opponent attacks.
-
Can Summoning Sickness Be Untapped? You can untap a creature with summoning sickness, but this will not remove the summoning sickness. The creature is not tapped when it enters the battlefield with summoning sickness, but it still cannot attack or use tap abilities.
-
Do Token Copies Have a Casting Cost? Most token creatures have a converted mana cost (CMC) of 0 because they do not have a mana cost. However, tokens that copy a creature in play will have a CMC because they copy the mana cost of the original creature.
-
Do Tokens Hit the Graveyard? Yes, tokens do go to the graveyard, but as a passive effect, they immediately cease to exist. They can be sacrificed or exiled like any other card in Magic: The Gathering.
-
Is Creating a Token the Same as Casting a Spell? No, creating a token is not the same as casting a spell. Token creation does not involve the stack, and tokens are not cards.
-
Can You Flicker a Creature Token? Tokens can be the target of a flicker effect, but they won’t return to the battlefield because when a token moves to another zone (like exile), it ceases to exist.
-
Can Tokens Use Undying? Tokens can gain undying, and the ability will trigger if a token is put into a graveyard. However, the token cannot return to the battlefield and will cease to exist as a state-based action.
-
How Do Token Creatures Work? Token creatures behave exactly like normal creatures when they are in play. They can attack, block, or be used for their printed action abilities.
-
Can You Tap a Treasure Token Without Sacrificing It? Unlike some other artifact tokens, Treasure tokens must be tapped to be sacrificed for mana.
-
Do Tokens Count as Creatures Without Abilities? Tokens can be any type of permanent, not just creatures. Once on the battlefield, tokens operate like any other permanent, and some abilities may specifically target tokens or non-tokens.
-
Does Grave Betrayal Work on Tokens? No, Grave Betrayal does not work on tokens because tokens cease to exist as soon as they are put into the graveyard, before Grave Betrayal‘s effect can trigger.
By understanding summoning sickness and how it interacts with tokens, players can better navigate the complexities of Magic: The Gathering, making more informed decisions during gameplay and enhancing their overall experience with the game. Whether you’re a seasoned player or just starting out, grasping these Magic: The Gathering fundamentals is key to improving your strategy and enjoying the game to its fullest potential.