Can You Flank With Spells? A Deep Dive into D&D Flanking Mechanics
The short, direct answer is: yes, you can flank with spells, but only with specific types of spells. The crucial factor is whether the spell requires a melee spell attack. The standard flanking rule, when implemented in a D&D game, hinges on making a melee attack. Not all spells involve melee attacks; in fact, most spells are ranged, affecting targets at a distance. This distinction is key to understanding how spells interact with flanking mechanics. Let’s delve deeper.
Melee Spell Attacks and Flanking
The Core Rule
The core rule of flanking in D&D 5th Edition states that when a creature and at least one of its allies are adjacent to an enemy, positioned on opposite sides or corners of the enemy’s space, they flank that enemy. Flanking provides advantage on melee attack rolls against the flanked target. This advantage represents the tactical benefit of attacking from multiple angles, making it harder for the defender to effectively block or dodge.
How Melee Spell Attacks Qualify
Here’s the crucial point: melee spell attacks are treated as melee attacks for the purpose of flanking. This means if you cast a spell like shocking grasp or spiritual weapon (and use the spiritual weapon itself to attack), and you meet the flanking condition, your attack roll will benefit from advantage. It is the nature of the attack roll, not the spell’s source, that triggers the advantage. Therefore, a melee spell attack benefits from flanking, just as a sword strike or a punch would. The fact that the attack roll uses your spellcasting modifier (Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma) instead of Strength or Dexterity doesn’t change this.
What Does NOT Work with Flanking
It is also important to clarify what does not qualify for flanking:
- Ranged Spell Attacks: Spells like fire bolt, sacred flame, or ray of frost all utilize ranged spell attacks. Since flanking specifically grants advantage on melee attacks, these spells do not receive the flanking bonus, even if allies are positioned in a flanking position.
- Spells with Saving Throws: Spells that force a target to make a saving throw (e.g., fireball, hold person, sleep) are not attack rolls, they are not considered either melee or ranged. Thus, they can not benefit from flanking.
- Spells that do not deal damage: Spells like healing word don’t have attack rolls, and cannot benefit from flanking.
- Spells That Summon Creatures: Summoning spells like Conjure Animals or Summon Fey do not get the benefit of flanking themselves, but they can create flankers for your other characters.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Flanking and Spells
Let’s address some common questions about flanking, spell attacks, and how they interact in D&D:
1. What are the exact conditions for flanking in D&D 5e?
Flanking occurs when a creature and at least one of its allies are positioned adjacent to an enemy, on opposite sides or corners of that enemy’s space. This applies whether you’re using a square or hex grid. The most important thing is to have allies in the opposing threat area of the enemy.
2. Does flanking work with melee weapons and melee spell attacks differently?
No. The flanking advantage applies identically to all melee attacks, regardless of whether the attack is made with a weapon, an unarmed strike, or a melee spell attack.
3. Can a spiritual weapon flank?
The spiritual weapon itself cannot flank as it is not a creature and the positioning of allies do not have an effect on it. The spiritual weapon does however benefit from a melee attack bonus if the caster is set up in the appropriate flanking positions, and the caster makes a melee spell attack through it.
4. Can I flank with a reach weapon or melee spell attack that attacks an enemy from 10ft away?
No. Only the attacker receives the benefit of flanking. For a figure to provide the bonus they must be adjacent to the target of the attack (or in the threatened space). Therefore, the figure using a reach weapon cannot benefit from the flanking bonus unless they are in the threatened space.
5. Can an invisible creature be used to flank?
Yes. An invisible ally can provide flanking. The invisibility status doesn’t remove the threat the creature presents, it just makes it harder to target.
6. Can a blinded creature participate in flanking?
No. A blinded creature cannot provide a flanking bonus. Since a blinded creature does not threaten attacks of opportunity, they do not count toward the flanking rule.
7. Does flanking provide advantage against large creatures?
Yes. When flanking a large creature, the positioning requirements are based on the center point of the creature’s occupied space. As long as the flanking allies create an invisible line through opposite sides (or corners) of the target, flanking is applied.
8. Can familiars or other summoned creatures be used to flank?
Yes. Familiars and most summoned creatures can provide flanking, provided they are an ally, are positioned correctly, and are capable of making a melee attack. Illusions however, do not qualify as they are not allies.
9. Can I still get flanking advantage if the enemy is not paying attention to the flanker?
Yes. The benefit of flanking is based on positioning, not the enemy’s awareness.
10. Can a dancing sword flank?
Yes, if it meets the conditions. A dancing sword can flank, as it is a separate entity from the wielder. It can still threaten an enemy from its space, provided it meets the conditions.
11. Does the ‘5-foot step rule’ affect flanking?
No. The ‘5-foot step rule’, which allows a creature to move 5 feet and avoid opportunity attacks, does not directly impact flanking rules, as movement does not trigger the flank.
12. Can you flank from range?
No, you cannot flank from range. Flanking specifically applies to melee attacks only.
13. Does flanking work with other advantage sources?
Yes. Flanking advantage stacks with other sources of advantage. A creature with advantage for multiple reasons is still only said to have advantage once, they don’t stack.
14. Does grappling count towards a flanking position?
Yes, a grappled creature can qualify as a flanker so long as the creature is considered to threaten the position. This is defined as having a one handed weapon, or improved unarmed fighting.
15. Is flanking a rule or an optional rule?
Flanking is an optional rule, outlined in the Dungeon Master’s Guide (DMG). As such, it is up to the Dungeon Master to decide if this rule is implemented in their campaign.
Conclusion
In summary, while most spells don’t benefit from flanking, melee spell attacks absolutely do. The key is to remember the fundamental mechanics of flanking – it’s about melee attacks and positioning. Understanding this allows you to make tactical decisions to maximize the effectiveness of your spells in combat, making flanking a valuable tool in your D&D arsenal. Utilizing a mix of spells that take advantage of positioning along with melee attacks can be a significant advantage in combat. Always remember that the DM has the final say, and it’s always a good idea to confirm how they intend to use any house-rules or optional rules in play.