Can You Split Flurry of Blows? A Comprehensive Guide
The question of whether you can split Flurry of Blows in Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition (5e) often sparks debate among players. The short answer is: Yes, you can split Flurry of Blows. While the ability lets you make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action, these attacks do not need to target the same creature. You can target two different creatures within your reach with your Flurry of Blows attacks, provided they are within your movement capability, and no extra movement is required to do so.
This seemingly simple allowance opens up tactical possibilities, allowing monks to exert control on multiple enemies. The mechanic of Flurry of Blows and its interaction with other Monk features is an important part of the Monk’s martial prowess. Let’s delve deeper into the nuances and clear up any confusion surrounding this pivotal Monk ability.
Understanding Flurry of Blows
First, it is vital to clearly define the base mechanics of Flurry of Blows. This ability is a keystone of the Monk class, typically acquired at 2nd level. It allows you to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action on your turn. This bonus action is triggered after you have taken the Attack action with your regular action.
The crux of our discussion surrounds the following question: Do these two strikes need to be directed at a single enemy? The official rules do not explicitly state that both strikes from Flurry of Blows must target the same enemy. The wording simply implies that you can make two unarmed attacks after your initial attack. The distinction lies in the interpretation of “two unarmed strikes as a bonus action”. This allows you the flexibility to choose different targets, provided you are within reach of each target, without requiring additional movement between attacks.
Tactical Implications
The ability to split Flurry of Blows significantly impacts how monks approach combat. Instead of focusing all damage on a single foe, a monk can now strategically target multiple opponents. Here are some tactical examples:
- Disrupting Formations: By targeting one enemy with your initial attack and then splitting Flurry of Blows to attack two different enemies, you can disrupt a tightly packed group of foes. This can make it difficult for them to concentrate attacks and possibly trigger opportunity attacks from allies.
- Crowd Control: If you’re facing a horde of weaker creatures, your initial attack and then two separate Flurry of Blows strikes can help thin the ranks.
- Focusing Down Multiple Targets: If two important targets are close to one another, the split attacks can provide a way to bring the enemies down more quickly than focusing on one at a time.
- Applying Status Effects: if you’re a Way of Mercy Monk, you could inflict different effects on the different targets you choose to attack with the Flurry of Blows.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Understanding the finer points of Flurry of Blows can be tricky. Here are 15 frequently asked questions to help you master this monk ability.
1. Does Flurry of Blows require an initial attack?
Yes, you must take the Attack action with your main action before you can use Flurry of Blows. This initial attack sets the stage for using your bonus action to unleash the flurry.
2. Can I move between attacks with Flurry of Blows?
While the rules allow you to split the attacks, the attacks must be made while remaining within the movement you have remaining for your turn and without expending extra movement between the attacks themselves. The attacks are resolved immediately one after another.
3. Can Flurry of Blows target the same enemy as my Attack Action?
Yes, you can use any or all of the attacks in the combination on the same target, or you can split the attacks among different targets. If the main target is not dead after your first attack, you can still hit it again with the two additional blows from your Flurry of Blows if you so choose.
4. Is Flurry of Blows a full-round action?
Flurry of Blows is not a full round action in and of itself. It is a bonus action used after taking the Attack action. These are all parts of your total round, but not an action that takes up an entire round on its own.
5. How many attacks can a Monk make using Flurry of Blows at level 5?
At 5th level, with the Extra Attack feature, a Monk can make four attacks in a single turn. This includes their two attacks from their main action and then two additional attacks using Flurry of Blows if they have the Ki available.
6. Do I roll twice for Flurry of Blows?
Yes, each of the attacks from your Flurry of Blows has to be rolled independently against the target’s AC. This means you will have to roll for each of the additional attacks.
7. Can I do multiple Flurry of Blows in one turn?
No, you can only perform Flurry of Blows once per turn because it utilizes your bonus action, and you only get one bonus action per turn.
8. Can I use Flurry of Blows with a weapon?
Yes, if you have the Monastic Weaponry feature, you can use melee monk weapons for abilities that require unarmed attacks, like Flurry of Blows.
9. Does Haste stack with Flurry of Blows?
Yes, the haste spell grants an additional action which can be used to attack. This can be used before your original attacks on your turn which can then be followed up with a flurry of blows.
10. Is Flurry of Blows more valuable with advantage?
Yes, because advantage increases your chance to hit and your chance to crit, it is beneficial to use Flurry of Blows while in an advantaged position.
11. Does Flurry of Blows stack with Two-Weapon Fighting?
Flurry of Blows replaces your bonus action attack, so you would not benefit from two-weapon fighting. Instead, your normal bonus action from the martial arts feature that comes along with it is replaced by the flurry of blows.
12. Can I use Flurry of Blows while wearing armor?
Monks cannot use Flurry of Blows while wearing armor unless they have the subclass feature Sohei which allows the monk to wear light armor without losing access to Flurry of Blows. Medium and heavy armor always prevent usage.
13. Can I grapple or shove with Flurry of Blows?
No, grappling and shoving are part of the Attack action, not melee weapon or unarmed attacks, and can only replace your first attack, preventing the use of your flurry.
14. Does Flurry of Blows stack with Martial Arts?
No, Flurry of Blows replaces the bonus attack from Martial Arts. It does not stack with the bonus attack, but both can still be used independently on the same turn if the Monk does not expend ki.
15. Can I use Stunning Strike with Flurry of Blows?
Yes, you can use Stunning Strike on any of the attacks you land on a creature, be it the attacks from the main action or from the Flurry of Blows. You may choose to use stunning strike each time you hit.
Conclusion
Understanding how to use the Flurry of Blows feature properly is critical for playing a monk effectively. The ability to split Flurry of Blows allows monks greater versatility in combat and further cements their position as masters of martial arts. This ability to target multiple foes can be the difference between success and failure on your adventures, making the split mechanic a valuable addition to the monk’s arsenal. Always refer to the latest rules and errata for the most accurate information, but do not shy away from using the mechanic to create new and creative approaches to combat.