Is putting a card onto the battlefield casting a spell?

Is Putting a Card onto the Battlefield Casting a Spell?

The short, definitive answer is no. Putting a card onto the battlefield is not the same as casting a spell. While these two actions are often linked and frequently happen in the same turn within the game, they are distinct processes in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). Understanding the difference is crucial for grasping the game’s intricate rules and interactions.

Understanding the Nuances: Casting vs. Entering the Battlefield

In MTG, the terms “casting” and “entering the battlefield” describe distinct steps in a card’s journey from your hand (or other zones) to the game’s play area. Let’s break down what each term means and how they differ:

What is Casting a Spell?

Casting a spell is the act of taking a card from your hand, putting it onto the stack, and paying its mana cost (or other associated costs). Think of the stack as a temporary holding zone for spells, where they wait to resolve. Casting initiates a sequence of events that can involve counterspells, triggered abilities, and other interactions. A card on the stack is considered a spell.

Crucially, the act of casting a spell involves:

  • Taking a card from your hand (or other valid zones).
  • Placing it on the stack.
  • Paying its costs.

The spell will only eventually resolve and have its effect if it isn’t countered on the stack. Once it resolves it goes to the graveyard or enters the battlefield. This is crucial to understand – casting is the first stage.

What is Entering the Battlefield?

A card “enters the battlefield” when it moves from any other zone (hand, graveyard, exile, library) to the battlefield, which is the primary play area in MTG. This can happen in several ways, but primarily when a spell resolves or when an effect places it directly on the battlefield. When a card that is a creature spell, artifact spell, planeswalker spell, resolves it becomes a permanent and enters the battlefield. Instant spells and sorcery spells resolve and go to the graveyard.

Importantly, lands are not cast, they are “played.” Playing a land is different from casting a spell because it bypasses the stack and the other rules that apply to casting. Playing a land also has it’s own restrictions, such as when you can play the card and how many you can play per turn.

Entering the battlefield does not involve the stack if it was put on the battlefield directly from a spell or ability effect. It is the resulting effect after the casting process has resolved and the card changes state to become a permanent on the battlefield.

Key Differences Summarized

Feature Casting a Spell Entering the Battlefield
——————– ———————————————– ————————————————-
Location Occurs on the stack Occurs on the battlefield
Process Involves paying costs, initiating the spell Happens upon resolution or direct placement
Triggered Effects Triggers “when you cast” abilities Triggers “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield” abilities
Lands Lands are never cast, but played directly to the battlefield Lands enter the battlefield
Stack A card is placed on the stack A card is not placed on the stack

Why the Distinction Matters

The difference between casting a spell and entering the battlefield is essential because:

  • Triggered Abilities: Many cards have abilities that trigger “when you cast a spell” or “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield”. These are triggered at different stages of a card’s journey and understanding this difference is key to playing the cards correctly. These different abilities will trigger at different times during the game.
  • Counterspells: Counterspells target spells on the stack. Once a card enters the battlefield, it’s too late to counter it, unless a specific ability is used to remove it from the battlefield.
  • Specific Card Interactions: Many cards have effects that depend specifically on either the casting of a spell, or a card entering the battlefield. Knowing the difference between these two terms is the key to understanding these complex interactions.
  • Lands: Lands are never cast, but played directly to the battlefield

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the distinction:

1. If I copy a spell, is it being cast?

No, copying a spell is not the same as casting it. When you copy a spell, you put a copy of it onto the stack. This copy isn’t considered cast, and therefore, won’t trigger “when you cast” abilities.

2. Does putting a land onto the battlefield count as casting a spell?

No, playing a land does not count as casting a spell. Lands are “played” onto the battlefield directly and do not go on the stack. Playing a land will never trigger “when you cast a spell” abilities.

3. What does “putting onto the battlefield” specifically mean?

Putting onto the battlefield” means moving a card from another zone (like your hand, graveyard, library, or exile) to the battlefield. This can happen due to an ability or spell effect.

4. If a card enters the battlefield as a copy, was it cast?

No. A card that enters the battlefield as a copy is not cast. The card enters the battlefield already as a copy of another object. It skips the casting process.

5. Do mutate cards entering the battlefield trigger “enter the battlefield” effects?

No, a mutating creature does not enter the battlefield when it resolves. It modifies an existing creature on the battlefield, and therefore does not trigger ETB effects.

6. Can a creature on the battlefield be considered a spell?

No, once a creature resolves and enters the battlefield, it becomes a permanent and is no longer considered a spell. A creature is only a spell when it is on the stack after being cast.

7. Do battle cards enter the battlefield the same way as other cards?

Yes, battle cards enter the battlefield with a predetermined number of defense counters after they are cast. They are considered permanents once on the battlefield.

8. Does using a wand or scroll count as casting a spell?

In the context of some fantasy settings, if a magical item like a wand or scroll is used, you are considered the caster of the spell, but you are not casting a spell yourself. The item is casting the spell. This distinction is often used in card abilities for flavour but has no effect on the casting process in MTG.

9. Do cards with “when you cast” abilities work if I put them directly onto the battlefield?

No, “when you cast” abilities trigger only when a card is cast from your hand (or other specified zones) onto the stack. Putting them directly onto the battlefield skips the stack and bypasses “when you cast” triggers.

10. Is “playing” a card the same as casting?

“Playing” a card refers to either casting it as a spell or playing it as a land. Therefore, “playing” a card is not the same as casting a spell.

11. Is it possible to cast a spell without saying an incantation (verbal)

Yes, in many settings it is possible to cast spells using a wand without saying an incantation. This means a spell can be cast non-verbally.

12. What happens to a card that was not cast, but is entering the battlefield as a creature?

If a noncreature card wasn’t cast and is entering the battlefield as a creature due to a card effect, it will be exiled.

13. Can an indestructible creature be killed by deathtouch?

No, deathtouch deals “lethal damage,” but indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed by lethal damage. Indestructible creatures effectively ignore deathtouch.

14. How does Double Strike interact with Deathtouch?

If a creature with double strike blocks a creature with deathtouch, the creature with double strike will deal damage during the first strike step, potentially destroying the deathtouch creature before the deathtouch creature deals damage in the second strike step.

15. Does deathtouch cancel deathtouch?

No, deathtouch does not cancel deathtouch. Two instances of deathtouch do not cancel each other out. Deathtouch means that any damage dealt by the creature is considered lethal. This means a creature that blocks a creature with deathtouch will also be destroyed by damage if it does not have other keywords to protect it such as indestructible.

Conclusion

Distinguishing between “casting a spell” and “putting a card onto the battlefield” is a cornerstone of understanding MTG rules. By grasping the subtle yet critical differences, you can better navigate the game’s complexities and make strategic decisions. Remember, casting is the initiation process on the stack, while entering the battlefield is the result. Each step triggers unique effects and understanding these nuances is key to effective play.

Leave a Comment