Does an Artifact Count as a Spell?
An artifact does not count as a spell when it is in play or in a player’s hand, but it is considered a spell while it is on the stack, meaning it is in the process of being cast. Artifacts are permanents that represent magical items, animated constructs, pieces of equipment, or other objects and devices, and their classification as spells is limited to the time they are being cast.
Understanding Artifacts and Spells
To dive deeper into the relationship between artifacts and spells, let’s explore some key concepts and frequently asked questions.
FAQs About Artifacts and Spells
Here are some key points to consider:
- What counts as an artifact spell in MTG? An artifact spell in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) refers to the card type that represents magical items, constructs, or equipment being cast.
- Do artifact creatures count as creature spells? Yes, artifact creatures count as both creature and artifact types and are affected by cards that target either type.
- Is an artifact land a spell? No, artifact lands can only be played as lands, not cast as spells.
- Does a land count as a spell? No, playing a land is a special action that doesn’t use the stack, so it is never considered a spell.
- Are artifacts historic spells? Yes, artifacts, legendaries, and Sagas are considered historic.
- Do artifacts have summoning sickness? While all permanents experience summoning sickness, only creatures (including artifact creatures) are affected by it.
- Can artifacts tap first turn? Yes, artifacts that are not creatures can tap immediately, as summoning sickness only affects creatures.
- Is equipping an artifact a spell in MTG? No, equipping is an ability, separate from a spell.
- Is activating an artifact ability a spell? No, activated abilities are not spells, though they can be countered by effects that specifically target abilities.
- Do artifacts count as sorcery? Anything played for mana is considered a spell, but once resolved, artifacts are considered permanents, not sorceries.
- Can you use artifact abilities as instants? Activated abilities can be used at any time an instant can be played, unless stated otherwise.
- Do artifact spells you cast have flash? You may cast legendary spells and artifact spells as though they had flash.
- Is an artificer an artifact spell? Not inherently; only specific artificers that are also artifact creatures are considered artifacts.
- Does convoke pay for colored mana? Convoke lets you pay for colored and colorless mana, differing from improvise, which only lets you use artifacts for generic mana.
- What is considered a spell in MTG? A spell is any card cast by a player, excluding land cards, and can include creature, artifact, enchantment, instant, and sorcery types.
Conclusion
In conclusion, understanding whether an artifact counts as a spell in Magic: The Gathering depends on the context, particularly the phase of the game in which the artifact is being considered. By clarifying these nuances and answering related questions, players can deepen their grasp of the game’s intricate rules and strategies. Artifacts, as permanents, offer unique abilities and interactions, and recognizing their status as spells during casting is crucial for effective gameplay.