Can I Cast a Bonus Action Spell and an Action Spell in the Same Turn?
Yes, but there’s a significant caveat! The rules governing spellcasting in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition can sometimes feel like navigating a labyrinth. The short answer is: you can cast a bonus action spell and an action spell in the same turn, provided the action spell is a cantrip.
The crucial rule is this: If you cast a spell using a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast on that same turn is a cantrip with a casting time of one action. This limitation is designed to prevent characters from unleashing devastating combinations of powerful leveled spells in a single round. It encourages strategic decision-making and ensures a balanced playing field.
Let’s break down why this rule exists and explore its nuances.
Understanding the ‘Bonus Action Spell’ Rule
The logic behind this rule is to prevent spellcasters from overwhelming encounters. Imagine a wizard being able to cast a high-level damage spell like Fireball (action) and then immediately follow it up with a powerful buff like Haste (bonus action). This would create an imbalance, especially at lower levels. The rule forces players to make tough choices about which spell to prioritize.
Action Economy and Spellcasting
Action economy is a fundamental concept in D&D 5e, representing the actions a character can take during their turn. Each character gets one action, one bonus action (if they have something that grants them one), and one reaction. By restricting the types of spells that can be cast in conjunction with bonus action spells, the game maintains a more balanced action economy.
Examples of Permitted and Prohibited Spell Combinations
-
Allowed: Casting Healing Word (bonus action) followed by Fire Bolt (action, cantrip). This is a legal combination. The bonus action spell is followed by a cantrip.
-
Not Allowed: Casting Healing Word (bonus action) followed by Cure Wounds (action). This is illegal. Two leveled spells cannot be cast in the same turn if one is a bonus action spell.
-
Allowed: Casting Fireball (action) followed by Shield (reaction). This is legal. Shield is a reaction spell and doesn’t interfere with the bonus action limitation.
-
Allowed: Casting Eldritch Blast (action, cantrip) and then activating Hexblade’s Curse as a bonus action. Hexblade’s Curse isn’t a spell.
Exceptions and Considerations
- Reactions: Spells cast as reactions (such as Counterspell or Shield) are separate from the action and bonus action economy. Therefore, you can cast a reaction spell even if you’ve already cast a bonus action spell.
- Action Surge: The Fighter’s Action Surge feature grants an additional action, but it does not circumvent the bonus action spellcasting rule. If you cast a bonus action spell, you are still restricted to only casting a cantrip with your action and the action granted by action surge.
- Metamagic: The Sorcerer’s Metamagic option, specifically Quickened Spell, allows you to change the casting time of a spell to a bonus action by spending Sorcery Points. However, this still triggers the “bonus action spell” rule, limiting your action to a cantrip.
Strategic Implications
This rule has several strategic implications for spellcasters:
- Cantrip Selection: Choosing the right cantrips becomes more important. Cantrips like Fire Bolt, Ray of Frost, and Toll the Dead can provide reliable damage output when you need to cast a bonus action spell.
- Spell Sequencing: Plan your spells carefully. If you know you’ll need to cast a bonus action spell on a particular turn, consider casting your more potent action spell (if not a cantrip) on the previous turn.
- Resource Management: Managing your spell slots is crucial. Using a bonus action spell might save you a more powerful action spell for later, but it also means relying on a cantrip for your main action that turn.
The Importance of Knowing Your Class Features and Feats
Certain class features and feats can affect this rule. Always be sure to understand how these apply to your ability to cast bonus action spells and action spells in the same turn.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Can I use an action and bonus action spell that are both leveled spells?
No. If you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip as your action. You cannot cast two leveled spells in the same turn if one of them is a bonus action spell.
Can I cast two spells in one turn if I have two actions?
If you have two actions due to features like Action Surge, you still cannot cast two leveled spells if you cast a spell using your bonus action on that turn. You could use an action and action surge to cast two leveled spells only if you don’t cast a spell using your bonus action.
Can I use two bonus actions instead of an action to cast spells?
No. You only get one bonus action per turn, regardless of how many abilities or features you have that grant you a bonus action.
Can I use a bonus action spell and a reaction spell in the same turn?
Yes. Casting a spell as a reaction is separate from your action and bonus action. You can cast a reaction spell (like Counterspell or Shield) even if you’ve already cast a bonus action spell.
Can I dash as a bonus action and still cast a spell as an action?
Yes, provided the spell you are casting as an action is a cantrip, and you cast another leveled spell as a bonus action. Dashing doesn’t interfere with your spellcasting, it simply determines how far you can move on your turn.
Can I cast a bonus action spell as an action instead?
Generally, no. A spell with a casting time of a bonus action can only be cast as a bonus action unless a specific rule or feature states otherwise. There aren’t normally ways to cast a bonus action spell as an action.
Can I cast 2 leveled spells with Action Surge?
Yes, provided you do not cast a bonus action spell. Action Surge grants you an additional action, and you can use it to cast another spell with a casting time of one action, as long as you do not cast a spell using your bonus action.
Can I move and cast a spell in the same turn?
Yes. If the spell has a casting time of 1 action or 1 bonus action, you can move before, after, or even between the casting of the components as long as you have the movement remaining.
Can I use a bonus action spell and then hold an action to cast another leveled spell for later?
No. The Ready action allows you to prepare a single attack, spell, or action, but it doesn’t override the bonus action spellcasting rule. If you cast a bonus action spell on your turn, the only other spell you can cast is a cantrip. The held action must be a cantrip.
Do cantrips count as bonus actions?
No. Cantrips normally require an action to cast. Some features, like the Sorcerer’s Metamagic (Quickened Spell), allow you to cast them as bonus actions, and the War Caster feat allows some to be cast as reactions, but base cantrips cost one action.
Can I cast a spell and then counterspell on the same turn?
Yes, you can cast a spell as an action and then use your reaction to cast Counterspell, provided you haven’t cast a bonus action spell already on that turn. Counterspell is a reaction.
Can spiritual weapon be used as a bonus action after casting an action spell?
On the turn you cast Spiritual Weapon, casting it is your bonus action. On subsequent turns, moving it and making an attack with it is a bonus action. You can cast Spiritual Weapon as a bonus action and then cast a cantrip as your action on the same turn.
Can I summon a pact weapon as a bonus action after casting an action spell?
Yes. Summoning a pact weapon is a bonus action, and the bonus action spellcasting rule doesn’t apply to it because it isn’t a spell. You would be able to cast a leveled spell as an action, and then summon your pact weapon as a bonus action.
Can I cast a leveled spell and a cantrip in the same turn?
Yes. You cannot cast two leveled spells during the same turn, like Cure Wounds (action) and Healing Word (Bonus action), but you can cast one leveled and one cantrip spell during the same turn provided you do not cast a bonus action spell.
Can I cast fireball and counterspell in the same turn?
Yes. You can cast Fireball as an action, and then use your reaction to cast Counterspell if a situation arises, provided you haven’t already cast a bonus action spell. Counterspell is a reaction.
Final Thoughts
The bonus action spellcasting rule might seem restrictive, but it’s designed to promote balance and strategic thinking within the game. Understanding this rule and its exceptions is crucial for any spellcasting character to maximize their effectiveness and contribute meaningfully to their party’s success. Games Learning Society offers numerous resources to better understand the mechanics of D&D, and how to learn more about the game. For more resources and information, check out Games Learning Society at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/.