Can Wizards Swap Cantrips? A Comprehensive Guide
The short answer to the question “Can wizards swap cantrips?” is a qualified yes, sometimes. It isn’t as straightforward as simply changing them whenever you like. The core rules of D&D 5th Edition traditionally make cantrips a permanent choice, fixed at the time you gain them. However, the introduction of optional rules in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything brought a notable change specifically for wizards, allowing them to alter their cantrip selection under certain circumstances. This article aims to clarify the rules surrounding cantrip changes for wizards, and answer some frequently asked questions to ensure you have a comprehensive understanding of this often misunderstood aspect of the game.
The Core Rule: Cantrips Are Generally Permanent
Under the standard D&D 5th Edition rules, cantrips are considered permanent selections. Once you choose a cantrip, that choice is typically locked in. For most classes, including many spellcasters, there is no way to swap out or replace a cantrip later on. This reflects the idea that the caster has ingrained these basic spells into their magical repertoire, making them almost second nature. Therefore, choosing your cantrips wisely during character creation and level-ups is crucial, as these choices are meant to stick with you.
Implications of Permanent Cantrips
The permanence of cantrip choices impacts gameplay in several ways:
- Strategic Planning: You must carefully consider which cantrips will best complement your character’s build and combat style.
- Limited Flexibility: It restricts the ability to adapt to different situations where another cantrip might be more useful.
- Potential Regret: Choosing an underperforming cantrip might lead to a persistent feeling of wasted potential.
- Emphasis on Specialization: Forces character to develop a consistent style instead of constantly changing their magical toolkit.
Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything: A Wizard’s Shift
The optional rules presented in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything provide some much-needed flexibility for wizards specifically. This rule permits wizards to change their chosen cantrips after finishing a long rest. This means they can swap one or more cantrips for others from their class’s spell list, allowing a degree of on-the-fly adaptability.
How the Optional Rule Works
The ability to change cantrips is exclusively tied to the wizard class. Here are the specifics:
- Long Rest Requirement: Changes must occur at the end of a long rest, allowing time for study and the refocusing of magical energy.
- 1:1 Exchange: The wizard swaps out existing known cantrips for new ones on a one-for-one basis. They do not gain additional cantrips.
- Class Cantrip List: The replacement cantrips must be selected from the wizard’s known cantrip list. You can not just choose spells from other classes spell lists.
- Not Mandatory: Using the optional rule is not mandatory and can be ignored. If your group decides to stick to the core rules, the wizard has to accept their chosen cantrips.
Benefits of the Optional Rule
This rule brings some significant advantages to the wizard class:
- Adaptability: Allows wizards to prepare for specific situations and challenges by changing their daily cantrip line-up.
- Experimentation: Gives the player a chance to test different cantrips and discover what works best for their character.
- Reduced Regret: Minimizes potential regrets from picking less optimal cantrips early in the game, offering a chance to switch out less useful choices.
- Greater Versatility: Enhances the wizard’s versatility and helps make the character feel more adaptable and resourceful.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the rules surrounding cantrips and their usage, particularly concerning wizards:
1. Can any class change their cantrips on a level up?
Generally no. Only wizards (with the optional rule from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything) can swap cantrips after a long rest. Other spellcasting classes cannot change cantrips at level-up or any other time, they are permanently fixed when selected.
2. Can I swap out cantrips when I level up as a wizard?
Not with the basic rules. According to the core rules you cannot. However, if your group is using the optional rule from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, a wizard can swap cantrips after each long rest, but not specifically linked to leveling up.
3. Do cantrips use spell slots?
No. Cantrips are free to cast and do not require a spell slot, they are considered a zero level spell that can be used at will.
4. Can I cast two cantrips in one turn?
Yes, under specific circumstances. If you cast a spell using your bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip with an action on that same turn. This is a limitation on casting multiple spells, not a specific limit on cantrips themselves.
5. Are cantrips considered spell attacks?
Yes. Cantrips with an attack roll benefit from your spell attack modifiers: d20 + Proficiency Bonus + Spellcasting Ability modifier, in the same way as spells.
6. How many cantrips can a wizard prepare?
Wizards do not “prepare” cantrips. Instead they choose them from their available list, and they can then use those cantrips whenever they need to. They are usually given at the start of each level up. While most spellcasters gain cantrips as they level up, wizards are the only ones who can change those picks, provided their group uses the rules in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything.
7. Can a wizard copy cantrips from scrolls?
Generally, no, wizards cannot copy cantrips into their spellbook from scrolls. Spellbooks are typically a record of the spells that a wizard “knows,” and they can only “know” a certain number of cantrips.
8. Can a wizard scribe cantrips into their spellbook?
No, you cannot scribe cantrips from any source. Wizards get cantrips from class features, racial traits or feats, and they cannot be gained by any other means.
9. If a wizard loses their spellbook, can they still use cantrips?
Yes. A wizard can still use cantrips even without their spellbook. The spellbook only contains prepared leveled spells, not the cantrips.
10. Can you use cantrips indefinitely?
Yes. Cantrips can be cast an unlimited amount of times, provided you don’t exhaust all your actions and bonus actions.
11. Can I cast a cantrip as a bonus action?
Generally, no. Cantrips usually require the “Cast a Spell” action. However, certain class features, like the Sorcerer’s Metamagic (Quickened Spell) or the War Caster feat, can allow a character to cast a cantrip as a bonus action.
12. Can I twin cast cantrips?
Yes, if you are a Sorcerer with the Twin Spell Metamagic option, and have enough Sorcery points.
13. Are cantrips technically spells?
Yes, cantrips are spells that do not use spell slots. They are considered zero level spells.
14. What are the main benefits of using cantrips?
They are reliable and allow you to do damage and provide utility without expending resources. Cantrips are also free to cast an unlimited number of times.
15. Do cantrips scale in power as I level up?
Yes. Although cantrips do not increase in level, their power does scale automatically based on your character level, usually around 5th, 11th and 17th level, ensuring that they remain effective throughout your adventures.
Conclusion
The question of whether wizards can swap cantrips is nuanced. While the core D&D 5th Edition rules make cantrip choices permanent, the optional rule introduced in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything provides a flexible way for wizards to adapt their cantrip selection. This option to swap cantrips after a long rest offers significant advantages, especially for those who enjoy experimentation and adaptability. By understanding both the base rules and these optional features, players can ensure they are making the most of their characters and getting the most from their D&D experience.