Does regenerate count as dying?

Does Regenerate Count as Dying in Magic: The Gathering?

The straightforward answer is no, regenerate does not count as dying in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). While it might seem like a creature facing destruction is on the verge of death, regeneration is a mechanic that specifically prevents a creature from being put into the graveyard, which is the defining characteristic of a creature “dying.” This article delves deeper into the nuances of regeneration and its interaction with other rules and mechanics of MTG, answering common questions about this often misunderstood mechanic.

Understanding Death in MTG

Defining “Dying”

In MTG, a creature or planeswalker “dies” only when it is put into a graveyard from the battlefield. This is clearly defined by rule 700.4, which states: “The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.” This is crucial to understanding how regeneration works because if the creature doesn’t actually go to the graveyard, it does not meet the criteria of “dying” and therefore will not trigger death-related effects.

The Mechanics of Regeneration

How Regeneration Works

Regenerate was a keyword action that was evergreen (meaning it appeared frequently on cards) until its removal after Oath of the Gatewatch. It’s now a more niche mechanic, but its core function remains consistent. Regeneration is a replacement effect. This means that when a creature with regenerate would be destroyed, instead of going to the graveyard, the following actions occur:

  • The creature doesn’t get destroyed.
  • It is tapped.
  • All damage is removed from it.
  • It is removed from combat.

Think of it as a magical force field that deflects destruction. The creature doesn’t die; it simply undergoes a temporary transformation, ready to continue the fight.

The Regeneration “Shield”

Each time a creature regenerates, it gains a “regeneration shield,” which lasts until the end of the turn or until it’s “used up” by a destruction effect, whichever comes first. If a creature would be destroyed multiple times in the same turn, each instance will attempt to “use up” the shield. The shield is used up on the first instance of destruction. This means it cannot protect against multiple destruction events without multiple regenerations.

Important Clarifications:

  • Regeneration does not stop exile. Exile is a completely different zone than the graveyard and regeneration only prevents moving to the graveyard.
  • Regeneration does not stop sacrifice. Sacrificing involves a player deliberately moving their own permanent to the graveyard, not destruction by external forces.

FAQs About Regeneration

Here are some frequently asked questions that will help clarify the intricacies of the regeneration mechanic:

1. Does Regenerate Trigger Death Triggers?

No, it does not. Death triggers only activate when a permanent is put into the graveyard from the battlefield. Since regeneration prevents the permanent from ever reaching the graveyard, death triggers will not occur.

2. Does a Regenerated Creature Go to the Graveyard?

No, the primary function of regenerate is to prevent the creature from going to the graveyard upon destruction. The creature remains on the battlefield, albeit tapped and removed from combat.

3. Can You Regenerate a Creature Multiple Times?

Yes, you can regenerate a creature multiple times as long as it has the regeneration ability, but each instance will require the regeneration cost to be paid. It will only use one “regeneration shield” per destruction event. Remember that if multiple regeneration shields are active they will be used on the first time the creature would be destroyed.

4. Does Regenerate Work on Tokens?

Yes, it does. A token that regenerates is treated the same as a non-token creature. It will stay on the battlefield, tapped, and removed from combat. It will not go to the graveyard if the regeneration is successful.

5. Does Regenerate Have Summoning Sickness?

A regenerated creature can attack in the same turn if it doesn’t have summoning sickness. Regenerating removes a creature from combat, and not from the battlefield. It would still need to have been under your control since the beginning of your turn, as per the normal rules of summoning sickness.

6. Can Regenerate Stop Sacrifice?

No, sacrifice is a different action than destruction. Regeneration can only replace a destruction effect. When you sacrifice a creature, you are moving it to the graveyard as a cost or effect, not because it’s being destroyed.

7. Can Regenerate Stop Exile?

No, regeneration cannot prevent a creature from being exiled. Exile is not a form of destruction; it moves the permanent to a separate zone, bypassing the graveyard entirely.

8. Can You Regenerate a Destroyed Creature?

No, regeneration has to occur before a creature would be destroyed. Usually this is used during the combat phase, after blockers are declared, but before damage. You can regenerate a creature at any time you have priority though.

9. Does Deathtouch Affect Regenerating Creatures?

Deathtouch causes “lethal damage,” but regeneration prevents the creature from being destroyed by that damage. While deathtouch does not bypass regeneration, if a creature with deathtouch was also causing damage that wasn’t lethal, then the creature might be killed by normal damage if it didn’t regenerate.

10. What Wins Indestructible vs Deathtouch?

Indestructible beats deathtouch because indestructible creatures can’t be killed by lethal damage. Normally, a creature is destroyed if it takes damage from a creature with deathtouch. But since indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed, they’re immune.

11. Can Double Strike Beat Deathtouch?

Yes, creatures with first strike or double strike will deal damage during the first strike step, before the deathtouch creature can deal damage.

12. Can I Sacrifice in Response to Being Destroyed?

No. Once something is destroyed, there isn’t an opportunity to respond.

13. Is Discarding a Creature the Same as Dying?

No, discarding a creature card is different than a creature dying. Discarding means moving a card from hand to graveyard, while a creature dies when it is moved from the battlefield to the graveyard.

14. Do Planeswalkers Have Summoning Sickness?

No, only creatures have summoning sickness. A planeswalker can use their abilities the turn they enter the battlefield, provided they have enough loyalty counters and it’s your turn.

15. Can MTG End in a Draw?

Yes. If no player wins after playing out the five extra turns, the match ends in a draw.

Conclusion

In summary, regeneration does not count as dying in MTG. Regeneration is a powerful defensive mechanic that prevents destruction and keeps creatures on the battlefield, but it doesn’t trigger death effects or protect against exile or sacrifice. Understanding the subtle differences between these game actions is crucial to playing MTG effectively. With this information, you can now more skillfully navigate the nuances of the game and make better decisions while playing.

Leave a Comment