Can a monk move between attacks?

Can a Monk Move Between Attacks?

A monk can indeed move between their Attack action and Flurry of Blows, as the rules of Dungeons & Dragons 5e allow for movement, action, and bonus action to be taken in any order on their turn. According to the Flurry of Blows feature, it can be used immediately after taking the Attack action, allowing the monk to move and take other actions before using their bonus action for Flurry of Blows.

Frequently Asked Questions

General Questions

  1. Can monks get two attacks?: Yes, monks get their 2 attacks from Extra Attack, and then their Flurry of Blows can hit up to 5 times if each of those attacks hits a different creature.
  2. Do monks get a third attack?: As such, between Extra Attack and Flurry of Blows, a 5th-level monk can make 4 attacks in one round as long as they have ki.
  3. What is the bonus action for monk?: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action.

Flurry of Blows

  1. Is Flurry of Blows a full-round action?: Flurry of blows is also its specific full-attack action, a kind of full-round action.
  2. Can you flurry of blows with a monk weapon?: As long as the monk has the Monastic Weaponry class feat, they can use Flurry of Blows with melee monk weapons.
  3. How many times can a monk use Flurry of Blows?: When you use your Flurry of Blows, you can make up to three additional attacks with it, provided that each Flurry of Blows attack targets a different creature this turn.

Movement and Actions

  1. Can you move after bonus action?: Yes, by the rules as written, on your turn, you get your movement, an action, and a bonus action (if applicable), and may generally take them in any order.
  2. Can you use a bonus action before a normal action?: And you can use your action or bonus action in whatever order you would like.
  3. Can you use a bonus action when it’s not your turn?: No, using your movement, action, or bonus action can only happen on your turn.

Interactions with Other Features

  1. Does Flurry of Blows stack with two-weapon fighting?: Flurry of Blows modifies your full-attack, meaning you may use any weapon you have available for any given attack.
  2. Does rapid shot stack with Flurry of Blows?: Yes, it works with Rapid Shot, as the key phrase is the context, allowing no penalty for using multiple weapons when making a Flurry of Blows.
  3. Does Flurry of Blows stack with unarmed strike?: You can only either Flurry of Blows or take the unarmed strike from Martial Arts, as they both consume your only bonus action.

Monastic Rules and Features

  1. Can a monk rage?: While many monks use their focus and clear mind to channel their ki, there exists outliers that use their rage to harness it.
  2. Can a monk get kicked out?: The four pārājikas (lit. “defeats”) are rules entailing expulsion from the sangha for life.
  3. What are the surprise rules in 5e?: Any character or monster that doesn’t notice a threat is surprised at the start of the encounter, during which they can’t move or take an action on their first turn of combat.

Leave a Comment