Can you take an unwilling creature with dimension door?
The answer to the question Can you take an unwilling creature with dimension door? is no, according to the general rules of dimension door, which states that all creatures transported by this spell must be willing. This means that unwilling creatures cannot be taken with dimension door, unless the creature is unconscious and can be carried by the caster, but this would require the caster to have the ability to heft them onto their shoulders and carry them, taking up the caster’s hands.
FAQs
Dimension Door and Unwilling Creatures
- Can you teleport an unwilling creature?: In 5th Edition, Plane Shift works on eight willing creatures or one unwilling creature, but to teleport an unwilling party, you would have to cast it on each of them separately.
- Can you dimension door someone unconscious?: If you can heft them onto your shoulders and carry them (within your capacity), you could Dimension Door them, but this would take up your hands, so you would not be able to bring along any other willing creature.
- Can you plane shift an unwilling creature?: You can use Plane Shift to banish an unwilling creature to another plane by choosing a creature within your reach and making a melee spell attack against it.
- Can you dimension door into a globe of invulnerability?: Dimension Door cannot move you inside a Globe of Invulnerability from outside because a place can be occupied by an object or creature, which means it is a space, which means it is an area.
Dimension Door Mechanics
- How does dimensional door work?: You teleport yourself from your current location to any other spot within range, arriving at exactly the spot desired.
- Can you dimension door out of a resilient sphere?: Dimension Door, teleport, and similar effects can bypass the barrier of a resilient sphere.
- Can you cast water walk on an unwilling creature?: You can’t cast Water Walk on an unwilling creature, as the spell requires a willing target.
Interactions with Other Spells
- Can you plane shift out of a maze spell?: Plane Shift allows a creature to exit a maze spell to whatever plane is designated in that spell, but other teleportation spells do not help a creature escape a maze spell.
- Can a restrained creature be pushed?: Restrained does not prevent forced movement, and if a creature is pushed out of an area where they are restrained using forced movement, the condition would end.
Dimension Door and the Environment
- Can dimension door go through walls?: Teleportation spells, including Dimension Door, can be cast through a Wall of Force.
- How far can Dimension door go?: The range of Dimension Door is fixed at 500 ft.
- Does revivify work on unwilling creatures?: Revivify works on unwilling targets because the spell’s wording does not specify that the target needs to be willing.
Teleportation and Creatures
- How do you teleport an unwilling creature in D&D?: You can take an unconscious person with Teleport Circle, but Teleport requires a willing target; any spell that allows taking unconscious/unwilling targets requires you to be able to control their movement and drag them through the portal.
- Can you teleport to minions?: Teleport can be used on any friendly minion or turret, as well as certain allied structures and creatures.
Mazes and Problem-Solving
- Can you solve a maze by always turning right?: The right-turn method works if the maze is simply connected, meaning all walls are attached to one another and then to the outer border, allowing you to find the exit by always turning right or left, but you may encounter dead ends.