How Does a Bonus Action Work? A Comprehensive Guide
A bonus action in Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition (5e) is a special type of action that characters can take during their turn in combat, in addition to their standard action and movement. Unlike a regular action, which can be used for a wide range of activities like attacking, casting spells, or using items, a bonus action is typically reserved for specific abilities, spells, or features that explicitly state they can be performed as a bonus action. A key takeaway is that not all characters have a bonus action available to them on every turn. The ability to use one is granted by specific class features, feats, or magical effects. You can only take a bonus action when the specific game rule or feature grants it and is not otherwise a standard action. A character only has access to a bonus action if they have a specific reason to have one. If you don’t have a specific feature or effect that allows you to do something as a bonus action, then you cannot take a bonus action during your turn. It’s not just “there” for all characters. Additionally, you can only take one bonus action per turn.
The Nuances of Bonus Actions
The term “bonus action” can be misleading as it’s not simply an “extra” action on top of your standard action. Instead, think of it as a separate category of action with its own restrictions and allowances. The crucial difference between actions and bonus actions lies in what they can be used for. An action can be used for the most fundamental moves such as attacking with a weapon, casting spells, dashing, or taking the help action. However, a bonus action has very limited functions and is restricted by a character’s class features, spells, and feats.
Timing and Order of Actions
You can use your bonus action before or after your standard action, or even in between the attacks if you have multiple attacks as part of an action. The crucial thing is that it’s still done on your turn and must be declared and completed during your turn. For example, a rogue with the Cunning Action feature could use their bonus action to Disengage, move away, and then use their action to attack. Alternatively, they could attack first then use a bonus action to move away. The order is entirely up to the player.
Bonus Actions and Combat
The bonus action can significantly impact combat tactics. Consider a cleric using a spell that heals as a bonus action, allowing them to also make an attack or use another action. This creates a dynamic and strategic gameplay where effective use of bonus actions is key to survival. It allows characters to be flexible in combat. The careful planning and timing of bonus actions can be the key to winning a difficult battle.
Frequently Asked Questions About Bonus Actions
1. Do I get a bonus action every turn?
No, you do not automatically get a bonus action every turn. You only have a bonus action available if a class feature, spell, feat or item specifically grants you the ability to do something as a bonus action.
2. Can I use a bonus action before my standard action?
Yes, you can use your bonus action either before or after your standard action. The order is entirely up to you.
3. Can anyone attack with a bonus action?
No, you cannot attack with a bonus action unless a specific feature or spell allows you to do so. For example, the dual wielding rules allows you to attack with your off-hand weapon as a bonus action.
4. Can I take two bonus actions in one turn?
No, you can only take one bonus action per turn. Even if you have multiple abilities that use bonus actions, you must choose one.
5. Can I move and take a bonus action?
Yes, you can move and take a bonus action. You can move either before, after, or in between using your standard action and bonus action, as long as the specific abilities used don’t say otherwise.
6. Is a second attack a bonus action?
A second attack isn’t inherently a bonus action. If you have the ‘Extra Attack’ feature, those attacks are all part of your Attack action. However, some feats or abilities can give you an additional attack as a bonus action.
7. Can I use my bonus action as a regular action?
No, you cannot use a bonus action as a standard action. They are two distinct types of actions with their own rules.
8. Can you ready a bonus action?
No, you cannot ready a bonus action. The ready action only works with actions and movement.
9. Can I use a bonus action between attacks from Extra Attack?
Generally, no. If you have the Extra Attack feature, your additional attacks are part of the same attack action. However, some specific abilities can trigger a bonus action between attacks, if that specific ability states it. A common exception to this is when an ability that activates from the act of attacking also triggers the bonus action.
10. Can I use a bonus action to cast a spell?
Yes, certain spells have a casting time of one bonus action. However, if you cast a spell as a bonus action, you are limited to using a cantrip with a cast time of 1 action if you decide to cast a spell with your standard action.
11. If I don’t have a bonus action, do I still get it later?
No. If you don’t have an ability to use a bonus action on your turn, you simply do not use it this turn. You don’t “save” it up for later.
12. Can I use multiple bonus action abilities on my turn?
While you might have multiple abilities that use a bonus action, you can only ever use one bonus action per turn. You have to choose which bonus action ability to use when you have more than one available.
13. How does the Cunning Action work?
The rogue’s Cunning Action allows them to use their bonus action to Dash, Disengage, or Hide. This is a prime example of how a class feature allows a specific action to be performed as a bonus action.
14. What does “advantage as a bonus action” mean?
Some abilities allow you to gain advantage on your next attack roll using a bonus action. However, these abilities often come with a restriction, such as not moving on your turn or having your speed reduced until the end of your turn.
15. Can I use a bonus action after a readied action?
Yes, because you take your readied action on another character’s turn. This means you’d still be able to use your bonus action on your own turn after taking a readied action during another creature’s turn, assuming you meet all other conditions.
Conclusion
Understanding how bonus actions work is essential for effective play in D&D 5e. While they are not always available, using bonus actions to their fullest potential opens up many strategic options for players, from casting spells, moving about, or taking tactical actions. By utilizing the rules surrounding them, players can enhance their character’s abilities and effectiveness in combat, and the flow of the game in general.