Can you sacrifice a creature with decayed?

Table of Contents

Can You Sacrifice a Creature with Decayed? A Comprehensive Guide

Yes, absolutely! You can sacrifice a creature with decayed. The decayed ability doesn’t prevent you from sacrificing the creature; it only dictates that the creature can’t block and must be sacrificed at the end of combat if it attacked that turn. Since sacrificing is a deliberate action, you can choose to sacrifice a creature with decayed for various reasons, such as paying a cost for a spell or ability, or as part of a spell’s effect.

This is a key point for understanding Magic: The Gathering (MTG) interactions. Let’s dive deeper into the nuances and common questions surrounding this interaction.

Understanding Decayed and Sacrifice

Decayed: The Basics

Decayed is a specific mechanic introduced in the Innistrad: Midnight Hunt set. It exclusively appears on Zombie creature tokens. A creature with decayed has two limitations:

  • It cannot block.
  • If it attacks, you must sacrifice it at the end of combat.

Sacrifice: The Core Mechanic

Sacrificing a permanent, including a creature, is a keyword action in MTG. Rule 701.17a of the comprehensive rules defines sacrifice: “To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent they don’t control.” This means you, as the controller, make the conscious decision to move the permanent from the battlefield to the graveyard. This is a crucial part of strategic gameplay, allowing players to enable powerful combos and effects. Learning these nuances is fundamental to mastering MTG, as emphasized by resources available at the Games Learning Society website.

FAQs: Decayed and Sacrifice Deep Dive

1. Can I sacrifice a decayed Zombie before it attacks?

Yes. Since decayed doesn’t force you to attack, you can sacrifice the creature at any time you have the opportunity to do so (e.g., in response to a removal spell, or to pay a cost).

2. Can I sacrifice a decayed Zombie after it attacks, but before the end of combat?

Yes! You can respond to the “sacrifice at end of combat” trigger by sacrificing it yourself. This is useful if you want to get an effect from sacrificing a creature, or if you want to avoid some other negative effect that might happen at the end of combat.

3. If a decayed Zombie attacks and I cast an instant-speed sacrifice spell like Village Rites in response to its attack, what happens?

The Zombie will attack, and you can then cast Village Rites to sacrifice it. Because you sacrificed it before the end of combat, the decayed trigger will no longer trigger as the permanent is no longer on the battlefield when the trigger would occur.

4. What if I sacrifice a decayed Zombie to pay a cost? Does the decayed trigger still happen?

No. If you sacrifice the creature as part of a cost (e.g., for Carrion Feeder‘s ability), the decayed trigger will not occur because the creature is no longer on the battlefield at the end of combat.

5. Can I sacrifice a decayed Zombie that has been granted indestructible?

Yes. Indestructible prevents destruction by damage and “destroy” effects, but it doesn’t prevent being sacrificed, exiled, or having its toughness reduced to zero.

6. Can I choose not to attack with a creature that has decayed?

Yes. Decayed doesn’t force you to attack. It only says what happens if the creature attacks. You are always free to choose whether or not to attack with a creature (unless something else forces you to).

7. Does giving a creature with decayed haste allow it to attack the turn it enters the battlefield?

Yes. Decayed doesn’t affect when a creature can attack; it only dictates the consequences if it does attack. If you give a decayed Zombie haste (e.g., with Swiftfoot Boots), it can attack the turn it enters the battlefield, but it will still be sacrificed at the end of combat.

8. If a decayed Zombie is blocked, and I sacrifice it before combat damage, does the blocking creature still count as blocking?

Yes. Once a creature is declared as blocking, it remains blocking for the rest of the combat, even if the creature it’s blocking is removed from the battlefield. The blocked creature will not deal or receive combat damage. This is a tactical move to prevent damage dealt by the blocked creature.

9. Can I sacrifice a decayed Zombie with shroud?

Yes. Shroud only prevents the creature from being targeted by spells or abilities. Sacrificing is not targeting; it’s simply moving the creature to the graveyard as a cost or effect.

10. If I control two decayed Zombies, do I have to sacrifice both at the end of combat if I attacked with them?

Yes. Each Zombie that attacked will have its own delayed triggered ability that says to sacrifice it at the end of combat. You must sacrifice each Zombie.

11. What happens if a creature loses decayed after attacking? Does it still get sacrificed at end of combat?

Yes. The delayed triggered ability to sacrifice the creature at the end of combat is created when the creature attacks. Removing decayed from the creature after it has attacked does not remove this ability, so it will still be sacrificed at the end of combat.

12. If a creature with decayed deals combat damage to a planeswalker, is the planeswalker’s loyalty reduced, and is the creature still sacrificed?

Yes. Dealing combat damage to a planeswalker reduces its loyalty. The creature will still be sacrificed at the end of combat, regardless of whether it dealt damage or not.

13. If I equip an artifact to a decayed Zombie, can I sacrifice the Zombie for another effect, even while equipped?

Yes. Equipping an artifact to a creature does not prevent you from sacrificing it. The equip spell will simply enter the graveyard as well.

14. Does hexproof prevent me from sacrificing my own decayed Zombie?

No. Hexproof prevents opponents from targeting your permanent. It does not prevent you, the controller, from sacrificing your own creatures.

15. How does the interaction between decayed and effects that prevent sacrifice, like Teferi’s Protection, work?

Teferi’s Protection doesn’t prevent triggered abilities from triggering, but it does replace the zone the creatures would be moved to with exile instead of the graveyard. The creatures will still be sacrificed at the end of combat, even if they are given hexproof and indestructible.

Strategic Considerations

Understanding the interplay between decayed and sacrifice opens up numerous strategic possibilities. You can use decayed Zombies as expendable attackers early in the game, knowing they’ll be sacrificed anyway. Utilizing sacrifice outlets, like Viscera Seer or Altar of Dementia, allows you to convert these fleeting creatures into valuable resources, such as scrying or milling your opponent.

Furthermore, you can build decks that synergize with sacrificing creatures. Cards that trigger when a creature is sacrificed, such as Blood Artist or Grim Haruspex, can generate significant value from the inherent drawback of decayed. The applications are numerous, from aggressive strategies to control-oriented builds that capitalize on sacrifice effects. For more in-depth understanding of game mechanics, exploring resources like GamesLearningSociety.org can be extremely beneficial.

In conclusion, while decayed imposes limitations, it doesn’t restrict your ability to sacrifice a creature. Knowing how to leverage sacrifice strategically is essential for maximizing the potential of decayed Zombies and building a successful MTG deck.

Leave a Comment