Can you block with a creature that has protection from creatures?

Can you block with a creature that has protection from creatures?

Yes, you can block with a creature that has protection from creatures, and when you do, the attacking creature will be unable to deal damage to your creature with protection, thanks to the protection from creatures ability. This ability not only prevents your creature from taking damage but also allows it to safely block and prevent all damage that would be dealt to it, making it a powerful defensive tool in Magic: The Gathering.

Understanding Protection from Creatures

To fully grasp the implications of blocking with a creature that has protection from creatures, it’s essential to understand how protection works in Magic: The Gathering. Protection is a keyword ability that prevents a creature or player from being targeted, dealt damage, or enchanted by sources with a specific quality, such as a color, creature type, or other characteristics.

How Protection from Creatures Works

A creature with protection from creatures cannot be damaged, blocked, or targeted by other creatures. This means that if your creature has protection from creatures and you use it to block an attacking creature, the attacking creature will be unable to deal damage to your creature. However, your creature with protection from creatures can still safely block the attacking creature, preventing it from dealing damage to you or other creatures you control.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are some frequently asked questions related to blocking with a creature that has protection from creatures:

  1. Does protection from creatures stop creature abilities?
  • 702.16b states that a permanent or player with protection can’t be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can’t be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.
  1. Can you counter a creature with protection from everything?
  • If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does only as much as possible. Something with protection can still be countered.
  1. Can creatures with protection be targeted?
  • The protected object can’t be equipped or enchanted by permanents with the specified quality, and it can’t be targeted by spells or abilities with the specified quality.
  1. Does protection from everything prevent blocking?
  • Protection from everything means the creature can’t be damaged, enchanted, equipped, blocked, or targeted by anything.
  1. Can two creatures with protection block each other?
  • If two creatures have protection from each other, they still cannot block each other or bypass each other’s protection.
  1. Can a creature with protection be destroyed?
  • Yes, Day of Judgment will destroy a creature with Protection from White.
  1. Can I block a black creature with a creature that has protection from black?
  • Yes, a creature with Protection from Black can block a black creature in combat and will take no damage thanks to this.
  1. Does protection stop sacrifice?
  • No, protection does not prevent a creature from being sacrificed. If one player plays Progenitus and then a player plays All is Dust, Progenitus would still be sacrificed.
  1. What happens if a creature gains protection after blockers are declared?
  • As soon as a blocker is declared, the attacking creature will be blocked. Whatever creature attributes afterwards doesn’t matter, even if it’s at instant speed.
  1. Does indestructible prevent Deathtouch?

    • Yes, indestructible creatures ignore deathtouch. Normally, a creature is destroyed if it takes damage from a creature with deathtouch, but since indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed, they’re immune.
  2. Does protection mean unblockable MTG?

    • No, protection does not make a creature unblockable. A creature with protection from a certain color, mana value, etc., can’t be blocked by creatures with that trait, but spells like Fog Patch can still declare it blocked.
  3. Does protection from blue stop counterspell?

    • No, protection from blue does not stop counterspell. You can counter any spells with protection from blue with your blue counterspells.
  4. What are the rules for blocking in Magic The Gathering?

    • A creature must be untapped to block, each creature can only block a single attacker, but multiple defending creatures can block the same attacker.
  5. Can a creature have multiple shield counters?

    • If a creature has multiple shield counters on it, they will fall off one by one rather than at the same time.
  6. Does protection from color stop board wipes?

    • No, global effects like Damnation, Day of Judgment, and Wrath of God do not target, and as such creatures with protection from a given color will not protect them from board wiping abilities like the above.

By understanding how protection from creatures works and answering these frequently asked questions, players can better navigate the complexities of Magic: The Gathering and make informed decisions during gameplay. Whether you’re a seasoned pro or just starting out, protection is a powerful keyword ability that can significantly impact the outcome of a game.

Leave a Comment