Deathtouch, Trample, and Indestructible: A Magic: The Gathering Conundrum
The interaction between deathtouch, trample, and indestructible in Magic: The Gathering can be a bit of a brain-teaser. Here’s the breakdown: An attacking creature with both deathtouch and trample facing an indestructible blocker only needs to assign 1 point of damage to the indestructible creature. The rest of the damage can then be assigned to the defending player, as deathtouch makes even a single point of damage lethal, and trample allows the excess damage to “trample over.” Although the indestructible creature survives, the defending player still suffers the trampling damage.
Understanding the Keywords
Before diving deeper, let’s quickly recap what each ability does:
-
Deathtouch: Any amount of damage a creature with deathtouch deals to another creature is considered lethal damage.
-
Trample: If an attacking creature with trample would deal enough damage to its blocker(s) to destroy them, it can instead deal the rest of its damage to the defending player or planeswalker.
-
Indestructible: A permanent with indestructible cannot be destroyed by damage or by effects that say “destroy.” It can still be affected by other things, like sacrifice or exile.
The Dance of Death and Destruction
The key to understanding this interaction lies in the precise wording of each ability and the order in which damage is assigned. When a creature with trample attacks and is blocked by a creature with indestructible, the attacking player must assign damage to the blocker first. However, since the attacker also has deathtouch, only 1 point of damage needs to be assigned. Because deathtouch makes any damage assigned lethal. The rest of the damage can be assigned to the defending player, as it is considered “excess” damage under the rules of trample.
Even though the indestructible creature doesn’t die, the trample effect still occurs because lethal damage was technically assigned (thanks to deathtouch). Think of it as “satisfying” the requirements of trample, even if the creature on the receiving end shrugs off the damage. This highlights an important distinction: Indestructible prevents destruction, but it doesn’t negate damage assignment or the lethal damage determination of deathtouch.
Scenarios and Examples
To further illustrate the interaction, consider a few scenarios:
-
Scenario 1: A 5/5 creature with deathtouch and trample attacks and is blocked by a 3/3 creature with indestructible. The attacking player assigns 1 damage to the indestructible creature and 4 damage to the defending player. The indestructible creature survives with 1 damage marked on it (though this damage is irrelevant), and the defending player loses 4 life.
-
Scenario 2: A 2/2 creature with deathtouch and trample attacks and is blocked by a 5/5 creature with indestructible. The attacking player assigns 1 damage to the indestructible creature and 1 damage to the defending player. The indestructible creature survives with 1 damage marked on it, and the defending player loses 1 life.
Important Considerations
-
First Strike/Double Strike: If the creature with deathtouch and trample has first strike or double strike, it deals damage before the blocker. This doesn’t change the outcome against an indestructible creature, but it does matter against a creature without indestructible.
-
Preventing Damage: If damage prevention effects are in play, they can alter the outcome. For example, if an effect prevents the first 1 damage dealt to the indestructible creature, the attacker must assign more damage to the indestructible creature before trampling over. However, this damage prevention would have to prevent at least 1 point before the deathtouch is negated and the damage can begin to trample over.
-
Multiple Blockers: If multiple creatures block the attacking creature with deathtouch and trample, the attacking player must assign lethal damage (1 point) to each blocker before assigning damage to the defending player. If even one of those blockers is indestructible, it affects how much damage you can trample over.
Strategic Implications
Understanding this interaction is crucial for making informed decisions in Magic: The Gathering. Knowing that you can still deal damage through a blocker with indestructible using deathtouch and trample can open up strategic opportunities. This is especially relevant in formats like Commander, where indestructible creatures are common. This kind of knowledge is critical to competing well. Understanding the relationship and strategy of game playing can also be enhanced using Games Learning Society or at GamesLearningSociety.org.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of deathtouch, trample, and indestructible:
1. Does indestructible prevent all damage?
No, indestructible only prevents a permanent from being destroyed by damage or effects that say “destroy.” The permanent can still take damage, and that damage can be relevant for other effects (like infect or -1/-1 counters).
2. Can you destroy an indestructible creature with deathtouch alone?
No, deathtouch normally destroys a creature damaged by it. However, indestructible prevents destruction, so the creature survives.
3. What happens if a creature with indestructible blocks a creature with trample, but without deathtouch?
The attacking creature with trample must assign enough damage to the indestructible creature to destroy it if it didn’t have indestructible. Since the indestructible creature isn’t destroyed, the excess damage can be assigned to the defending player.
4. If a creature has both indestructible and protection from all colors, can it still be damaged?
Yes, it cannot be targeted by any color spells or abilities, nor can it be blocked. The indestructible ability also prevents the creature from being destroyed by damage. This provides near total protection.
5. Can you exile an indestructible creature?
Yes, you can exile an indestructible creature. Indestructible only prevents destruction, not exile.
6. Can you sacrifice an indestructible creature?
Yes, you can be forced to sacrifice an indestructible creature. Sacrificing isn’t destruction, so indestructible doesn’t prevent it.
7. Does reducing a creature’s toughness to zero destroy it, even if it has indestructible?
Yes. A creature with 0 toughness is automatically put into the graveyard as a state-based action. Indestructible does not override this.
8. What if damage is prevented to an indestructible creature blocking a trampler with deathtouch?
If any damage is prevented, the creature with trample must assign enough damage to the blocker to account for the prevented damage before being able to assign damage to the defending player. But remember, deathtouch can come into play in this situation.
9. Does deathtouch work with non-combat damage?
Yes, deathtouch works with any damage, not just combat damage. So, if you have a spell or ability that deals damage and a creature with deathtouch, any creature damaged by that source is destroyed.
10. What if a creature has double strike and deathtouch?
If a creature with double strike has deathtouch, it deals damage twice. During the first strike combat damage step, it only needs to assign one damage for its deathtouch to take effect. In the regular combat damage step, it attacks again.
11. How does deathtouch interact with a creature that has protection from creatures?
The creature with protection from creatures can be dealt damage by the creature with deathtouch. In addition to not being able to be blocked, protection from creatures will also prevent effects like that.
12. If a creature with indestructible has infect and is dealt damage, does it get -1/-1 counters?
Yes, the indestructible creature will still receive -1/-1 counters from infect. Indestructible only prevents destruction, not the application of counters.
13. If a creature with deathtouch also has lifelink, do you gain life equal to the toughness of the destroyed creature?
You only gain life based on the amount of damage actually dealt, not the creature’s toughness. So, if a 5/5 with deathtouch and lifelink deals 1 damage to a creature (due to deathtouch), you gain 1 life.
14. Can a board wipe affect indestructible creatures?
It depends on the type of board wipe. Effects that “destroy” creatures will not affect indestructible creatures. However, effects that exile creatures, reduce toughness to zero, or force players to sacrifice creatures will still work.
15. Is it always advantageous to give trample to a creature with deathtouch?
Generally, yes. Giving trample to a creature with deathtouch is usually a strong strategy, as it allows you to bypass blockers and deal damage to the defending player even if blocked. However, there might be niche situations where you want your creature to be blocked to trigger certain abilities.
Understanding the intricacies of deathtouch, trample, and indestructible is essential for mastering Magic: The Gathering. By carefully considering these interactions, you can make more informed decisions and gain a competitive edge in your games.