Do you need to crew to block?

Do You Need to Crew to Block in Magic: The Gathering? A Comprehensive Guide

The short answer is a resounding yes. A Vehicle in Magic: The Gathering needs to be crewed to be declared as a blocker. Without being crewed, a Vehicle is simply an artifact, possessing no creature type and thus unable to participate in combat. Let’s delve deeper into this mechanic and explore the nuances of crewing Vehicles.

Understanding the Crew Mechanic

The Crew ability is what transforms a Vehicle from a static artifact into a dynamic creature, ready for action. This ability, denoted as “Crew N,” requires you to tap any number of untapped creatures you control whose combined power is equal to or greater than the value of N. Once activated, the Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until the end of the turn, allowing it to attack and block. It is a pivotal skill to learn in Magic: The Gathering.

Why Crewing is Necessary

Vehicles are designed to be versatile, providing both utility as artifacts and power as creatures. However, this power comes at a cost: the need for a crew. This adds a layer of strategy to your gameplay, forcing you to allocate resources – in the form of your creatures – to pilot these powerful machines.

Timing is Everything

The Crew ability can be activated at instant speed, meaning you can crew a Vehicle in response to an opponent’s actions, such as during the declare attackers step, to surprise them with a blocker. However, remember that the creatures you tap to crew the Vehicle cannot also be declared as blockers, as they are already tapped.

Frequently Asked Questions About Crewing Vehicles

Here are some common questions about crewing Vehicles, along with detailed answers to help you master this mechanic:

FAQ 1: Can I crew a Vehicle at any time?

You can crew a Vehicle any time you have priority, meaning during any phase or step of the game when you have the opportunity to cast spells or activate abilities. This flexibility allows you to react to your opponent’s plays and utilize your Vehicles strategically.

FAQ 2: Do I have to tap to crew a Vehicle?

Yes, activating the Crew ability requires you to tap creatures you control with sufficient power. The Crew ability doesn’t use the tap symbol in its cost (since 2021), so you can tap untapped creatures you control. This means even creatures that just entered the battlefield that turn can crew a vehicle.

FAQ 3: Can I crew a tapped Vehicle?

Yes, you can crew a Vehicle even if it’s already tapped. However, keep in mind that a tapped creature cannot attack or block, so crewing a tapped Vehicle won’t enable it to participate in combat that turn. Crewing a tapped vehicle will not untap it.

FAQ 4: Can I crew a Vehicle twice in the same turn?

Yes, you can crew a Vehicle multiple times in a turn, provided you have the creatures and the opportunity to activate the Crew ability. This can be useful if you need to re-activate a Vehicle after an effect has removed its creature status or if you simply want to tap more creatures for other effects.

FAQ 5: Can I crew a Vehicle with a creature that has summoning sickness?

A creature with summoning sickness cannot attack or use tap abilities. However, the Crew ability itself does not use the tap symbol, therefore a creature with summoning sickness can still Crew a vehicle.

FAQ 6: Can I crew a Vehicle with a 0 power creature?

No, you cannot crew a Vehicle if you don’t meet the power requirements. The Crew ability requires you to tap creatures with a combined power equal to or greater than the Crew number. A 0 power creature won’t contribute to meeting this requirement.

FAQ 7: If my opponent attacks me, can I crew to defend myself?

Yes, you can crew a Vehicle in response to your opponent’s attack to block. Crewing is instant speed. However, you must do so before the declare blockers step of combat.

FAQ 8: Can Vehicles crew other Vehicles?

Yes, you can use crewed Vehicles to crew other Vehicles. This can create powerful “Vehicle chains,” allowing you to pilot larger and more expensive Vehicles with the help of smaller ones.

FAQ 9: Does Deathtouch work on Vehicles?

Yes, but only when the Vehicle is a creature. As long as the Vehicle is a creature, it will be destroyed when dealt damage from a source with Deathtouch. The creatures that were tapped to turn the Vehicle into a Creature are not affected.

FAQ 10: Does First Strike work when blocking with a Vehicle?

Yes, if your Vehicle has First Strike (or Double Strike) due to an effect, it will deal combat damage before creatures without First Strike. When declaring blockers, you just have to be aware that a creature with first strike will deal combat damage before a creature without first strike.

FAQ 11: Can Planeswalkers crew Vehicles?

If a planeswalker is a creature, it can crew a vehicle. If a planeswalker is not a creature, it cannot crew a vehicle, just like any other permanent that is not a creature. Some planeswalkers have abilities that allow them to become creatures for a turn.

FAQ 12: Is crewing an ability?

Yes, Crew is an activated ability of Vehicle cards. Crew N means “Tap any number of untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater: This permanent becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.”

FAQ 13: Do artifact creatures count as artifacts?

Artifact creatures are both artifacts and creatures, therefore the rules for both apply to them. They are often colorless, but may sometimes be colored or strongly affiliated with a color.

FAQ 14: Can you crew a vehicle that has already been crewed?

Yes, as long as you have sufficient power to crew them. This might happen if an effect removes the creature type from the vehicle, or if you want to tap a creature that you need to crew another ability or spell.

FAQ 15: What MTG set has the most vehicles?

Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty printed the most Vehicles in one set (13, two more than Kaladesh’s 11).

Strategic Considerations

Mastering the Crew mechanic involves understanding its intricacies and applying them strategically. Consider the following:

  • Resource Management: Crewing a Vehicle requires tapping creatures, which could limit your offensive or defensive capabilities. Balance the benefits of having a powerful attacker or blocker against the cost of tapping your creatures.
  • Timing: Crewing at the right moment can be crucial. Crewing in response to an attack can surprise your opponent, while crewing during your main phase allows you to attack with your Vehicle.
  • Synergy: Look for cards that synergize with Vehicles, such as creatures with high power or abilities that trigger when they become tapped.

Conclusion

Crewing Vehicles is a dynamic and engaging mechanic in Magic: The Gathering that requires careful planning and strategic execution. Understanding the rules and nuances of crewing will significantly enhance your gameplay and give you a competitive edge. Remember the Games Learning Society’s emphasis on strategic thinking, and how games like Magic: The Gathering hone these skills. You can find out more at GamesLearningSociety.org. Happy crewing!

Leave a Comment