Can You Polymorph Twice? A Deep Dive into D&D’s Transformation Magic
Yes, you can polymorph a creature that has already been polymorphed, with some caveats. The subsequent casting can override the prior one, but the rules governing this interaction are complex and depend on which polymorph spells are being used and the specific circumstances. The nuances of stacking polymorph effects are a common source of debate among D&D players.
Understanding Polymorph Interactions in D&D 5e
The question of whether you can polymorph something that’s already polymorphed brings up some fundamental rules about spellcasting and magical effects in D&D 5e. Let’s break down the key concepts that govern these situations.
Overlapping Spell Effects: The Core Rule
The Player’s Handbook addresses this situation in the “Combining Magical Effects” section. It states that the effects of different spells add together while their durations overlap. However, crucially, the effects of the same spell cast multiple times don’t combine. What does this mean for polymorph?
If you cast Polymorph on a creature, and then someone else casts Polymorph on the same creature, the second casting will effectively replace the first. The target takes on the form dictated by the most recent casting. This is because the spells are essentially competing for control over the target’s form.
True Polymorph vs. Polymorph: A Critical Distinction
The interaction becomes more intriguing when you introduce True Polymorph. This spell is significantly more powerful and allows for transformations into a wider range of creatures and even objects. The interplay between Polymorph and True Polymorph can lead to interesting scenarios.
For instance, you can use True Polymorph to turn someone into a beast, and then cast Polymorph on that beast to turn it into another beast. The True Polymorph acts as the initial transformation, providing a base form, and the Polymorph spell then refines that form, albeit within the limitations of the Polymorph spell itself (only allowing beasts).
Dispel Magic and the Cascade of Transformations
Another factor to consider is the use of Dispel Magic. If a creature is affected by multiple Polymorph effects, Dispel Magic cast at the appropriate level can remove them. However, Dispel Magic only ends one spell for each casting unless cast at 9th level. This means that if someone is under the effect of both Polymorph and True Polymorph, dispelling only one spell will revert the target to the form dictated by the remaining spell.
True Polymorph and Permanency
The True Polymorph spell has a unique feature: if you maintain concentration for the entire duration (one hour), the transformation becomes permanent. This has huge implications for double polymorph scenarios. If a creature is True Polymorphed permanently, a subsequent Polymorph spell can still change their form, but dispelling that Polymorph will revert them to the permanently True Polymorphed form, not their original form.
Counterspell and Prevention
The simplest way to avoid complex double polymorph situations is through prevention. Counterspell can be used to interrupt the casting of either Polymorph or True Polymorph, preventing the secondary transformation from taking place at all.
Shapechangers: An Exception to the Rule
The Polymorph spell specifically states that it does not affect shapechangers. However, True Polymorph does not have this limitation. This means you can use True Polymorph on a shapechanger, but Polymorph will not work.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of multiple polymorph spells:
-
Can you Polymorph a Polymorphed person and turn them back into a human? No, if the first spell was Polymorph, the second casting (also Polymorph) can only transform the target into another beast. It cannot revert them to their original form. To do that, you need to disrupt concentration or use Dispel Magic or Antimagic Field.
-
Do Polymorphs stack in D&D? No, they do not stack. The most recent Polymorph spell replaces the previous one.
-
Can you polymorph someone already polymorphed into something that is immune to polymorph? If the first polymorph created an immunity, such as turning someone into a golem with Immutable Form, the second polymorph would likely fail.
-
Is there a size limit to what you can polymorph? Polymorph has a CR restriction, not a size limit for the target. True Polymorph for objects has a size restriction, but not for creatures.
-
What are the limitations of polymorphs in D&D? The creature is limited by its new form. It can’t speak, cast spells, or use actions requiring hands or speech unless the new form allows it. Equipment melds into the new form and cannot be used.
-
Is there a way to make Polymorph permanent? Only True Polymorph can become permanent if you concentrate for the full duration (one hour).
-
Can you polymorph a werewolf? Yes, you can, using True Polymorph. The werewolf’s shapechanging ability doesn’t grant immunity to True Polymorph. Polymorph will not work because werewolves are shapechangers.
-
What happens if a second Polymorph is cast and the initial Polymorph ends? The target remains in the form dictated by the second Polymorph spell.
-
Can you still rage while polymorphed? No, unless your new form has similar abilities. The polymorphed barbarian is no longer a barbarian, so it loses access to its class features.
-
Can you cast True Polymorph multiple times on the same target, and have them all become permanent? Yes. Dispel magic at 9th level will end both instances but at lower levels you would roll against each instance, so it’s possible to dispel only one.
-
What is the strongest thing you can polymorph into using Polymorph? The highest CR beast you can transform into using Polymorph is the Tyrannosaurus Rex at CR 8.
-
Can I true polymorph into a dragon? Yes, you can True Polymorph into an ancient brass dragon, as long as you meet the level requirements.
-
Can I true polymorph into an archmage? No, you cannot True Polymorph into an “Archmage”. While the Monster Manual has an ‘archmage’ with CR 12, which is less than the level, that is not a valid target. The Archmage is an example NPC, not a creature.
-
Can you twin spell true polymorph? Yes, True Polymorph can be twinned since it targets a single creature or object.
-
Can you polymorph a golem? You cannot Polymorph a golem. The golem is immune to any spell or effect that would alter its form.
Mastering the Art of Transformation
The rules governing polymorph spells can be intricate, but understanding them opens up strategic possibilities. Knowing how different polymorph spells interact, how to counter them, and how to leverage their permanency can make you a formidable force in any D&D campaign. Remember to always consult the specific wording of the spells and discuss any ambiguities with your Dungeon Master to ensure consistent application of the rules. The Games Learning Society, found at GamesLearningSociety.org, offers great insights into how these kinds of mechanics engage players. Check out the Games Learning Society for more!