What is play vs put into play?

Play vs. Put into Play: Decoding Magic: The Gathering’s Key Terms

Magic: The Gathering (MTG) is a complex game with a rich vocabulary. Understanding the nuances of key terms like “play” and “put into play” (now commonly referred to as “put onto the battlefield”) is crucial for mastering the game. These terms, while seemingly interchangeable, represent distinct actions with different rules implications. In its most basic definition, to “play a card” means to either cast a nonland card (a spell) or to put a land card onto the battlefield by utilizing your available land play for the turn. Conversely, “putting a card onto the battlefield” refers to the action of directly moving a card from another zone (like your hand, library, or graveyard) to the battlefield, bypassing the casting process. This distinction is significant because it can sidestep restrictions, trigger different card abilities, and impact your overall strategy.

The Nuances of Playing a Card

Casting Spells

When you “play a nonland card”, you are actually “casting a spell.” This process involves:

  • Moving the card from your hand to the stack.
  • Paying any mana costs associated with the spell.
  • Choosing targets, if any.
  • Allowing other players to respond with instants and abilities.

Once all players have passed priority (declined to respond), the spell resolves and its effects take place. The crucial thing about casting a spell is that it goes on the stack, making it a potential target for counterspells.

Playing Lands

“Playing a land” is different from casting a spell. You do it as a special action during your main phase and you can play one land per turn, usually. This does not involve going to the stack and can not be responded to. Lands are placed directly onto the battlefield and immediately become active.

The Significance of “Play”

The act of “playing” a card (either as a land or a spell) is a distinct action that triggers cards with abilities related to when you cast a spell or play a land. These triggers won’t occur if the card simply “enters the battlefield” through another effect.

The Mechanics of “Putting onto the Battlefield”

When a card effect instructs you to “put a card onto the battlefield,” you are directly placing the card onto the battlefield from another zone without casting it or playing it as a land. This is a crucial distinction for several reasons:

  • No Casting or Playing: Cards put onto the battlefield via effects are not cast and do not count as playing a land.
  • Bypassing Counterspells: Since the card is not being cast, it cannot be countered by spells like Counterspell.
  • Avoiding Restrictions: Any restrictions associated with casting a spell or playing a land are ignored, such as a card saying you can only cast one spell per turn.
  • Triggering Enter-the-Battlefield Abilities: Creatures and other permanents put onto the battlefield still trigger abilities that trigger when they enter the battlefield, which are often known as ETB triggers.

Where “Put into Play” is used

“Put into play” is most commonly triggered from other card effects, such as abilities of permanents, spells and in some card mechanics. Cards like Aether Vial or Elvish Piper provide examples of these kinds of abilities. These abilities directly move the creature onto the battlefield without it being cast.

Why the Distinction Matters

Understanding the difference between “play” and “put onto the battlefield” is crucial for correctly resolving game states and strategizing effectively. For example:

  • A player may use the card Aether Vial to move a creature card from their hand to the battlefield, bypassing the casting process. This means the creature cannot be countered but also means “when you cast a creature” abilities will not trigger.
  • A card that allows you to play a card from the top of your deck does allow you to play a land if it is revealed, but if the card allowed you to instead “put onto the battlefield” the land, this would not use your land drop for the turn.
  • The difference also impacts card effects that reward casting a spell or playing a land. The same effects will not trigger when a card is put onto the battlefield, as it wasn’t cast or played.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. What happens if I “put a creature onto the battlefield”?

When you put a creature onto the battlefield, you are directly moving it there from another zone like your hand, deck or graveyard. It skips the casting process, does not go on the stack, and enters play directly. ETB effects still trigger, but “when you cast a creature” effects do not.

2. Can you counter something that is put onto the battlefield?

No. You can’t counter something that is put onto the battlefield because it’s not being cast. Counterspells specifically target spells on the stack, and effects that put cards onto the battlefield bypass the stack.

3. Is “putting a land onto the battlefield” the same as “playing a land”?

No. “Playing a land” is a specific action that uses your land play for the turn. “Putting a land onto the battlefield” bypasses the usual action and therefore does not use up your land drop for the turn.

4. If a card says “you may play a card,” does it mean I can cast it or play it as a land?

Yes. When a card states “you may play a card,” it allows you to either cast a nonland spell or play a land, as appropriate. This means you adhere to the rules of playing a land, which would be using your one play per turn.

5. What is the difference between “casting” and “playing” a card?

“Casting” refers specifically to spells (nonland cards). “Playing” can refer to either casting a spell or playing a land. Therefore, all instances of “casting a spell” are also considered “playing a card,” but “playing a card” may refer to playing a land instead of casting a spell.

6. What does ETB mean?

ETB stands for “enters the battlefield“. ETB effects are triggered abilities that activate when a permanent enters the battlefield, regardless of whether it was cast, played, or put onto the battlefield by another effect.

7. If a creature is put onto the battlefield, does it have summoning sickness?

Yes. Summoning sickness is not related to how a creature is put on the battlefield, it is specifically related to when it comes under your control. A creature that enters the battlefield still has summoning sickness on the turn it came under your control.

8. Can I respond to an ETB ability?

Yes. ETB abilities use the stack, so players can respond to them by playing instant spells or activated abilities.

9. If a card says “play this card without paying its mana cost,” is it still considered casting?

Yes. You are still casting the spell, it is going to the stack and it can be countered. The only difference is you are not paying the mana cost.

10. Can I use my land drop for the turn if I put a land into play using another effect?

No. Putting a land onto the battlefield with other effects is different from playing a land for the turn. Such effects are not using your one land drop per turn.

11. What is a “counterspell,” and what can it target?

A counterspell is a spell that counters another spell, preventing it from resolving. It can only target spells on the stack, not permanents that have already entered the battlefield.

12. Does returning a card to the battlefield count as casting it?

No. Returning a card to the battlefield does not count as casting it. It skips the stack and enters the battlefield without any casting.

13. What happens if I copy a spell? Is the copy cast?

No, a copy of a spell is not cast. Copies are placed directly on the stack without going through the casting process. They will also not trigger “when you cast” abilities.

14. What if a card says “comes into play”?

“Comes into play” was the older phrasing, which is the same as “enters the battlefield”. The terms are synonymous.

15. Can a player be forced to play a card?

No, you can not be forced to play a card. If a card allows a player to play a card, it will always be prefaced by “you may”. It is always optional and you can never be forced to play a card.

Conclusion

Understanding the distinction between “play” and “put onto the battlefield” is essential for navigating the complexities of Magic: The Gathering. “Playing a card” refers to playing a land or casting a spell, while “putting onto the battlefield” directly moves a card into play bypassing the usual casting process. By mastering these terms, you will improve your understanding of the game and enhance your strategic gameplay.

Leave a Comment