Can a creature target a creature in Magic The Gathering?

Can a Creature Target a Creature in Magic The Gathering?

A creature in Magic The Gathering (MTG) can indeed be the target of a spell or ability, but the specifics depend on the card text and the rules of the game, with considerations for targeting restrictions and protections like hexproof or shroud. The ability of a creature to target another creature is influenced by various factors, including the zone the creature is in, its characteristics, and any effects that might change its targetability or the text of the spell.

Understanding Targeting in MTG

Basic Principles of Targeting

In MTG, targeting refers to the process of choosing a recipient for the effects of a spell or ability. This recipient can be a creature, another type of permanent, a player, or even the game itself in some cases. The key to understanding targeting is recognizing that it is a part of the spell or ability resolution process, governed by specific rules that dictate what can and cannot be targeted.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Can You Target a Creature Before It Resolves?
  • No, you cannot target a creature before it resolves. For a creature to be a legal target, it must be on the battlefield and not have any protections or restrictions that prevent it from being targeted.
  1. What Counts as Targeting a Creature?
  • A spell or ability counts as targeting a creature when it specifically identifies the creature as the recipient of its effects, usually through the use of the word “target” in its text.
  1. Can Tapped Creatures Attack?
  • Yes, tapped creatures can attack. However, when a creature is declared as an attacker, it becomes tapped as part of the attack process, not as a cost.
  1. How Does Targeting Work in MTG?
  • Targeting in MTG works by identifying the recipient of a spell or ability through the use of the word “target” followed by a description of what can be targeted, such as “target creature“.
  1. Can You Target a Creature If Its Tapped?
  • Yes, you can target a tapped creature. The target restriction is based on the type of permanent or object (e.g., creature), not its status (e.g., tapped or untapped).
  1. Is a Creature a Target Permanent?
  • Yes, a creature is a type of permanent and can be targeted by spells or abilities that specify “target permanent” or “target creature“.
  1. Does Copying Count as Targeting MTG?
  • No, copying a spell or ability does not count as targeting. However, the copy will have the same targets as the original spell or ability.
  1. Does Choosing Count as Targeting MTG?
  • No, choosing does not count as targeting. Targeting is a specific process that occurs when casting a spell or activating an ability that uses the word “target“.
  1. Does Hexproof Stop Deathtouch?
  • No, hexproof does not stop deathtouch. Hexproof only prevents a creature from being targeted by spells or abilities from an opponent; it does not prevent deathtouch because deathtouch does not target.
  1. Can Creatures Target Other Creatures?

    • Yes, creatures can be the target of spells or abilities that specify “target creature“. However, creatures cannot attack other creatures directly; they can only attack the opponent or their planeswalkers.
  2. What is the Rule 114.5 in Magic The Gathering?

    • Rule 114.5 states that spells and abilities that can have zero or more targets are only considered targeted if one or more targets have been chosen for them.
  3. Can You Target Your Own Shroud Creatures?

    • No, you cannot target your own creature with shroud. Shroud prevents the creature from being the target of any spell or ability, including those controlled by its owner.
  4. Are Attacking Creatures Considered Tapped MTG?

    • Yes, attacking creatures are considered tapped. They become tapped as part of the attack declaration process.
  5. What Happens If You Mutate Onto a Tapped Creature?

    • If you mutate onto a tapped creature, the resulting merged creature will also be tapped.
  6. Does Hexproof Stop Targeting?

    • Yes, hexproof stops targeting by spells or abilities from an opponent. However, it does not prevent effects that do not target, such as mass destruction spells.

Conclusion

In conclusion, the ability of a creature to target another creature in Magic The Gathering is governed by a set of rules and restrictions that consider the type of spell or ability, the status of the creature (e.g., tapped or untapped), and any protections it may have (e.g., hexproof or shroud). Understanding these rules and how targeting works is crucial for strategic gameplay and effective deck building. By mastering the nuances of targeting in MTG, players can enhance their overall gaming experience and improve their chances of success in competitive play.

Leave a Comment