Can a Creature With Shroud Be Equipped? A Comprehensive Guide
The short answer is no. A creature with shroud cannot be equipped. This is because equipping requires targeting a creature, and shroud prevents a permanent from being the target of spells or abilities. However, there are nuances to this rule, so let’s dive deeper.
Understanding Shroud and Equipment
To fully grasp why shroud prevents equipping, it’s crucial to understand what these two concepts entail in the world of collectible card games like Magic: The Gathering.
What is Shroud?
Shroud is a keyword ability that provides a robust form of protection. In essence, it means that a permanent (usually a creature) cannot be the target of any spell or ability. This includes spells and abilities controlled by both you and your opponent. Think of it as a magical cloak of invisibility, making the creature immune to targeted effects.
What are Equipments?
Equipments are a type of artifact that can be attached to creatures to grant them additional abilities or stat boosts. The act of attaching an equipment to a creature is known as “equipping.” Equipping involves a cost and requires targeting the creature you wish to attach the equipment to.
The Interaction: Why Shroud Prevents Equipping
Because the act of equipping requires targeting, a creature with shroud becomes an invalid target. The game rules simply prevent you from initiating the equipping process on a shrouded creature. However, it’s crucial to understand that the restriction only applies when you’re initially trying to attach the equipment.
What Happens if a Creature Gains Shroud After Being Equipped?
This is where things get interesting. If a creature is already equipped and then gains shroud, the equipment remains attached. Shroud only prevents new targeting. The existing attachment isn’t disrupted. Think of it like this: the equipment was already there before the magical cloak was activated.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Shroud and Equipment
Here are 15 frequently asked questions that will help clarify the rules surrounding shroud and equipment:
1. Can I equip an equipment to a creature and then give it shroud?
Yes! This is a perfectly legal play. Equip the creature first, then use a spell or ability to grant it shroud. The equipment will remain attached.
2. If my opponent controls a creature with shroud, can I move my equipment from that creature to another?
No, because in order to move an equipment you have to target the creature that is equipped with it.
3. Can I use an ability that says “attach target equipment to target creature” if the creature has shroud?
No. Both the equipment and the creature must be legal targets. Because the creature has shroud, it is not a legal target.
4. Does shroud prevent auras from being attached?
Yes, shroud prevents auras from being attached if the aura spell or ability targets the creature.
5. What’s the difference between shroud and hexproof?
Shroud prevents a permanent from being targeted by any spell or ability, including your own. Hexproof, on the other hand, only prevents targeting by your opponents. This means you can target your own creature with hexproof, but not one with shroud.
6. Can I sacrifice a creature with shroud?
Yes. Sacrificing does not target. You are simply choosing a creature to fulfill a cost or effect.
7. If a creature is indestructible, does that bypass shroud’s protection against equipping?
No. Indestructible only means the creature cannot be destroyed by damage or “destroy” effects. It doesn’t override shroud’s protection against being targeted.
8. Can I block a creature with shroud?
Yes. Shroud only prevents targeting. It has no effect on blocking or attacking.
9. Does protection from artifacts remove equipment?
Yes. Giving a creature protection from artifacts will cause any equipment attached to it to fall off.
10. Can I use Ninjutsu on a creature with shroud?
Yes, because ninjutsu doesn’t target one of your creatures; instead, returning an unblocked creature is the cost of activating the ability.
11. If I control a Spellskite with shroud, can I activate its ability to redirect a spell?
If you control a spellskite with shroud, you can still activate spellskite targeting any spell or ability. Because spellskite is not a legal target, the target won’t change.
12. Does shroud prevent a board wipe (like Wrath of God)?
No. Board wipes do not target individual creatures; they affect all creatures on the battlefield.
13. Does proliferate work on permanents with shroud?
Yes, proliferate does not target, so permanents with shroud or hexproof can be chosen.
14. Does Deathtouch go through Shroud?
No, Deathtouch does not target, so it doesn’t interact with Shroud.
15. Where can I learn more about the rules of collectible card games?
A great resource for further learning is the Games Learning Society, whose website can be found at GamesLearningSociety.org. They provide valuable insights into the educational aspects of gaming and the complexities of game rules.
Conclusion
While a creature with shroud may seem untouchable, understanding the specific interactions between shroud and other game mechanics opens up strategic possibilities. Knowing when you can’t equip is just as important as knowing when you can. Master these rules, and you’ll be well on your way to becoming a more skilled player. Remember to consider all angles and understand when effects target and when they don’t to maximize your gameplay!