Can a Magic Card Target Itself? A Comprehensive Guide
Yes, a Magic card can target itself, but only if the targeting requirements of the spell or ability allow it. It all boils down to the specific wording on the card and the general rules governing targeting in Magic: The Gathering. Certain cards are designed to interact with themselves, while others explicitly prohibit it. Understanding this nuance is crucial for strategic gameplay and navigating complex card interactions.
Diving Deeper: Targeting Rules in Magic
The ability to target is one of the fundamental mechanics in Magic. When a spell or ability says “target,” you must choose a valid target for that spell or ability to be put on the stack. Let’s break down the core principles:
-
Targeting Requirements: The spell or ability will specify what it can target. Common examples include “target creature,” “target player,” “target permanent,” or “target spell.”
-
Legality Check: Before the spell or ability resolves, a legality check ensures that the target still exists and is still a valid target. If the target is no longer valid, the spell or ability will be countered upon resolution.
-
Self-Targeting: A card can only target itself if the targeting requirements of the spell or ability are broad enough to encompass itself, and there isn’t a specific restriction preventing it. A common example is “target permanent,” which could include the permanent with the ability on it.
Examples of Self-Targeting Cards
Several cards demonstrate how self-targeting works effectively. Here are a couple of key examples:
-
Auras: Auras are enchantments that attach to permanents. Many auras can enchant any permanent. Thus, an aura on the battlefield can target itself if it is removed (for example, through a destroy effect), and cast to enchant itself.
-
Activated Abilities: Many creatures have activated abilities with costs and effects that target permanents, and the card itself is a permanent. For example, a creature with an ability that says “Target permanent gains indestructible until end of turn” can target itself with that ability.
Common Pitfalls and Misconceptions
Despite the straightforward rules, several misconceptions surround self-targeting.
-
Assuming All Cards Can Self-Target: Not all cards can target themselves. Pay close attention to the card’s wording. If it specifies “target other creature,” for example, the card cannot target itself.
-
Ignoring Targeting Restrictions: Some cards have specific restrictions preventing them from targeting themselves or certain types of permanents. Always read the card carefully to identify any such restrictions.
Strategic Implications of Self-Targeting
Self-targeting opens up exciting strategic possibilities in Magic.
-
Protecting Key Permanents: Using an ability to grant indestructible to itself can protect a vital creature from removal spells.
-
Triggering Abilities: Some cards have abilities that trigger when they are targeted by a spell or ability. Self-targeting can intentionally activate these abilities.
-
Creating Combos: Self-targeting can be an essential component of intricate combos, allowing you to manipulate the game state in powerful ways.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of self-targeting in Magic: The Gathering.
1. Can a creature with an ability that says “Target creature gets +1/+1” target itself?
Yes, if there are no other restrictions, a creature with an ability that says “Target creature gets +1/+1” can target itself. It is a creature and fits the targeting criteria.
2. What happens if a card tries to target itself when it isn’t a valid target?
The spell or ability will fail to resolve if its target is illegal upon resolution, and is countered. If you attempt to cast a spell or activate an ability with an illegal target, you must rewind the game to before the spell was cast or ability was activated.
3. Can an Aura cast as a spell target itself?
An Aura spell cannot target itself. Auras can target permanents, but while on the stack they are spells, not permanents.
4. If a card says “Target other permanent,” can it target itself?
No. The word “other” specifically excludes the card itself from being a valid target.
5. Can a planeswalker ability target itself?
Planeswalkers can never target themselves, as they are not spells. However, certain spells or abilities might affect all planeswalkers, which would include the planeswalker activating the ability.
6. Can a land card target itself with an ability?
Yes, if the ability’s targeting parameters allow. For instance, if a land has an ability that says, “Target permanent becomes a creature until end of turn,” it could target itself.
7. What happens if a spell targets a permanent and then that permanent becomes an illegal target before the spell resolves?
The spell will be countered upon resolution. The game checks for legal targets as the spell resolves. If there are no legal targets, the spell has no effect.
8. Can a card target itself with an ability if it gains a relevant type (like “creature”) as part of the ability’s cost?
No. The target must be legal when the ability is activated, not after. The costs are paid before targets are chosen.
9. If I control multiple permanents with the same name, can a spell that targets “target permanent” target any of them?
Yes, unless there is some specific rule preventing this. Each permanent with the same name is a separate game object and can be targeted independently.
10. Can a triggered ability target the permanent that caused it to trigger?
Yes, as long as the permanent meets the targeting requirements of the triggered ability and nothing specifies that it can’t.
11. Can a spell that says “Destroy target creature” destroy a creature that’s also a land (a creature-land)?
Yes. A creature-land is still a creature, so it can be destroyed by “Destroy target creature.”
12. Does hexproof prevent a card from targeting itself?
No. Hexproof only prevents a permanent from being targeted by your opponent’s spells or abilities.
13. Does shroud prevent a card from targeting itself?
Yes. Shroud prevents a permanent from being the target of any spell or ability, including its own.
14. What happens if a card says “Target creature you control gains…” and I only control that card? Can it target itself?
Yes, it can target itself. The restriction “you control” simply means it must be under your control; it does not prevent self-targeting.
15. Where can I learn more about the rules and mechanics of Magic: The Gathering?
There are many resources online, including the official Magic: The Gathering website, comprehensive rulebooks, and various online communities. Additionally, consider exploring resources related to Games Learning Society as the principles and strategies involved in trading card games can often translate to real-world skills and critical thinking. Check out GamesLearningSociety.org for further insights.
Conclusion
Understanding the intricacies of targeting, especially self-targeting, is vital for mastering Magic: The Gathering. By carefully analyzing card text and applying the fundamental rules, you can unlock powerful strategies and gain a competitive edge. Always remember to double-check the targeting requirements and restrictions on each card before making your move. Happy dueling!