Can a Token Be a Legendary Creature? A Deep Dive into Magic: The Gathering’s Intricacies
Yes, a token can absolutely be a legendary creature in Magic: The Gathering. This is a relatively straightforward concept that can become complex when you delve into the nuances of the game’s rules, particularly regarding the Legend Rule. The short answer is: a token becomes legendary if the effect that creates it explicitly states it is legendary, or if it is a copy of a legendary permanent. Let’s explore this in more detail, along with other relevant and vital information.
Understanding Legendary Status and Tokens
To fully grasp this concept, it’s crucial to understand the distinct nature of both legendary permanents and tokens.
-
Legendary Permanents: The legendary supertype applies to various permanents including creatures, artifacts, enchantments, planeswalkers, and lands. The key characteristic is that the Legend Rule applies to them. This rule prevents a player from controlling two or more legendary permanents with the same name simultaneously.
-
Tokens: A token is a permanent that is not represented by a card. They are often created by spells or abilities. Tokens can be any type of permanent, including creatures. What’s vital to understand is that tokens on the battlefield follow the same rules as any other permanent.
The interaction between these two aspects is where the specificities and the confusion arises.
How a Token Becomes Legendary
A token becomes legendary in one of two primary ways:
-
The Creation Effect Specifies It: Some spells and abilities directly create legendary tokens. An example of this is the card [[Kari Zev, Skyship Raider]], which produces a legendary creature token named Ragavan. The card itself makes the token legendary.
-
The Token is a Copy of a Legendary Permanent: If a spell or ability creates a token that is a copy of an existing legendary permanent, the token inherits the legendary supertype. This means that the Legend Rule will immediately apply if you control the original legendary permanent and its token copy.
The Legend Rule and Token Copies
The Legend Rule is a state-based action that is checked any time a player would receive priority. If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player must choose one of them to keep, and the rest are put into their owner’s graveyard.
When you create a token copy of a legendary creature, the following happens:
- The token enters the battlefield.
- The game checks state-based actions, including the Legend Rule.
- If you control both the original legendary creature and the token copy, you must choose one to keep, and the other is put into your graveyard.
Important Note: It doesn’t matter if one is a card and the other is a token; the rule applies equally to both.
Scenarios and Examples
Consider these scenarios to further illustrate the concept:
-
Scenario 1: You control a legendary creature named “Captain Rex.” You cast a spell that creates a token that is a copy of “Captain Rex.” Immediately, the Legend Rule forces you to choose either the original “Captain Rex” or the token copy. The other goes to your graveyard.
-
Scenario 2: You cast a spell that creates a 2/2 green and white Wolf creature token named Voja. The token is legendary, and you control another card called “Voja” that is legendary. The Legend Rule applies immediately.
-
Scenario 3: You control a non-legendary creature. You cast a spell that creates a token that is a copy of that creature. The token is not legendary because the original creature wasn’t, and the token-creation effect didn’t say that it should be.
Deeper Implications
The ability to create legendary tokens opens up several strategic possibilities and considerations in Magic: The Gathering.
-
Sacrifice Outlets: Creating a legendary token copy can be a way to trigger sacrifice abilities, as one of the legendary permanents will have to be put into the graveyard to be sacrificed.
-
ETB (Enter the Battlefield) Effects: If the legendary token copy has an “enter the battlefield” effect, you can trigger it by creating the copy, even if you have to sacrifice the copy (or the original) immediately due to the Legend Rule.
-
Graveyard Strategies: Legendary tokens that go to the graveyard (even briefly before ceasing to exist) can trigger graveyard-related abilities. Dying means that it it hits the graveyard for a moment before it ceases to exist.
FAQs: Legendary Creatures and Tokens
Here are 15 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) to further clarify the rules and nuances surrounding legendary creatures and tokens:
-
A token that is a copy has all the characteristics of the object it’s copying, which include name and supertype? Yes, that’s correct. When a token becomes a copy of another permanent, it inherits all copiable values of that permanent, including its name, supertype (like legendary), types, subtypes, abilities, power, toughness, and more.
-
A card named [Whatever legendary creature you want] and a token named the same thing will be put in the graveyard just like two legendary cards with the same name? Precisely. The Legend Rule doesn’t distinguish between cards and tokens. If you control two or more legendary permanents with the same name, regardless of whether they are cards or tokens, you must choose one to keep.
-
Can you have a legendary creature as a token? Yes, the legend rule applies to tokens? Yes, you can absolutely have a legendary creature as a token. And yes, the Legend Rule applies without any discrimination against tokens.
-
When on the battlefield, tokens are subject to the same rules as all other permanents, including the legend rule? Correct. Once a token is on the battlefield, it is treated as any other permanent. This means it is subject to all applicable rules, including the Legend Rule.
-
Are tokens of legendary creatures legendary? A token is only legendary if the effect creating it says that it’s legendary ([[Kari Zev, Skyship Raider]]) or if it’s a token copy of a legendary permanent? This accurately describes the two ways a token can become legendary: through its creation effect or by being a copy of a legendary permanent.
-
Does the legend rule apply to tokens? The “legend rule” doesn’t apply to creature tokens you control? This statement is partially incorrect and can be misleading. The Legend Rule does apply to legendary tokens you control, just as it applies to any legendary permanent.
-
What happens when you create a token copy of a legendary creature? The token will enter the battlefield when the spell resolves and, the next time any player would receive priority, you’d have to choose one of the legendary permanents to stay on the battlefield. The copies would then be put into your graveyard? This is an accurate description. Upon creation of the token copy, state-based actions are checked (including the Legend Rule), and you must immediately choose which legendary permanent to keep. The other goes to the graveyard.
-
Does creating a token count as a creature spell? No. Creating a token is not the same as casting a creature spell. A spell exists on the stack, while a token is a permanent that enters the battlefield directly.
-
Can you have 2 legendary creatures on the field? There are no special restrictions on the number of legendary creatures in a Constructed deck (Standard, Modern, Legacy, Vintage are Constructed formats). So the same four-copies rule as everything else. The “legend rule” applies to legendary permanents on the battlefield, and looks at the exact name of each card? This describes constructed deck-building rules and correctly reiterates the function of the Legend Rule which cares about the names of legendary permanents.
-
What is the legend rule in tokens? The Legend Rule applies to all legendary permanents, including tokens, ensuring that you cannot control two or more legendary permanents with the same name at the same time.
-
Are all planeswalkers legendary? Yes, all planeswalkers have the legendary supertype and are subject to a planeswalker uniqueness rule which states you cannot have two planeswalkers on the battlefield with the same planeswalker type such as “Jace”.
-
Can you mutate a token creature? Yes, tokens can mutate just like nontoken permanents.
-
What happens if you bounce a creature token? A bounced token ceases to exist. Since tokens can only exist on the battlefield, when they are moved to another zone (like your hand), they disappear.
-
Is a token creature a permanent in mtg? Yes, a token creature is a permanent while it is on the battlefield.
-
Do tokens go to the graveyard? Yes, tokens go to the graveyard. And as a passive effect, immediately cease to exist after entering the graveyard.
Conclusion
Understanding the interaction between legendary permanents and tokens is crucial for mastering Magic: The Gathering. A token can be a legendary creature, and the Legend Rule will apply accordingly. Knowing how these rules interact can provide you with strategic advantages and help you navigate complex game states. Dive deeper into these concepts and more by exploring resources such as the Games Learning Society at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/, which offers valuable insights into the educational applications of games. Embrace the intricacies, refine your strategies, and continue to explore the ever-evolving world of Magic: The Gathering!