Can a Unit Shoot After Disembarking in Warhammer 40k? The Definitive Guide
Yes, a unit can shoot after disembarking from a transport in Warhammer 40,000, but with a crucial caveat: it depends on whether the transport moved before the disembarkation. If the transport remains stationary (didn’t make a Normal Move, Advance, or Fall Back) in its Movement phase, the disembarking unit can then shoot as normal. However, if the transport did move, then the disembarking unit can shoot, but will be restricted from charging.
This nuanced rule is a cornerstone of Warhammer 40k strategy, dictating how you deploy your forces from transports and influencing your tactical decision-making. It promotes strategic thinking and careful planning when utilizing transports to deliver your units to the battlefield. Let’s delve into the specifics and explore the intricacies of disembarking and shooting.
Disembarking and Shooting: The Core Rules
The core principle to remember is this: movement affects actions. In 10th edition Warhammer 40k, the rules regarding disembarking and shooting are straightforward yet impactful.
-
Disembarkation Timing: Disembarkation must occur during the Movement phase. The unit must have begun the turn inside the transport. This means you can’t embark and disembark in the same turn.
-
Disembarkation Range: When disembarking, each model in the unit must be set up within 3 inches of the transport, and cannot be within Engagement Range of any enemy models. If the disembarkation requires models to be removed due to space restrictions, you must follow normal casualty removal rules to determine which models are removed.
-
Movement Restrictions: If the transport moved (Normal Move, Advance, or Fall Back) before the unit disembarked, the disembarking unit is considered to have moved. This unit then can shoot during the Shooting phase, but cannot charge in the Charge phase.
-
Stationary Transport: If the transport remains stationary and does not move (including remaining Stationary as described in the rules) in the Movement phase, the disembarking unit can perform a Normal Move, Advance, or Fall Back after disembarking. They retain the ability to both shoot and charge later in the turn, providing them with maximum tactical flexibility.
-
Firing Deck: transports with the Firing Deck special rule allow embarked models to effectively fire their weapons through the transport. This can be a powerful ability, especially for units with devastating firepower.
Strategic Implications
The disembarkation rules have significant implications for how you use transports in your army. Consider these scenarios:
-
Aggressive Assault: To maximize your assault potential, keep the transport stationary, disembark the unit, and then perform a Normal Move or Advance into charge range. This maximizes the unit’s ability to engage the enemy in close combat.
-
Tactical Fire Support: If you need to reposition a transport quickly, move it to a new location and disembark a unit to provide fire support. The inability to charge is a trade-off for rapid deployment.
-
Defensive Positioning: Use transports to quickly redeploy units to reinforce defensive positions. Even if they can’t charge, having extra firepower in a crucial location can make all the difference.
-
Utilizing Firing Decks: Using the Firing Deck rules provides a flexible way to fire and move in a single turn. This is especially useful for ranged units with powerful weapons.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions about disembarking and shooting in Warhammer 40k 10th edition:
1. Can a unit disembark and charge in the same turn?
Yes, but only if the transport did not move before the disembarkation. If the transport remained stationary, the disembarking unit can perform a normal move/advance and then charge.
2. What happens if a transport is destroyed with units inside?
All embarked units must immediately Disembark from the destroyed Transport, using the rules as described above. Disembarkation must occur before the destroyed Transport is removed from the board.
3. Can a unit embark and disembark in the same turn?
No. A unit cannot embark and disembark from a transport in the same turn.
4. Does disembarking count as moving?
Yes, if the transport moved beforehand. If the transport made a Normal Move, Advance, or Fall Back, the disembarking unit is considered to have moved and cannot charge.
5. Can a unit shoot if it Advanced?
No, unless the unit has a specific ability that allows it to shoot after Advancing. Generally, Advancing prevents a unit from shooting.
6. What is the Engagement Range?
Engagement Range is a distance of 1 inch horizontally and 5 inches vertically of an enemy model. You cannot disembark within Engagement Range of an enemy unit.
7. Can I disembark into Engagement Range?
No. When disembarking, units cannot be set up within Engagement Range of any enemy models.
8. Can a Vehicle shoot in Engagement Range?
Yes, Vehicles and Monsters can shoot while within Engagement Range of enemy units, however they may only target the units they are engaged with.
9. What is the “Firing Deck” ability?
Firing Deck allows a Transport to nominate one model within the transport per point listed in the Firing Deck rule. It can then equip this model with its weapon during the shooting phase.
10. If a unit has Firing Deck 2, what can it do?
If a Transport has Firing Deck 2, it can select up to two models to fire weapons through the firing deck.
11. Can a transport Fall Back and allow units to disembark?
No. A transport cannot Fall Back and allow units to disembark in the same Movement phase. The Transport can either Fall Back or allow units to disembark.
12. What happens if there isn’t enough space to disembark all the models?
Follow normal casualty removal rules and models must be removed to satisfy the 3″ restriction.
13. Can a unit disembark if the transport is in combat?
No, as stated above you cannot disembark within Engagement Range of an enemy unit.
14. Can I disembark a unit and then charge with the transport?
This would involve the Transport moving before the disembarkation, therefore the embarked unit is considered to have moved and is unable to charge this turn.
15. Can I use Stratagems to affect units that have just disembarked?
Yes, as long as the unit meets the requirements of the Stratagem, there is nothing preventing you from using Stratagems on units that have just disembarked.
Final Thoughts
Mastering the rules around disembarking and shooting is crucial for any Warhammer 40k player. Understanding the limitations and opportunities presented by these rules can give you a significant tactical advantage. Keep these considerations in mind when planning your strategies and deploying your forces. Good luck on the battlefield!
Learning more about the tactical and strategic elements of games like Warhammer 40k is useful for understanding and promoting learning and engagement in other areas of life, particularly in education. To this end, the Games Learning Society is a vital resource for educators, researchers, and game designers alike. For additional information, please visit GamesLearningSociety.org.