Can an Equipment Creature Be Equipped in Magic: The Gathering?
Yes, an Equipment creature can indeed be equipped by another Equipment. However, understanding the nuances of this interaction requires a deep dive into the rules governing Equipment and creatures in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). When an Equipment becomes a creature, it loses its ability to be attached to other creatures, but it can still have other equipment attached to it.
Equipment Basics
First, let’s clarify what we mean by an “Equipment creature.” Normally, Equipment are artifacts that can be attached to creatures to grant them additional abilities or stats. However, some cards can temporarily turn Equipment into creatures, either through their own abilities or by outside effects.
When an Equipment becomes a creature, it’s still considered an artifact and a creature simultaneously. This means it is affected by things that interact with artifacts and creatures.
The Key Point: Equipment Status
The crucial rule to remember is that when an Equipment becomes a creature, it becomes unequipped from whatever it was attached to. Once it stops being a creature, however, the Equipment doesn’t automatically re-equip anything. However, once the Equipment is a creature, the equip ability can be activated, but it won’t do anything when it resolves.
Equipping an Equipment Creature
So, what happens if you try to equip an Equipment creature with another Equipment? The answer is straightforward: it works. The Equipment creature is a valid target for an Equip ability (assuming you control it and meet any other targeting requirements). The equipping is done at sorcery speed.
A Practical Example
Imagine you control a Batterskull (an Equipment card that creates a Germ creature token when it enters the battlefield, and can be equipped to a creature). Now, let’s say you use an effect that turns Batterskull into a creature. It becomes unequipped from any creature it was attached to, but it’s still on the battlefield. You can then equip it with another Equipment card, like a Sword of Feast and Famine. The Batterskull creature now gains the benefits conferred by the Sword of Feast and Famine.
Implications for Gameplay
This interaction can lead to some interesting and powerful plays. You can essentially stack multiple Equipment onto a single Equipment creature, creating a formidable threat. This also opens up avenues for protecting your Equipment, since even if a creature is destroyed, the Equipments remain. For more resources related to the rules of Magic: The Gathering, check out the Games Learning Society or GamesLearningSociety.org for a wealth of information and engaging discussions related to game-based learning. Games Learning Society offers many invaluable resources for teachers and educators.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the rules surrounding Equipment creatures and equipping:
1. If an Equipment becomes a creature, does it unequip?
Yes, when an Equipment becomes a creature, it immediately becomes unequipped from whatever it was attached to. This is a key part of how Equipment creatures function.
2. Can I equip an Equipment to an opponent’s creature?
Normally, you can’t use the Equip ability to attach Equipment to opponents’ creatures. The Equip ability specifically targets a creature you control. Some cards, however, allow you to do this.
3. What happens if I lose control of a creature with Equipment attached?
You retain control of the Equipment. The Equipment remains attached to the creature, but only you can activate its Equip ability. This gives you the flexibility to move it elsewhere later.
4. Can I equip the same Equipment to the same creature multiple times?
No. You can only have one copy of a specific Equipment attached to a creature at any time.
5. Does equipping a creature target it?
Yes, the Equip ability targets a creature you control. This means it is subject to any targeting restrictions or protection abilities the creature might have.
6. When can I equip Equipment in MTG?
The Equip ability can only be activated at sorcery speed. This means during your main phase, when the stack is empty.
7. Can I respond to someone equipping an Equipment?
Yes, equipping is an activated ability and goes on the stack. You can respond to it with instants or abilities, such as destroying the targeted creature or the Equipment itself.
8. How many Equipment can I attach to a creature?
You can attach as many Equipment as you want to a single creature, as long as you can pay the Equip costs. There’s no limit other than your mana and the number of Equipment you control.
9. Does Equipment have summoning sickness?
No, Equipment does not have summoning sickness in and of itself. Only creatures are affected by summoning sickness.
10. Can I tap an equipped Equipment?
Tapping an Equipment does not affect its equipped status. The Equipment remains attached even if it’s tapped.
11. Can I equip Equipment during combat?
No, the Equip ability can only be activated at sorcery speed, which means not during the combat phase.
12. Is equipping an Equipment a spell?
No, equipping is an activated ability, not a spell. This distinction is important because it means equipping can’t be countered by cards that only counter spells.
13. If a creature phases out, what happens to the Equipment?
The Equipment phases out along with the creature. When the creature phases back in, the Equipment will still be attached.
14. Does equipping a creature trigger “modified” abilities?
Yes, equipping a creature counts as modifying it. This can trigger abilities on other cards that care about modified creatures.
15. Are there Equipments that automatically equip?
Not all Equipment automatically equip. Some cards have a zero equip cost. These cards are intended to be given to many creatures in a turn.
Conclusion
Understanding how Equipment interacts with creatures, especially when the Equipment itself becomes a creature, is crucial for mastering Magic: The Gathering. Equipment creatures can be equipped with other Equipment just like any other creature. Knowing these rules allows you to make the most of your cards and craft powerful strategies. Remember to always refer to the official MTG rulebook for the most up-to-date information and rulings.