Can Chrome Mox imprint colorless?

Chrome Mox: Imprinting the Unseen – Can You Exile Colorless Cards?

The question on many Magic: The Gathering players’ minds when staring down at a Chrome Mox and a hand full of possibilities is: Can Chrome Mox imprint colorless? The short answer is no. Chrome Mox specifically states that you can exile a nonartifact, nonland card from your hand. Colorless cards are still subject to this, as they are neither artifacts nor lands. Understanding the nuances of this restriction is critical for maximizing the potential of this powerful mana rock in formats like Legacy.

Understanding Chrome Mox’s Imprint Ability

Chrome Mox’s strength lies in its ability to provide early mana acceleration, mimicking the effect of the original Moxen without breaking the bank. However, this acceleration comes at a cost: exiling a card from your hand. The exact wording of Chrome Mox’s ability is crucial to understanding its limitations:

“Imprint — When Chrome Mox enters the battlefield, you may exile a nonartifact, nonland card from your hand.”

This ability dictates precisely what types of cards can be exiled and, by extension, determines the color of mana Chrome Mox can produce. The imprinted card defines the color identity Chrome Mox can tap for.

Colorless and Its Role in Magic: The Gathering

Colorless, in Magic: The Gathering, is a unique attribute that can often cause confusion. It’s vital to differentiate between colorless as a type of object and colorless mana. Colorless objects lack any specific color identity, while colorless mana is a resource used to pay generic costs in spells and abilities. Key points to remember:

  • Colorless is not a color: It’s a separate designation. Colorless is not represented on the color wheel.

  • Colorless objects can include creatures, artifacts, and spells: The Eldrazi, for example, are commonly colorless creatures.

  • Colorless mana is a specific type of mana: Often represented by the {1} symbol, and it can only pay generic costs.

Because Chrome Mox states “nonartifact, nonland card”, any colorless nonartifact, nonland cards such as creatures and spells, can be exiled by Chrome Mox.

Why the Restriction Matters

The restriction on imprinting artifacts and lands significantly impacts Chrome Mox’s strategic applications. It forces players to carefully evaluate their hand composition before committing to playing Chrome Mox. It encourages careful deck building to maximize the impact of the exiles.

Strategic Considerations for Chrome Mox

Here are some strategic considerations when including Chrome Mox in your deck:

  • Mana Curve: Ensure you have a sufficient number of colored spells to effectively utilize the mana produced by Chrome Mox.

  • Hand Composition: Assess your starting hand to determine if exiling a card is worth the early mana acceleration.

  • Color Requirements: Consider the color requirements of your key spells and prioritize imprinting cards that provide the necessary mana.

FAQs: Chrome Mox and Colorless

Here are 15 frequently asked questions about Chrome Mox and its interactions with colorless and other Magic: The Gathering concepts:

1. Can I exile a colorless Eldrazi creature with Chrome Mox?

Yes, you can exile a colorless Eldrazi creature with Chrome Mox, assuming it is nonartifact, nonland. As long as the Eldrazi is a creature, it meets the necessary criteria for exiling.

2. If I exile a colorless card, does Chrome Mox produce colorless mana?

No. If no card is imprinted on Chrome Mox, the Mox can’t add mana to your mana pool. It can’t add colorless mana to your mana pool.

3. Can Chrome Mox imprint a double-faced card that is colorless on one side?

The color identity of a double-faced card is determined by the characteristics of both faces. If either face is colored, the double-faced card is considered colored. If the double-faced card meets the nonartifact, nonland requirements it can be exiled and the Mox can produce mana of the imprinted cards colors.

4. What happens if I have no cards in hand when Chrome Mox enters the battlefield?

If you have no nonartifact, nonland cards in your hand when Chrome Mox enters the battlefield, you cannot imprint a card. Chrome Mox will enter the battlefield without imprinting, and it will not be able to produce any mana.

5. Can I exile a colored artifact creature with Chrome Mox?

No, Chrome Mox’s ability specifically states “nonartifact, nonland card”.

6. Does Morph count as colorless when choosing a card to exile for Chrome Mox?

Yes, objects that are cast face down are considered colorless. If you cast a card using its Morph ability, it is colorless on the stack and thus can be exiled by Chrome Mox (assuming it’s also nonartifact and nonland).

7. Can I use Chrome Mox to produce generic mana to pay for colorless costs?

No. Chrome Mox produces mana of the colors of the imprinted card. Colorless costs must be paid with colorless mana or mana that can be used as any type of mana.

8. If my opponent controls a card that changes the color of my card, does that affect Chrome Mox?

No, the color of the card exiled by Chrome Mox is determined at the moment it is exiled. Changes to the card’s color after it has been exiled do not affect the color of mana Chrome Mox produces.

9. Can I exile a Phyrexian mana card with Chrome Mox, and how does it work?

Yes, you can exile a Phyrexian mana card with Chrome Mox as long as it’s nonartifact, nonland. Chrome Mox will produce mana of that card’s color(s). You cannot pay life to help fulfill the mana cost produced by chrome mox.

10. Does a card exiled with Chrome Mox stay exiled indefinitely?

Yes, a card exiled with Chrome Mox remains in exile indefinitely unless an effect specifically returns it from exile.

11. Can I exile a split card with Chrome Mox?

Yes, you can exile a split card with Chrome Mox as long as it’s nonartifact, nonland. The split card’s combined color identity determines the colors of mana Chrome Mox can produce.

12. If I exile a multicolored card, can Chrome Mox produce any of those colors?

Yes, if you exile a multicolored card, Chrome Mox can produce mana of any of the colors present on that card. For example, if you exile a red and blue card, Chrome Mox can tap for either red or blue mana.

13. How does Chrome Mox interact with cards that have devoid?

Cards with devoid are still colored, even though their text states they are colorless. Because of this, you can use Chrome Mox.

14. What happens if the card exiled by Chrome Mox gains or loses a color after being exiled?

The exiled card’s color is determined when it is exiled. Any subsequent changes to the card’s color do not affect the mana that Chrome Mox can produce.

15. Is Chrome Mox banned in any formats?

Chrome Mox is legal in Legacy, Vintage, and Commander (though some playgroups may have house rules). Knowing the legality of Chrome Mox in various formats is crucial for competitive play. For more insights into learning and games, visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.

Conclusion

Chrome Mox is a potent tool in Magic: The Gathering, offering invaluable mana acceleration. However, its restrictions demand careful deck construction and strategic decision-making. By understanding the intricacies of its Imprint ability and the nature of colorless in the game, players can effectively harness Chrome Mox’s power to gain a competitive edge.

Leave a Comment