Can Colorless Mana Be Used For Any Mana? A Comprehensive Guide
The short answer is: No, colorless mana cannot be used for any mana cost in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). While it has a versatile role, colorless mana has specific limitations. It’s crucial to understand these limitations to effectively strategize and play the game. Colorless mana can pay for colorless costs denoted by the diamond symbol (◊) and for generic mana costs which are represented by a number inside a grey circle (like {2}). However, it cannot pay for mana costs that require specific colors, such as {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, or {G}. Let’s dive into the nuances of colorless mana and its interplay with other mana types.
Understanding Colorless Mana
Colorless mana is one of the six types of mana in Magic: The Gathering, the other five being white, blue, black, red, and green. It is represented by the symbol ◊. Unlike colored mana which has inherent properties that tie it to specific colors, colorless mana is, well, colorless. This means it doesn’t belong to any of the five colors, which has important implications for how it can and can’t be used.
Colorless vs. Generic Mana
A key point of confusion for many players is the difference between colorless mana and generic mana. Generic mana is represented by a number within a circle, such as {1}, {2}, {3}. This symbol represents a cost that can be paid using any type of mana, be it white, blue, black, red, green, or colorless. So, while colorless mana can pay for a generic mana cost, the reverse is not always true. Colored mana can also pay generic mana costs, but cannot pay for colorless mana costs.
The Importance of the Diamond Symbol (◊)
The diamond symbol (◊) is crucial in understanding when you need to use colorless mana. Before the introduction of the diamond symbol, cards that generated colorless mana simply said “add 1”. Now, all cards that generate true colorless mana use the ◊ symbol. This distinction clarifies that specific abilities and spells require actual colorless mana, not simply any mana. Older cards have been given errata to reflect the symbol. For example, Sol Ring now produces {◊}{◊}, which clearly indicates two colorless mana.
Limitations of Colorless Mana
While being a versatile mana type, it’s crucial to understand what colorless mana cannot do:
- Cannot pay colored mana costs: Colorless mana cannot pay for mana costs that require a specific color like {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, or {G}. You can’t use two colorless mana to pay for a cost of {W}{W} for example.
- Does not count as a color: Colorless mana is not considered a color in Magic: The Gathering. This has several consequences:
- It does not count toward devotion for cards with abilities that care about the amount of mana symbols in play.
- It doesn’t fulfill “one mana of any color” requirements. For example, a card that requires one mana of any color can’t be paid with colorless mana.
- It doesn’t activate specific colored triggers or abilities that look for certain colored mana expenditure.
- It does not count for sunburst. Sunburst requires that all of the 5 colors be paid. Since colorless is not a color, it will not count.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Colorless Mana
Here are 15 frequently asked questions regarding colorless mana, helping to clarify any remaining confusion:
1. Can colorless mana be used for generic mana costs?
Yes, colorless mana can be used to pay for generic mana costs. These are typically represented by a number within a circle, such as {1}, {2}, {3}, etc.
2. Does colorless mana count as mana of any color?
No, colorless mana does not count as mana of any color. It is a distinct mana type with its own limitations. When a card refers to ‘one mana of any color’, it is referring to white, blue, black, red, or green. Colorless is excluded.
3. Can I use colorless mana to pay for hybrid mana costs?
No, hybrid mana costs require you to pay either one of two specific colors. Colorless mana cannot fulfil this requirement. For example, the hybrid cost {W/B} needs either White or Black mana.
4. Does colorless mana have a color identity?
No, colorless mana does not have a color identity. However, cards or permanents that produce colorless mana, will have their own color identity based on their casting cost.
5. Can I use treasure tokens for colorless mana costs?
No, you cannot use treasure tokens for colorless costs (◊). Treasure tokens can only produce mana of any color which does not include colorless. However, treasure tokens can be used for generic mana costs.
6. Does colorless mana remain between turns?
By default, unspent mana empties at the end of each phase or step. However, specific cards like Horizon Stone allow you to retain unspent mana as colorless mana between turns.
7. Can colorless mana be produced by lands that can tap for any color of mana?
Yes, lands such as Reflecting Pool can produce colorless mana if a land you control could produce colorless mana. Additionally, any land with the ability to produce colorless mana can produce colorless mana.
8. Can cards with Devoid be used in a colorless commander deck?
No, devoid does not change a card’s “color identity”. Cards with devoid are still considered to have the colors of their mana cost and cannot be included in a truly colorless commander deck. The “color” of a card, and the “color identity” are two completely different things.
9. Does colorless mana count towards sunburst?
No, colorless mana does not count towards sunburst. Sunburst cares about the number of colors used to pay a spell’s cost. Colorless is not considered a color and will not count toward sunburst.
10. Can a colorless artifact be a commander?
Yes, legendary artifact creatures that are colorless can be used as commanders, such as the Eldrazi titans. There are many other examples of colorless legendary creatures that could fill this role.
11. Can exotic orchard tap for colorless mana?
No, Exotic Orchard cannot tap for colorless mana, even if an opponent controls a land that could produce colorless mana. It only produces mana of the colors that a land an opponent controls could produce.
12. Can you use Mox Amber to generate colorless mana?
No, Mox Amber only produces mana of the colors of legendary creatures you control. If you control only colorless legendary creatures or no legendary creatures, you will not produce any mana. Colorless is not a color.
13. Can arcane signet produce colorless mana?
Generally, Arcane Signet can only produce mana of the colors of your commander. However, some unique interactions may allow it to produce colorless mana in certain circumstances. This would need to be clarified in the specific circumstances.
14. Does colorless count as monocolor?
No, colorless does not count as monocolor. Monocolored refers to having exactly one color, white, blue, black, red, or green. Colorless is not one of these colors.
15. Can evolving wilds tap for colorless mana?
No, Evolving Wilds does not produce mana by itself. It allows you to sacrifice itself and search for a basic land. However, If you combine it with a card that allows lands to tap for colorless mana, it may be able to.
Conclusion
Understanding the difference between colorless and generic mana, and the limitations of colorless mana, is essential for mastering Magic: The Gathering. While it cannot substitute for colored mana, it still plays a significant role in various strategies. By mastering the nuances of colorless mana, you’ll be better equipped to build more potent decks and execute winning strategies.