Can Command Tower Add Colorless Mana? Unraveling the Mystery
No, Command Tower cannot tap for colorless mana in most official Magic: The Gathering formats, specifically Commander. Command Tower is designed to produce mana of a color that matches the color identity of your commander. Colorless is not a color, therefore Command Tower generally cannot produce colorless mana. There are specific edge cases that allow it to, which we’ll cover, and it’s important to distinguish the official rules from house rules, where your playgroup can choose to allow it. Understanding this distinction is crucial for navigating the nuances of Magic: The Gathering.
Unpacking the Color Identity Rule
The restriction on Command Tower stems directly from the color identity rule in Commander. This rule dictates that a card’s color identity is determined by the mana symbols in its mana cost and rules text. Since Command Tower’s text specifies producing mana of a color shared by your commander, and colorless is not a color, it cannot produce colorless mana.
However, there are exceptions. If your commander has no color identity (like the planeswalker Karn, Liberated), or if you are playing a format where there is no Commander present, and your playgroup allows it, then Command Tower can be included in your deck, but it still can’t tap for mana unless a house rule is in place. This is because it’s designed to tap for a color shared by the Commander, and without one, it has no color to generate.
Command Tower Nuances and Exceptions
The crucial point to remember is that Magic: The Gathering has both official rulings and social contracts. Official rulings are enforced in tournament settings and sanctioned play, while social contracts are agreements made within a playgroup for casual games. If your playgroup agrees that Command Tower should tap for colorless, that’s perfectly acceptable within that context.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Colorless Mana and Command Tower
Let’s delve into some common questions surrounding colorless mana and Command Tower:
1. Can I Use Any Mana to Pay Colorless Mana Costs?
Prior to Eldritch Moon, this was often assumed to be the case, but the introduction of the colorless mana symbol (◊) clarified the rules. While generic mana costs (represented by a number within a circle) can be paid with any type of mana (colored or colorless), the colorless mana symbol (◊) specifically requires colorless mana. Older cards that produced colorless mana were updated in their Oracle text to use the (◊) symbol to align with this rule.
2. Can a Treasure Token Make Colorless Mana?
No, Treasure tokens cannot be tapped to produce colorless mana directly. Treasure tokens can be sacrificed to add one mana of any color to your mana pool. They can also be used to pay generic costs. They cannot produce (◊).
3. What Is the Point of Colorless Mana?
Colorless mana serves several purposes. Primarily, it allows for the creation of powerful spells and abilities that aren’t tied to any specific color, often associated with Eldrazi creatures and artifacts. It provides a unique mechanic that diversifies gameplay and offers a different strategic approach. Colorless mana is also strategically useful in decks built around cards such as Eldrazi Displacer, which specifically require colorless mana in order to function.
4. Can Any Land Produce Colorless Mana?
Many lands can produce colorless mana. Lands like Wastes are basic lands that specifically produce only (◊). Other lands, such as Eldrazi Temple or Ancient Tomb, can also tap for (◊), offering colorless mana acceleration in your deck.
5. Does Colorless Mana Count as Devotion?
No, colorless mana does not count toward devotion to any color. Devotion only considers colored mana symbols present in the mana costs of permanents you control. Mana symbols within text boxes, like activation costs, also do not count. Only colored mana symbols contribute to devotion.
6. Can Exotic Orchard Tap for Colorless Mana?
No, Exotic Orchard can only tap for mana that could be produced by lands your opponents control and only the specific colors of mana. If an opponent controls a land that taps for (◊), Exotic Orchard still cannot. Exotic Orchard specifies colored mana only.
7. Why Are Eldrazi Colorless?
Eldrazi were designed to be alien and otherworldly beings, separate from the established five colors of magic. Making them colorless reinforces this thematic separation and emphasizes their unique role within the Magic: The Gathering universe.
8. Can I Use Any Mana for Eldrazi Displacer’s Ability?
To effectively use Eldrazi Displacer, you need to be able to produce colorless mana in your manabase to pay the ability’s activation cost. Generic mana costs can be paid with any color or colorless, however the colorless mana (◊) MUST be paid with colorless mana.
9. Does Morophon Reduce Colorless Mana Costs?
Morophon, the Boundless only reduces the amount of colored mana you pay, not colorless mana. This is a crucial distinction when building a deck around Morophon.
10. Can Chrome Mox Make Colorless Mana?
No, Chrome Mox can only produce mana of the imprinted card’s color. You can imprint a colorless card (like an Eldrazi), but the Chrome Mox will not produce any mana. Remember, colorless is not a color.
11. Can Reflecting Pool Produce Colorless Mana?
Yes, Reflecting Pool can produce colorless mana, but only if a land you control could produce colorless mana. It copies the mana-producing abilities of lands you control.
12. Is Mox Amber Banned in Commander?
Yes, Mox Amber is banned in Commander. Its ability to provide an early mana advantage in conjunction with a cheap commander was deemed too powerful, limiting strategic diversity and creating an imbalance in games. For more insights on similar topics, you can check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.
13. Can Fellwar Stone Tap for Colorless Mana?
No, Fellwar Stone can only tap for colors of mana that lands opponents control can make. It can’t tap for colorless even if an opponent has a land that produces colorless mana.
14. Can Jeweled Lotus Add Colorless?
Yes, Jeweled Lotus can add three mana of any one color in your commander’s color identity (or three colorless mana if your commander has no color identity).
15. Does Commander’s Plate Protect Against Colorless?
Yes, if your commander has no color identity (is colorless), Commander’s Plate will give it protection from all colors. This is because protection from a color means it can’t be damaged, enchanted, equipped, blocked, or targeted by something of that color.
The Bottom Line
While Command Tower’s primary function is to produce colored mana matching your commander’s identity, understanding the intricacies of colorless mana in Magic: The Gathering allows you to navigate specific card interactions and deck-building strategies more effectively. Always prioritize knowing the official rules for sanctioned play, but don’t hesitate to discuss house rules with your playgroup to create a more enjoyable and customized gaming experience.