Can copies of creatures transform?

Unveiling the Secrets: Can Copies of Creatures Transform in Magic: The Gathering?

The short answer is nuanced. It depends on whether the copy is itself a double-faced card. If the copy is a double-faced card, then yes, it can transform. If it’s not, then no, it cannot. This article will delve deep into the intricacies of copying and transforming in Magic: The Gathering (MTG), providing a comprehensive understanding of the rules and interactions involved.

Decoding Transformation and Copying

At its core, transformation in MTG is a mechanic associated with double-faced cards (DFCs). These cards have two distinct faces, each with its own set of characteristics – name, mana cost (on the front face), abilities, etc. A transformation effect flips the card over, revealing the other face.

Copying in MTG creates a new object that takes on the characteristics of an existing object. This can be a creature, a spell, or even a land. However, copying doesn’t necessarily duplicate everything about the original. Crucially, if the original object is a DFC, the copy’s ability to transform depends on whether the copy itself is a DFC.

The Crucial Distinction: Double-Faced Copies

If an effect specifically creates a token that is a copy of a transforming permanent, that token will be a transforming double-faced token. These tokens possess the same transformational capabilities as the original permanent.

However, if a card with a regular Magic back becomes a copy of a DFC, it will copy the characteristics of the face it’s instructed to copy (front or back), but it will not gain the ability to transform. This is because the physical card itself only has one face. Even if the card is a copy of the back face of a DFC, it still cannot transform. It simply remains a creature (or other permanent) with the copied characteristics.

FAQs: Mastering the Copy and Transform Mechanics

Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the interaction between copying and transforming in MTG:

1. If I copy a creature that can transform, does my copy also get summoning sickness after it transforms?

No. Transforming does not cause “summoning sickness.” If a creature has been under your control continuously since the beginning of your turn, it can still attack even if it transforms, as long as it transforms into a creature. The summoning sickness rule only applies when a creature enters the battlefield under your control.

2. What happens if I copy the back face of a DFC with a Clone?

If a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of the back face of a DFC (for example, Wildblood Pack), the Clone will be a copy of Wildblood Pack. However, because the Clone itself is not a double-faced card, it cannot transform. It remains a non-transforming copy of Wildblood Pack.

3. Can a token be a legendary creature, and what happens if I copy it?

A token can be legendary if the effect creating it specifically states that it’s legendary (e.g., a token created by a card like [[Kari Zev, Skyship Raider]]). It can also be legendary if it’s a token copy of a legendary permanent. If you copy a legendary token or a legendary permanent, the usual Legend Rule applies. If you control two or more legendary permanents with the same name, you must choose one to keep, and the others are put into their owner’s graveyards.

4. Do copies of creatures have abilities?

Yes, a copy acquires the abilities of the object it is copying. When a card becomes a copy, it takes on the characteristics of the original, and this includes its abilities. The copy doesn’t end up with two sets of abilities; it simply adopts the abilities defined in the copied card’s rules text.

5. If I copy a creature with Hexproof, does my copy also have Hexproof?

Yes. Hexproof is a copiable ability. When you copy a creature with Hexproof, your copy will also have Hexproof. However, it’s important to note that copy effects (like Clone) don’t target. This means you can copy an opponent’s creature with Hexproof (or Shroud) because the Clone ability isn’t targeting the creature being copied.

6. Can I copy a spell with Storm? Does the copy trigger Storm again?

Yes, a copy of a spell with Storm will itself have the Storm ability. However, copying the spell does not cause the Storm ability to trigger again. The Storm ability only triggers when a spell is cast. Copying a spell is distinct from casting it. The copies created by Storm do not trigger more Storm copies.

7. Do copies have a mana value?

Generally, if the mana cost is copiable, the mana value is copied as well. If the mana value cannot be copied, the mana value of the copy is 0. This is important for effects that care about mana value, such as cards that destroy permanents with a specific mana value.

8. Can I counter a copy of a spell? Is it a good idea?

Yes, you can counter a copy of a spell. Whether it’s a good idea depends on the situation. If your opponent casts an instant and then uses an ability to copy it, you can counter either the original spell or the copy. Often, countering the original is preferable because it prevents the copy from resolving as well. However, in some cases, countering the copy might be strategically advantageous (e.g., if the original spell is protected in some way).

9. Do copies of creatures copy counters on the original creature?

No. Counters are not copiable characteristics. When a creature becomes a copy of another creature, it copies the card as printed, without any counters that may be on the original.

10. Do copies of creatures add to my devotion?

Yes, copies add to your devotion as long as the copied card specifies that the copies have the mana cost of the original. Devotion counts the number of mana symbols of a particular color among the mana costs of permanents you control. So, if your copy has a mana cost (because it copied it from the original), it will contribute to your devotion.

11. Can I copy a legendary creature with Spark Double? What happens with the Legend Rule?

Spark Double can copy a legendary creature. However, Spark Double has a special ability that prevents it from being legendary if it copies a legendary permanent. This exception is copiable. So, if something else copies your Spark Double that’s copying a legendary creature, that new copy also won’t be legendary. This allows you to control multiple copies of the same legendary creature (via Spark Double and subsequent copies) without triggering the Legend Rule.

12. What happens if I copy a creature with protection from a certain color?

The copy will also have protection from that color. Protection means that the creature can’t be damaged by sources of that color, can’t be enchanted or equipped by permanents of that color, can’t be blocked by creatures of that color, and can’t be targeted by spells or abilities of that color.

13. If a creature I control becomes a copy of another creature, does it keep its equipment?

No, the creature will lose its equipment. When a creature becomes a copy of another creature, it takes on the characteristics of the copied creature. This means it loses any previous abilities, types, and other characteristics, including any equipment attached to it. The equipment will then be unattached and remain on the battlefield.

14. What is the difference between copying a spell and casting a spell?

Copying a spell involves creating a duplicate of the spell on the stack. Casting a spell involves taking a card from your hand, paying its mana cost, and putting it onto the stack. Casting a spell triggers abilities that trigger “when you cast a spell.” Copying a spell does not trigger those abilities. This is important for cards with abilities like Storm or Prowess.

15. Where can I learn more about Magic: The Gathering?

For more in-depth information about Magic: The Gathering, its rules, and its community, be sure to check out resources like the official Magic: The Gathering website, as well as educational platforms dedicated to understanding complex game mechanics. The Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org also offers valuable insights into game-based learning, including the strategic thinking involved in games like MTG.

Conclusion: Mastering the Art of Copying and Transforming

Understanding the nuances of copying and transforming in MTG is crucial for advanced gameplay. While a simple “yes” or “no” answer is rarely sufficient, knowing the intricacies of double-faced cards, copiable characteristics, and the distinctions between copying and casting allows you to leverage these mechanics to your advantage. Whether you’re cloning powerful creatures, circumventing hexproof, or triggering storm copies, mastering these rules unlocks a new level of strategic depth in your MTG games.

Leave a Comment