Can Enchantment Abilities Be Used as Instants? A Comprehensive Guide
Yes, the core answer is: enchantment abilities can indeed be used as instants in most cases. Like the activated abilities of creatures, lands, and artifacts, enchantment abilities can be used at instant speed unless the card text specifically states otherwise. This means you can activate them during your opponent’s turn, in response to spells and abilities, or at any time you have priority. Let’s delve deeper into this concept and explore related aspects of enchantment abilities and their interaction within the Magic: The Gathering (MTG) rules.
Understanding Activated Abilities
To understand how enchantment abilities work, it’s essential to grasp what constitutes an activated ability. In MTG, an activated ability is defined by a colon (:) in the card’s text. The text before the colon defines the cost required to use the ability, and the text after the colon explains the effect it produces.
For example, an enchantment with the text “{T}, Pay 1 life: Draw a card” possesses an activated ability. The cost to use it is to tap (indicated by {T}) the enchantment and pay one life, the effect is to draw a card. Crucially, if there are no restrictions in this text, it can be used at instant speed.
Instant Speed Explained
The phrase “instant speed” in MTG refers to the timing of when you can activate an ability or cast a spell. Unlike sorceries, which can only be cast during your main phase when the stack is empty, instants and activated abilities that can be used at instant speed can be activated at any point where you have priority. This includes:
- During your main phase.
- During your opponent’s main phase.
- During combat (both attacking and blocking).
- During the upkeep, draw, and end steps.
- In response to spells or other abilities being activated or triggered.
This flexibility makes instant speed abilities incredibly powerful for reacting to your opponent’s actions, disrupting their plans, and setting up powerful plays on your own turn.
Exceptions to the Rule
While most enchantment abilities function at instant speed, certain rules and cards can limit or modify this. It’s important to always carefully read the text of each individual card to be aware of such exceptions:
- Explicit Sorcery Speed: Some cards explicitly state that their activated ability can only be used as a sorcery, like the equip ability of an equipment artifact. For an enchantment, this restriction would be stated on the card text.
- Restrictions: Certain abilities may impose conditions or costs that must be met. For example, a card could require that the enchantment be untapped or that you control another specific type of card.
- Timing Restrictions: Some enchantments may have abilities that trigger under specific conditions or during a specific time during a game turn, these are normally triggered abilities instead of activated abilities.
- Grand Abolisher: Cards like Grand Abolisher prevent your opponent from using instant speed abilities or casting instants during your turn.
Understanding the Stack
When you activate an enchantment ability (or cast an instant), it goes onto the stack. The stack is essentially a zone in the game that holds spells and abilities until they are resolved. When something is placed on the stack, it doesn’t automatically happen; it waits for both players to pass priority. This allows players to react to what is on the stack with their own instants or activated abilities.
- The last item placed onto the stack resolves first, unless it is countered or otherwise removed.
- The stack is used to determine the order in which spells and abilities resolve.
- If you want to use an enchantment ability in response to something, that ability is added to the stack and the item on the stack will only resolve once that ability has resolved.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 common questions regarding enchantment abilities and how they interact within the rules of MTG.
1. Are enchantments considered spells or abilities when they are in play?
Enchantments in play are permanents, not spells or abilities. While they are spells during the casting process (on the stack), once they resolve and enter the battlefield, they transition to becoming permanents with various effects and possible activated abilities.
2. Do enchantments have summoning sickness?
Enchantments by themselves do not have summoning sickness. Only creatures, artifact creatures, land creatures, planeswalker creatures and enchantment creatures are affected by summoning sickness if they are controlled by a player at the start of their turn.
3. Can you use enchantment abilities on your opponent’s turn?
Yes, you can, unless the enchantment’s ability specifically states otherwise. If the ability can be used at instant speed, it can be used on any player’s turn provided the player activating the ability has priority.
4. Do enchantment abilities go on the stack?
Yes, just like instants and other activated abilities, enchantment abilities are placed on the stack once they are activated. They resolve only after the player’s who activated them passes the priority and everyone else in the game does as well or after the stack has been responded to.
5. Can enchantment abilities be responded to?
Absolutely. Since they go on the stack, enchantment abilities can be responded to by other activated abilities, instant spells, or triggered abilities that may trigger.
6. What happens if an enchantment with a tap ability is summoned on my turn?
If an enchantment has a tap ability, it can use that ability immediately if it has any other tap requirements (e.g tapping another card to use it). If the only cost is tapping the enchantment itself, it can not be used the turn it came into play. This is an example of a non-creature permanent being affected by summoning sickness.
7. Can you use an enchantment ability to respond to a triggered ability?
Yes, as long as it is an activated ability that can be used at instant speed, an enchantment ability can respond to a triggered ability, interrupting its effects or causing other effects.
8. Are enchantment auras different?
Auras are a type of enchantment that enters the battlefield attached to a specific type of permanent (or player). Auras have the special rule (rule 303.4f) that they may enter the battlefield attached to something in play, and that they will get attached to the selected object on the battlefield when they enter without being cast.
9. Can enchantments be played on your opponent’s turn?
Enchantments without the type “Aura” can only be cast during your main phase when the stack is empty, just like sorceries. Aura enchantments may be played from the hand only during your main phase, but may also enter the battlefield using other cards which specify they will enter the battlefield attached to something if they don’t enter the battlefield as a spell from your hand.
10. What is the role of priority in activating enchantment abilities?
A player must have priority to activate an enchantment ability. Priority is how the game ensures that only one player is acting at a time, and if the current player on priority chooses to pass priority, the next player in turn order may act. If everyone passes in succession, the top item of the stack will resolve.
11. Do enchantments affect ability damage?
Some specific enchantments can affect ability damage, but not all of them. Always refer to the card’s text to know how it functions. There may be enchantments that will boost or lower ability damage, however.
12. Can you activate multiple enchantment abilities at once?
If you have multiple enchantments with abilities you want to activate, you can activate multiple of them in succession, placing them on the stack one after another, as long as you have the priority. You would still resolve them one at a time.
13. What is the difference between activated and triggered abilities on an enchantment?
Activated abilities have a cost that you pay to use (like tapping or paying mana), while triggered abilities occur automatically under certain conditions (like “at the beginning of your upkeep”).
14. Can a card’s activated ability with a “sorcery speed” restriction be used on your opponent’s turn?
No. If the card specifies it can only be activated as a sorcery, then it can only be activated during your main phase when the stack is empty. This limitation applies regardless of the card type.
15. Can enchantments tap in Magic: The Gathering?
Yes, enchantments can tap unless otherwise stated or implied on the card text. There is no general rule restriction preventing enchantments from tapping. There are even some enchantments that do have tap abilities in the game.
Conclusion
Enchantment abilities, when activated, can be incredibly versatile because many of them can be used at instant speed. Remember to always check the specific card text for any exceptions to this rule. Understanding how activated abilities work, how they interact with the stack, and when they can be activated will significantly enhance your gameplay in MTG. By mastering these concepts, you can take full advantage of the strategic depth that enchantment abilities provide.