Mastering Magic and Melee: The Spellcasting and Attack Conundrum in RPGs
Can you cast a spell then attack? The short answer is: it depends. In most tabletop role-playing games (TTRPGs), like Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) 5th Edition, the interaction between casting spells and making attacks is governed by specific action economy rules. Generally, you can’t simply cast any spell and then attack in the same turn, but there are exceptions and nuances to understand. Let’s dive into the details.
Understanding the Action Economy
The action economy dictates what you can do on your turn in combat. In D&D 5e, for example, a typical turn consists of an Action, a Bonus Action, a Reaction, and movement. Casting a spell and attacking are both actions, meaning you generally have to choose between them.
The Key Rule: One Action, One Choice
The core principle is this: Most characters can only perform one action during their turn. If you use your action to cast a powerful spell, that usually means you can’t also use that action to make an attack. This is to maintain balance and prevent spellcasters from becoming overwhelmingly powerful.
Exceptions to the Rule
However, certain abilities, spells, and class features can alter this dynamic. These exceptions are crucial for optimizing your character’s effectiveness. Here’s a breakdown:
- Bonus Action Spells: Some spells have a casting time of one bonus action. If you cast such a spell, you can still use your action to attack. However, there’s a catch: if you cast a spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast on that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
- Extra Attack: This class feature, typically available to fighters, paladins, rangers, and barbarians, allows you to make multiple attacks with your action instead of just one. However, casting a spell is not taking the attack action, so Extra Attack doesn’t apply to spellcasting.
- Action Surge: The fighter’s Action Surge feature grants you an additional action on your turn. This means you could potentially cast a spell and then use your second action to attack, or even cast two spells (subject to the bonus action spell restriction mentioned above).
- Spiritual Weapon: This spell creates a spectral weapon that you can attack with as a bonus action. This allows you to cast a spell with your action and then attack with the spiritual weapon as a bonus action.
- Specific Class Features: Some subclasses or feats might grant unique abilities that allow you to combine spellcasting and attacking in ways not normally possible. Always check the specific wording of these features.
The Importance of Cantrips
Cantrips are spells that can be cast at will, without expending spell slots. They are often weaker than higher-level spells but can be cast repeatedly. Because of the bonus action spell restriction, cantrips are often the only spells you can cast if you’ve already used your bonus action to cast another spell.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can you cast a spell and then use Extra Attack?
No, you cannot. Extra Attack requires you to take the Attack action, and casting a spell is not the Attack action. Extra Attack specifically modifies the Attack action, allowing you to make multiple attacks when you take that action.
2. Can you cast a spell then attack as a bonus action?
Yes, you can, if you have a feature or ability that allows you to make an attack as a bonus action. For example, the Spiritual Weapon spell allows you to attack with the weapon as a bonus action after casting the spell (or any other action) during your turn. There is no rule that prevents you from taking the Attack action on the same turn you cast a bonus action spell, provided you can actually take the Attack action using your bonus action (like with abilities or items).
3. Can you cast a spell and then move in 5e?
Yes! You can move before, after, or even between casting a spell, as long as you have movement speed remaining. Casting a spell is not part of your movement; they are separate components of your turn.
4. Can you cast a spell and a reaction spell in the same turn?
This is where things get tricky. You can cast a reaction spell on your turn if a trigger occurs. The commonly accepted interpretation is that you cannot cast a bonus action spell and a reaction spell on your turn. Of course, on someone else’s turn, the Bonus Action rule doesn’t apply at all.
5. Can you cast more than one spell per round?
It’s possible, but heavily restricted. You can only cast two leveled spells in the same turn if one of them is cast as a bonus action. In that case, the other spell must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
6. Can you cast a spell then rage?
Generally, yes. You can cast a concentration spell and then rage, and the spell will stay up unless you lose concentration. However, you cannot cast spells while raging. So, you need to cast the spell before entering the rage.
7. Can I action surge and cast a spell?
Yes. Action Surge grants you an additional action. You can use this additional action to cast another spell, attack, or take any other action you are capable of performing. Remember the bonus action spell limitations, though!
8. Can you cast spells before damage is dealt?
In most cases, yes, but not during the damage step itself. In D&D, for example, combat is turn-based, and players can take actions, including casting spells, before damage is dealt. There is no “stack” like in Magic: The Gathering.
9. What are the rules for casting spell scrolls?
Casting a spell from a scroll requires the spell’s normal casting time. Once cast, the scroll is consumed. If the casting is interrupted, the scroll is not lost. Using a spell scroll still adheres to the bonus action spell rule.
10. Can you cast a spell and use Spiritual Weapon?
Yes! You cast the Spiritual Weapon spell as an action, and then you can move and attack with the spiritual weapon as a bonus action on subsequent turns. This is a classic example of combining spellcasting and attacking.
11. Can you cast 2 Cantrips in one turn?
Yes, with a caveat. The primary restriction is the bonus action spell rule: if you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of one action. Thus, one of them needs to be cast as a bonus action and the other one as your action.
12. Can you use a cantrip and bonus action attack?
You can certainly cast a bonus action spell, and then use your action to cast a cantrip or attack, but casting a cantrip with a casting time of “1 bonus action” should still trigger the normal limitations for bonus action spells: you could only follow it up with a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
13. Can you dual wield and cast spells?
You can cast spells while wielding a weapon with both hands just fine as long as the spell doesn’t have a Material or Focus component and you lack the War Caster feat. If the spell requires material or focus, you need a free hand or the War Caster feat to bypass this requirement.
14. Can you use Multiattack with spells?
No. Multiattack is a specific action that allows certain creatures (usually monsters) to make multiple attacks with their weapons as part of a single action. Casting a spell is a separate action.
15. What is the spellcasting restriction in 5e?
The key spellcasting restriction is that if you cast a spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast on that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This rule prevents characters from casting two powerful spells in a single turn without the use of features like Action Surge.
In Conclusion
Mastering the interplay between spellcasting and attacking is essential for effective character building and tactical combat in TTRPGs. Understanding the action economy, recognizing exceptions to the rules, and carefully planning your actions will empower you to make the most of your character’s abilities. Remember to always check the specific rules of your chosen game system and consult with your game master for any clarifications. And for further learning and exploration of game-based learning principles, be sure to visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.