Can I cast two cantrips in one turn?

Can I Cast Two Cantrips in One Turn? A Comprehensive Guide

The short answer is: Yes, you can cast two cantrips in one turn, but with significant limitations. The ability to sling multiple cantrips in a single round isn’t a standard action, but rather a specific outcome of particular circumstances. The rules surrounding spellcasting, especially those involving bonus actions, can be a bit tricky, leading to common confusion among players. Let’s delve into the specifics and clear up any misunderstandings about cantrip casting.

Understanding the Core Rules

The fundamental rule to grasp is that casting a spell, including a cantrip, typically requires an action. This means that, on your turn, if you choose to use your action to cast a cantrip, that’s usually your spellcasting limit for that turn, with one crucial exception. That exception revolves around the use of a bonus action to cast a spell.

If you cast any spell as a bonus action, a specific restriction kicks in: the only other spell you can cast that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action. This is where the possibility of two cantrips in a turn becomes feasible.

How to Cast Two Cantrips

Here’s a simple breakdown of how you can achieve this:

  1. Bonus Action Spell: You need a way to cast a spell as a bonus action. This is most commonly achieved through class features like the Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell Metamagic or certain spells that have a bonus action casting time.
  2. Action Cantrip: Once you’ve cast the bonus action spell, you then use your action to cast a cantrip.

Let’s illustrate with an example. A Sorcerer could use their Quickened Spell Metamagic to turn a leveled spell into a bonus action cast. They would then use their action to cast a cantrip such as Fire Bolt or Ray of Frost. This way, two spells are cast on the same turn. But importantly, in this scenario, only one of these spells can be a cantrip.

Key Takeaways

  • Casting a spell with an action means you can’t typically cast another spell, leveled or cantrip, in the same turn.
  • You can only cast two spells (including cantrips) in the same turn if one is a bonus action spell and the other is an action cantrip.
  • The ability to cast a spell as a bonus action is usually linked to class features, specific spells, or feats.
  • There is no way to cast two cantrips as actions, as your action cannot cast more than one spell at a time.

15 Frequently Asked Questions about Cantrip Casting

Here are 15 frequently asked questions (FAQs) that further clarify the rules surrounding cantrip casting:

1. Can I cast two cantrips using the Attack action?

No. You cannot cast two cantrips using the Attack action. Casting a cantrip requires the Cast a Spell action. While some cantrips like Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade incorporate an attack as part of their effect, they still require the Cast a Spell action, not the Attack action. The rule of one action = one spell remains in place.

2. Can I use the Haste spell to cast two cantrips?

No. The Haste spell grants you an additional action, but this action can only be used for specific actions, such as the Attack action, the Dash action, or the Hide action. Casting a spell with Haste’s extra action is not permitted, therefore, you cannot cast an additional cantrip.

3. Can I cast two different cantrips in one turn?

Yes, assuming one is cast as a bonus action. If you use a feature like Quickened Spell to cast a spell as a bonus action, you are free to cast any cantrip you know that has a casting time of one action on that turn. The choice of cantrip you use is not limited by the bonus action spell you cast.

4. Can I twin a cantrip and then cast another cantrip?

Yes, but not as actions. A Sorcerer with Twinned Spell Metamagic can target two different creatures with one cantrip using an action. However, this action cantrip is still the only spell you can cast that turn through an action. To cast a second spell, it must be cast as a bonus action (with the normal restrictions in place.) Thus you could not twin a cantrip and then use an action to cast a different cantrip.

5. Can I cast two Eldritch Blasts in one turn?

No, not by default. Since Eldritch Blast has a casting time of one action, you can only cast it once per turn using your action. To cast it twice, you would need to cast it with a bonus action using Quickened Spell (or similar feature). In that case, the spell cast through the use of the standard action must be a cantrip, but it doesn’t have to be Eldritch Blast.

6. Are cantrips considered free spells?

Yes. Cantrips are considered “free” in the sense that they can be cast at will and do not require spell slots. They represent the basic level of magic a spellcaster knows, capable of being used repeatedly.

7. Do I need a free hand to cast a cantrip?

Generally yes, but with caveats. A spellcaster needs a free hand to access a spell’s material components or a spellcasting focus. However, the same hand used for material components can also perform somatic components. Most cantrips only have verbal and somatic components. If your cantrip has a material component or if you use a spellcasting focus, you’ll need a free hand. However, if the spell only requires somatic components, you can use a shield or weapon, if you possess the War Caster Feat.

8. Can I cast cantrips during a long rest?

Yes, but with care. You can cast cantrips during a long rest, but spending more than an hour casting spells prevents you from benefiting from that long rest. It only takes a single cantrip if you pass that threshold, spoiling the entire rest.

9. Do cantrips count as spell attacks?

Yes. Cantrips benefit from spell attack modifiers, using your spellcasting modifier (Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma) plus your proficiency bonus for the attack roll. The actual damage of a cantrip is not impacted by your spellcasting modifier, however.

10. Can I cast a cantrip as a bonus action?

Yes, but not by default. Cantrips normally require an action. However, class features like the Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell allow you to cast a cantrip (or any spell) with a casting time of 1 action as a bonus action.

11. Can you rage and cast cantrips?

No. Barbarian’s can’t cast spells while raging, which includes cantrips. You must cease raging in order to cast cantrips.

12. Can I use a shield and cast cantrips?

Yes. The somatic component of a cantrip requires a free hand. You can perform this action with the same hand you use to hold a spellcasting focus, meaning if the cantrip lacks a material component, you are able to cast with a hand holding a shield. You can also do this if you take the War Caster feat, which lets you ignore the need for a free hand.

13. Can Counterspell stop cantrips?

No. The spell Counterspell only works on spells of 1st level or higher, meaning it can’t be used to stop cantrips. However, specific class features or feats such as Clever Counterspell allow you to counter a cantrip by expending a leveled spell of appropriate level.

14. Are cantrips worth using?

Yes, absolutely. Cantrips offer reliable damage and utility without using spell slots. They are the baseline offense of a spellcaster and should be used frequently. Your higher-level spells are meant for bigger encounters and should be used sparingly.

15. Do cantrips have cooldowns?

No. Cantrips do not have cooldowns or a recharge time. You can cast them as often as you can use a casting time (usually one action). They’re intended to be used at will.

Conclusion

While the idea of slinging multiple cantrips may seem like a straightforward concept, the rules surrounding casting spells, bonus actions, and specific class features add layers of complexity. By understanding the core principle of one spell per action, and how bonus actions interact with cantrip casting, you can make informed decisions and fully utilize your character’s magical abilities. Remember, the key to casting two cantrips in a single turn always relies on casting a spell as a bonus action first. Now, go forth and weave your magic!

Leave a Comment