Can I equip during combat phase?

Can I Equip During Combat Phase in Magic: The Gathering?

Absolutely not, in almost all cases. The vast majority of equipment in Magic: The Gathering cannot be equipped during the combat phase. The equip ability is generally a sorcery-speed action, meaning it can only be activated during your main phase when the stack is empty. However, as with most things in Magic, there are exceptions, typically involving cards with abilities that allow instant-speed attachment. Let’s delve into the intricacies of equipping artifacts in the heat of battle.

The General Rule: Sorcery Speed

Understanding Equip Ability

The equip ability is an activated ability found on equipment cards. It allows you to attach that equipment to a creature you control. The standard wording is “Equip [Cost]”, which translates to “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control.”

The critical part here is the activation timing. By default, the equip ability can only be activated when you could cast a sorcery, meaning during your main phase, when the stack is empty, and you have priority. This restriction prevents you from reactively equipping in response to your opponent’s actions during combat.

Why Sorcery Speed Matters

This restriction introduces a strategic element. You must anticipate the board state and equip creatures before combat begins to gain an advantage. It prevents you from equipping an equipment to a creature after blockers have been declared to, say, give it trample to push through damage.

The Exceptions: Instant-Speed Equip

Cards That Break the Mold

There are a few cards that allow you to equip at instant speed, circumventing the standard rule. Cranial Plating is perhaps the most notorious example. It can be attached as an instant by paying an alternate cost. These exceptions are specifically worded on the card itself, so always read the card carefully.

Understanding Alternate Costs

These cards often have an alternate cost associated with their instant-speed equip ability. This cost might be mana, life, tapping creatures, or any combination thereof. The alternate cost must be paid in order to use the ability at instant speed.

Equipping After Blockers Are Declared

Absolutely, you can equip after blockers are declared. After blockers are declared, both players have to pass priority before the damage step(s). This gives players the chance to cast instant spells or activate abilities like equipping, as long as it is legal and it meets the requirements.

FAQs: Equipping Equipment in Magic: The Gathering

1. Can I equip during my opponent’s turn?

Normally, no. The equip ability is restricted to your main phase. However, if you have an equipment with an ability that allows you to equip at instant speed, you can do so during your opponent’s turn, following the rules for activating abilities.

2. Can I equip equipment to my opponent’s creatures?

Generally, no. The equip ability specifically targets a creature you control. However, there might be unusual scenarios involving control-changing effects or specific card interactions that could indirectly result in your equipment being attached to an opponent’s creature.

3. What happens when an equipped creature leaves the battlefield?

Unlike Auras, when an equipped creature leaves the battlefield, the equipment remains on the battlefield, unattached. It’s then available to be equipped to another creature you control during your main phase, or instantly if the equipment has an instant equip ability.

4. Is equipping an activated ability?

Yes, equipping is an activated ability. Activated abilities are those that require a cost to be paid (mana, tapping, etc.) to produce an effect. The equip ability requires you to pay the equip cost to attach the equipment to a creature.

5. Can I unequip equipment at instant speed?

No, you cannot simply unequip equipment at instant speed, unless a specific card ability allows it. You can, however, move the equipment to another creature you control at sorcery speed, paying the equip cost for the new creature.

6. Can I equip the same creature with multiple equipment?

Yes, you can equip the same creature with multiple equipment, as long as there are no restrictions preventing it. Some equipment might have effects that limit the number of equipment a creature can have, but otherwise, you are free to stack up the equipment.

7. Does equipment have summoning sickness?

No, equipment does not have summoning sickness. Only creatures are affected by summoning sickness. Once an equipment enters the battlefield, you can immediately use its activated abilities (if any) or equip it to a creature that doesn’t have summoning sickness.

8. Can I activate other abilities during combat?

Yes, you can activate abilities during combat, as long as they are instant-speed or don’t require sorcery-speed timing. This includes abilities on creatures, artifacts, enchantments, or even lands, as long as the cost can be paid and the timing is legal.

9. What is the equip rule in magic?

The equip rule in Magic: The Gathering governs how equipment is attached to creatures. It is an activated ability that can only be used at sorcery speed, allowing you to pay a cost to attach an equipment to a creature you control. Control of the creature matters only when the equip ability is activated and resolves.

10. Is equipping a targeting ability?

Yes, equipping is a targeting ability. When you activate the equip ability, you must choose a target creature you control to attach the equipment to. This means the ability can be countered by spells or abilities that counter targeted abilities.

11. Can you equip equipment in magic?

Yes, you can re-equip it to another creature simply by paying the equip cost. In fact, you don’t even need to wait for the equipment to fall off a creature, you can move it between creatures — at sorcery speed. ‘Sorcery speed’ means only during your turn, during a Main Phase, while the ‘stack’ is empty.

12. What is the rule for activated abilities in Magic The Gathering?

Activated abilities are those that you pay some cost to make the effect happen (whether that be tapping it, paying mana, sacrificing a creature, wwhatever. These don’t just happen on their own; some has to decide to make it happen.

13. What is Rule 9 in magic?

  1. Don’t be needy. This is an odd one to find in the top 10 rules, but like Rule #8 we need to remember that as magicians we are meant to be entertaining our audiences; they are not meant to be entertaining (tolerating) us.

14. Does the activated ability rule apply when equipping?

Yes, the activated ability rule applies when equipping. Equipping is an activated ability, meaning you must pay the specified cost (usually mana) to activate it. You can only activate it if you have priority and are able to pay the cost.

15. What do I do if I am unsure about the equipment rules?

If you’re unsure about the rules for equipping or any other aspect of Magic: The Gathering, consult the comprehensive rules on the Magic: The Gathering website. The comprehensive rules cover every aspect of the game in detail, ensuring clarity and consistency. Additionally, consider exploring resources like the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org for insights into the educational aspects and strategic depth of the game. These resources can provide a deeper understanding of the rules and help you improve your gameplay.

Leave a Comment