Can I tap a creature to crew a vehicle on the turn it comes out?

Can I tap a creature to crew a vehicle on the turn it comes out?

The answer to this question is yes, you can tap a creature to crew a vehicle on the turn it comes out, as crew is an activated ability of Vehicle cards that allows you to tap any number of other untapped creatures you control with total power equal to or greater than the card’s Crew value. This means that as long as you have sufficient power to crew the vehicle, you can do so even on the same turn the creature was played, as the summoning sickness rule does not apply to crew abilities.

Understanding Crew Abilities

To better understand how crew abilities work, it’s essential to know the rules surrounding Vehicles and creatures.

Crewing Vehicles

Crewing a Vehicle card requires tapping a number of creatures with total power equal to or greater than the card’s Crew value. This turns the Vehicle into an artifact creature until the end of the turn.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Can you crew a vehicle the turn it comes out? – Yes, you can crew a vehicle the turn it comes out, as the summoning sickness rule only prevents creatures from attacking or using tap abilities, but does not prevent them from being used to crew a Vehicle.
  2. Can you tap a creature the turn it comes out? – No, a creature with summoning sickness cannot be tapped for mana or other tap abilities, but it can be used to crew a Vehicle.
  3. Can you crew a vehicle that is a creature? – Yes, you can crew a Vehicle even if it is already an artifact creature, as the crew ability does not change its power and toughness.
  4. Can you tap a creature with summoning sickness to crew a vehicle? – Yes, a creature can be used to crew a Vehicle even if it has summoning sickness, as the crew ability is not a tap ability of the creature.
  5. What is crew?Crew is an activated ability of Vehicle cards that allows you to tap any number of other untapped creatures you control with total power equal to or greater than the card’s Crew value.
  6. How does crewing Vehicles work in MTG? – To crew a Vehicle card, you must tap a number of creatures with total power equal to or greater than the card’s Crew value, turning the Vehicle into an artifact creature until the end of the turn.
  7. Do you have to tap creatures to crew? – Yes, you must tap creatures to crew a Vehicle, but you cannot partially pay for the crew ability – if something has a crew cost of 3, you have to tap at least 3 power worth of creatures to activate the ability.
  8. Can you crew Vehicles at instant speed? – Yes, you can crew Vehicles at instant speed, but you must do so before the declare blockers step.
  9. Can you crew a vehicle multiple times in a turn? – Yes, Vehicles can be crewed even if they have already been turned into a creature, as long as you have sufficient power to crew them.
  10. Can you crew two Vehicles with one creature? – No, unless you can untap the creature, you cannot use it to crew another Vehicle.
  11. What are the rules for summoning sickness?Summoning sickness is a term used to describe a creature that has just been played on the battlefield, and because of this, it can’t attack or use a tap ability.
  12. Does blinking cause summoning sickness? – Yes, blinking will cause summoning sickness on your opponent’s turn, but the creature will not have summoning sickness on your next turn.
  13. Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped? – No, you cannot respond to the tap of a creature.
  14. Can you tap vehicles to crew? – Yes, you can crew a tapped or untapped Vehicle, but you cannot “bring it into combat” as a tapped creature cannot attack or block.
  15. Do vehicles untap at the end of turn? – No, Vehicles remain tapped once they are tapped, and they will not untap until the next untap phase.

Leave a Comment