Can Monster Reborn Revive a Ritual Monster?
Yes, Monster Reborn can revive a Ritual Monster, but only if that Ritual Monster was properly Ritual Summoned first. This is a crucial distinction that applies to all Special Summon monsters, including Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, Link, and Pendulum Monsters. If a Ritual Monster is sent to the Graveyard without being properly Ritual Summoned first (for example, by discarding it, or by being sent from the Deck to the Graveyard), it cannot be revived by Monster Reborn or any similar effect.
Understanding Proper Summoning Mechanics
To understand why this restriction exists, we need to delve into the fundamental rules governing Special Summoning in the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG. The official rules state that any Special Summon monster must first be Special Summoned properly according to its summoning method before it can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or banished zone via other card effects like Monster Reborn. This rule is in place to prevent players from bypassing the intended summoning conditions of powerful monsters.
The Ritual Summoning Process
A Ritual Summon requires a specific Ritual Spell Card, a Ritual Monster Card, and enough Tributes from the field or hand to match or exceed the Level of the Ritual Monster. The process involves activating the Ritual Spell Card, Tributing the required monsters, and then Special Summoning the Ritual Monster from your hand. This process establishes that the Ritual Monster was properly Summoned, fulfilling the prerequisite for future revival.
What Constitutes a “Proper” Summon?
A “proper” summon means the monster was summoned by following the specific instructions outlined in its card text and any associated Spell Cards. For a Ritual Monster, this means successfully resolving the Ritual Spell Card and Special Summoning the Ritual Monster to the field. If the Ritual Summon is negated (e.g., by Solemn Judgment), or if the Ritual Monster is sent to the Graveyard without ever hitting the field via a successful Ritual Summon, it is NOT considered properly Summoned.
The Graveyard’s Memory
The Graveyard, in Yu-Gi-Oh!, essentially “remembers” how a monster was sent there. If a monster was properly Special Summoned beforehand, the Graveyard acknowledges that and allows for its revival. However, if a monster was directly sent to the Graveyard (or banished) without being properly Special Summoned first, the Graveyard does not allow revival via cards like Monster Reborn.
Examples and Scenarios
To illustrate the concept further, let’s consider some specific scenarios:
-
Scenario 1: Successful Ritual Summon: You Ritual Summon “Magician of Black Chaos” using the Ritual Spell Card “Black Magic Ritual”. Magician of Black Chaos is then destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard. In this case, Monster Reborn can revive Magician of Black Chaos because it was properly Ritual Summoned.
-
Scenario 2: Ritual Summon Negated: You attempt to Ritual Summon “Magician of Black Chaos”, but your opponent activates “Solemn Judgment” to negate the Ritual Summon and destroy the “Black Magic Ritual”. Magician of Black Chaos is sent to the Graveyard. In this case, Monster Reborn cannot revive Magician of Black Chaos because the Ritual Summon was negated and it was never properly summoned.
-
Scenario 3: Card Destruction Effect: You have “Magician of Black Chaos” in your hand. Your opponent activates “Dark Hole”. Because Magician of Black Chaos was never ritual summoned, it cannot be revived because it was not properly summoned.
-
Scenario 4: Foolish Burial: You use “Foolish Burial” to send “Relinquished” from your Deck to the Graveyard. In this case, Monster Reborn cannot revive “Relinquished” because it was never Ritual Summoned.
Beyond Monster Reborn: Other Revival Cards
The restriction regarding proper summoning applies to most, but not all, revival cards. Some cards, specifically designed for specific monster types, may have exceptions. However, generic revival cards like Monster Reborn, Call of the Haunted, and Back to the Front generally adhere to the “proper summoning” rule. It is always crucial to carefully read the card text of any revival card to understand its specific limitations and capabilities. Cards such as “Trias Hierarchia” special summon monsters without following summoning conditions.
FAQs: Ritual Monster Revival
Here are some frequently asked questions related to reviving Ritual Monsters, providing even more clarity on the subject:
1. What happens if a Ritual Monster is sent to the Extra Deck face-up?
If a Ritual Monster is sent to the Extra Deck face-up (for example, by a card effect like “PSY-Framelord Omega”), the same rules apply. It can only be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck if it was properly Ritual Summoned first.
2. Can I use “Pre-Preparation of Rites” to search for a Ritual Monster if I haven’t Ritual Summoned it yet?
Yes, “Pre-Preparation of Rites” can be used to search for a Ritual Spell Card and a Ritual Monster Card, regardless of whether the Ritual Monster has been Ritual Summoned or not. The condition for using “Pre-Preparation of Rites” is simply that the Ritual Spell Card mentions the Ritual Monster’s name.
3. If I use “Advanced Ritual Art” to send Normal Monsters from my Deck to the Graveyard for a Ritual Summon, can I revive those Normal Monsters later?
Yes, sending Normal Monsters from your Deck to the Graveyard using “Advanced Ritual Art” does not prevent you from reviving them later with cards like “Monster Reborn”, as long as they were legally placed in the deck.
4. Does the proper summoning rule apply to Ritual Monsters with alternative summoning conditions?
Yes, the “proper summoning” rule applies even to Ritual Monsters with alternative summoning conditions (e.g., those that can be Ritual Summoned using specific monsters as Tributes). If the alternative method is used, the Ritual Monster is considered properly summoned and can be revived later.
5. What if a Ritual Monster is returned to the hand after being Ritual Summoned?
Returning a Ritual Monster to the hand after it has been properly Ritual Summoned does not negate the fact that it was properly summoned. You can Ritual Summon it again later, following the normal Ritual Summoning procedures.
6. If a Ritual Monster is flipped face-down after being properly Ritual Summoned, does that affect its ability to be revived?
No, flipping a Ritual Monster face-down does not affect its status as being properly summoned. It can still be revived from the Graveyard later, assuming it is sent there.
7. Can I use “Polymerization” to Fusion Summon a Ritual Monster that is also a Fusion Monster?
Some Ritual Monsters, like the “Magician of Black Chaos MAX”, can be Fusion Summoned as well as Ritual Summoned. If you properly Fusion Summon it using Polymerization, it is considered properly summoned and can be revived from the Graveyard.
8. Does banishing a Ritual Monster after it has been properly summoned affect its ability to be revived?
Similar to the Graveyard, the banished zone also “remembers” if a monster was properly summoned. Therefore, if a Ritual Monster is banished after being properly Ritual Summoned, it can be Special Summoned from the banished zone by effects that allow it, such as “Escape from the Different Dimension” and has been ruled that Monster Reborn can also summon it from the banish pile.
9. Can I use “Monster Reborn” to summon a Ritual Monster from my opponent’s Graveyard if it was properly summoned?
Yes, if your opponent properly Ritual Summoned a Ritual Monster and it is now in their Graveyard, you can use Monster Reborn to Special Summon it to your side of the field.
10. What happens if I Ritual Summon a monster, then it’s used as Xyz Material?
Using a Ritual Monster as Xyz Material does not negate the fact that it was properly summoned. However, once the Xyz Monster is detached as material to activate the Xyz Monster’s effect and placed into the Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned unless it was first summoned.
11. Can I use “Call of the Haunted” instead of “Monster Reborn” to revive a properly summoned Ritual Monster?
Yes, “Call of the Haunted” functions similarly to Monster Reborn in this regard. It can be used to revive a Ritual Monster that was properly summoned.
12. If I Ritual Summon a monster, and then use it for a Link Summon, can I revive the Ritual Monster later?
The act of performing a Link Summon doesn’t negate the fact that it was properly summoned. Once it’s in the Graveyard, you can revive the Ritual Monster unless it was detached as material.
13. If a Ritual Monster is sent to the Graveyard as a cost for a card effect, can it be revived with “Monster Reborn”?
If the Ritual Monster was properly summoned prior to being sent to the Graveyard as a cost, it can be revived. The reason it was sent to the Graveyard (cost or destruction) does not change its status of being properly summoned first.
14. Are there any specific cards that can revive Ritual Monsters even if they weren’t properly summoned?
While generic revival cards adhere to the proper summoning rule, some archetype-specific cards might have effects that allow Special Summoning regardless of prior summoning history. These are exceptions and must be carefully considered based on their specific card text. An example is “Trias Hierarchia”.
15. If a card effect says “Special Summon 1 monster from your Graveyard, ignoring its summoning conditions,” can that revive a Ritual Monster that wasn’t properly summoned?
Yes, a card effect that explicitly states “ignoring its summoning conditions” can bypass the normal restrictions and revive a Ritual Monster even if it was never properly Ritual Summoned in the first place. However, such cards are rare, and you should always verify the card text carefully. “Trias Hierarchia” is a good example of such card.
By understanding these nuances, you can make informed decisions in your duels and ensure that you are playing your Ritual Monsters to their full potential. Always remember to read card texts carefully and be mindful of the proper summoning rules!