Can Relic of Legends Tap Creatures with Summoning Sickness?
The answer to whether Relic of Legends can tap creatures with summoning sickness is yes, as the tap to produce mana is not an ability that contains the {T} or {Q} symbol, and thus is not affected by summoning sickness. Creatures with summoning sickness can be tapped to produce mana, but they cannot attack or use any tap abilities, making Relic of Legends a valuable tool in certain situations.
Understanding Summoning Sickness and Relic of Legends
To fully grasp the concept of summoning sickness and how Relic of Legends interacts with it, let’s explore some key points. Summoning sickness is a state that prevents creatures from attacking or using tap abilities on the turn they are played, but it does not prevent them from being tapped for mana production.
Related FAQs
1. Can You Tap Creatures with Summoning Sickness?
Yes, creatures with summoning sickness can be tapped to produce mana, as this action does not involve using a tap ability or attacking.
2. Is Relic of Legends an Activated Ability?
Yes, Relic of Legends has an activated ability that allows you to tap any untapped legendary creature you control to pay its cost.
3. Do Artifact Creatures Have Summoning Sickness?
Yes, artifact creatures, like all creatures, are affected by summoning sickness when they are played.
4. Can You Tap a Creature with Summoning Sickness for Convoke?
Yes, creatures with summoning sickness can be used to pay for Convoke costs, as Convoke does not require the creature to be untapped or to tap it as part of an ability.
5. Do Artifact Creatures Have Haste?
Some artifact creatures may have haste, which would allow them to attack or use tap abilities on the turn they are played, but this is not a rule for all artifact creatures.
6. Can I Tap a Creature in Response to It Being Tapped?
No, you cannot respond to the tap of a creature, as tapping is not an ability that can be responded to in the same way that spells or other abilities can.
7. How Does Relic of Legends Work?
Relic of Legends allows you to tap any untapped legendary creature you control to pay the cost of its activated ability.
8. How Many Relics Are There in Wizard of Legend?
There are 313 relics in Wizard of Legend, with Arcana expiring after a few activations and being randomly replaced.
9. Is Tapping an Artifact an Activated Ability?
Tapping an artifact for its activated ability is considered an activated ability because it involves using the tap symbol as a cost.
10. Do Artifact Creatures Count as Colorless?
Most artifact creatures are colorless, but some may be colored or affiliated with a specific color in certain contexts.
11. Does Blinking Cause Summoning Sickness?
Blinking (or flickering) a creature can cause it to have summoning sickness when it returns to the battlefield.
12. Do Creatures Have Summoning Sickness When They Phase Back In?
Creatures that phase back in are not affected by summoning sickness if they have already experienced an upkeep step before being phased out.
13. Do Artifact Creatures Count as Artifacts?
Yes, artifact creatures are both artifacts and creatures, and the rules for both apply to them.
14. Do Planeswalkers Have Summoning Sickness?
No, planeswalkers do not have summoning sickness and can use their abilities on the turn they are played, provided they have sufficient loyalty.
15. Can You Tap a Creature on Your Opponent’s Turn?
Yes, you can use a tap ability at instant speed on your opponent’s turn, as long as the creature does not have summoning sickness and you have priority.