Can Spellskite Redirect a Counterspell?
The short answer is no, Spellskite cannot directly redirect a counterspell. While Spellskite’s ability allows you to change the target of a spell or ability to itself, a counterspell specifically targets spells on the stack, not permanents on the battlefield like Spellskite. Let’s delve deeper into the intricacies of why this is the case and explore related scenarios.
The Nuances of Spellskite and Counterspells
Why Direct Redirection Fails
The core reason Spellskite cannot redirect a counterspell lies in the fundamental mechanics of Magic: The Gathering. A counterspell, such as Counterspell itself or Mana Leak, targets a spell that’s currently on the stack (a spell that is being cast but hasn’t yet resolved). Spellskite, while a very useful card, is a creature on the battlefield and thus not a legal target for a counterspell.
Spellskite’s activated ability allows you to change a target of “target spell or ability” to Spellskite. However, this change only works if Spellskite is a legal target of that spell or ability. A counterspell specifically targets spells. Therefore, Spellskite on the battlefield is simply not a spell. Since Spellskite is not a spell on the stack, it’s not a legal target for a counterspell, and the redirection fails to change the target of the counterspell.
The Illusion of Redirection
While Spellskite cannot directly redirect a counterspell, its presence can create situations where it appears that it’s affecting the counterspell. For instance, if your opponent has a counterspell targeted at a crucial spell you’ve cast, you might activate Spellskite’s ability hoping to change that target to Spellskite. The game will allow you to activate this ability and pay the cost, but because Spellskite is not a legal target, the target of the counterspell will not change. It will still resolve as originally cast.
This distinction is critical. You can pay mana (or life), activate the ability, and the game will allow it, but it will have no practical impact. This does not mean Spellskite is useless; it still has crucial uses, which we will explore later.
FAQs About Spellskite and Counterspells
To provide a comprehensive understanding, let’s address some common questions surrounding Spellskite and its interactions with counterspells and related effects.
1. Can Spellskite redirect an equip ability?
Yes and no. You can activate Spellskite’s ability targeting an opponent’s equip ability. However, the equip ability specifically targets creatures you control. So if your opponent activates the equip ability of their Batterskull, you can activate Spellskite’s ability, but ultimately it will not change the equip’s target. The target will remain the original creature controlled by your opponent.
2. Can Spellskite steal auras?
It depends. If an aura is being cast, Spellskite can redirect the target to itself. However, if an aura is put onto the battlefield through other means (such as by a creature’s ability or a card like Enthralling Melody), it will bypass the targeting, and Spellskite won’t have an effect.
3. Can Spellskite redirect an activated ability like a planeswalker ability?
Yes. Spellskite can be used to redirect the target of a planeswalker’s activated ability, as it is considered a legal target for any “ability.” If a planeswalker ability is targeting one of your creatures, Spellskite’s ability can redirect the target to itself, but only if Spellskite is a legal target for that specific ability.
4. What if Spellskite has Hexproof?
If Spellskite has hexproof, and you activate its ability to try to change the target of an opponent’s spell or ability to Spellskite, the target of the spell or ability will not be changed. The activation still happens and the mana cost is paid, but the effect will not occur. Hexproof does not stop you from targeting Spellskite, it stops your opponents from targeting Spellskite.
5. What if Spellskite has Shroud?
Similarly, if Spellskite has shroud, you can still activate Spellskite’s ability targeting any spell or ability. The difference is that because shroud prevents you from being targeted by spells or abilities, the target will not change. It does, however, not stop you from activating Spellskite’s ability.
6. Can you misdirect a counterspell onto itself using Misdirection?
Yes. Using Misdirection to change the target of a Counterspell to Misdirection is a legal move, and it will cause the Counterspell to fizzle as the original target is no longer valid. Misdirection resolves first, then the Counterspell attempts to resolve with an invalid target, and it will be countered by game rules.
7. Can you use Redirect to change the target of a counterspell to Redirect?
No. You cannot target Redirect with itself, but you can use Redirect to target a counterspell then target that counterspell on another target. You cannot directly target Redirect with its own ability.
8. Can you use Deflecting Swat to redirect a counterspell to itself?
No. A spell can under no circumstances target itself. However, you can use Deflecting Swat’s ability to redirect a counterspell to target Deflecting Swat. Then, Deflecting Swat will finish resolving and the counterspell will fizzle as it no longer has a valid target.
9. Can Spellskite change the target of a spell that has multiple targets?
Yes. Spellskite’s ability can be used on a spell that has multiple targets. When Spellskite’s ability resolves, you choose which one target you’re changing to Spellskite.
10. Can you counterspell a counterspell?
Yes, you absolutely can. You can use a counterspell to counter an opponent’s counterspell. This creates a “counter war,” which is a common tactical element in Magic.
11. Does Spellskite have to be a valid target for its ability to be activated?
No. You can activate Spellskite’s ability even if Spellskite isn’t a legal target for the target spell or ability. No targets are changed when this happens, but the ability can still be activated.
12. Is Rewind a good counterspell?
Rewind can counter a spell, and it does have a high mana cost. However, its ability to untap four lands after casting can be a significant advantage.
13. What happens if you cascade into a counterspell?
If you cascade into a counterspell, you can choose to cast it or put it to the bottom of your library. It doesn’t have to target anything, so you don’t have to counter your own spells if you can’t counter an opponent’s.
14. Can you counter a cantrip?
You can’t usually use a counterspell on a cantrip like Brainstorm or Ponder because they are usually low mana cost. You would need a specialized counter such as Clever Counterspell if you really wanted to counter a cantrip.
15. What is the best use of Spellskite?
Spellskite is excellent for protecting creature-based combos by redirecting removal spells. It can also disrupt auras and abilities, adding utility beyond just a single task. It also works well with +1/+1 counter decks because it is an artifact creature.
Conclusion
While Spellskite is a versatile and valuable card, it cannot directly redirect a counterspell. This limitation stems from the fundamental rules of Magic: The Gathering, where counterspells target spells on the stack, and Spellskite is a permanent on the battlefield, not a spell. Understanding these interactions is crucial for making informed plays and utilizing Spellskite effectively in various situations. This allows players to maximize Spellskite‘s utility in areas where it does excel.