Can Spiritual Weapon Hit Twice? A Comprehensive Guide
The short answer is: no, not in the way you might initially think. While the Spiritual Weapon spell is a powerful tool for clerics and other divine spellcasters in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e), it doesn’t work like a standard weapon with multiple attacks. The confusion often arises from a misunderstanding of how bonus actions and spellcasting mechanics interact. Let’s break down the mechanics of the Spiritual Weapon to clarify exactly how many times it can hit.
Understanding Spiritual Weapon’s Mechanics
The Spiritual Weapon spell allows you to conjure a floating, spectral weapon that appears within 60 feet of you. This weapon isn’t a creature, but rather a magical effect that can make melee spell attacks. When you cast the spell, which takes a bonus action, the weapon appears. Importantly, it’s on subsequent turns that you use a bonus action to move it and make the attack.
The Turn of Casting
On the turn you cast Spiritual Weapon, you use your bonus action to conjure it, meaning you cannot also use a bonus action to make it attack that same turn. Your action on that turn is free to be used for other things, be that a spell, cantrip, movement, or attack.
Subsequent Turns
On each of your subsequent turns, you can use your bonus action to move the weapon up to 20 feet and then make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of it. This is where many players stumble – they might assume that because they can use a bonus action to “attack,” it could work like dual wielding or a similar mechanic. However, the bonus action with Spiritual Weapon incorporates movement AND attack together as a singular bonus action action. This means that the Spiritual Weapon can make one attack per turn and only using your bonus action to make this attack.
Key Takeaway: One Attack Per Turn
Therefore, the Spiritual Weapon does not get to hit twice on any turn by any normal mechanics. You cannot use your action to make it attack; it always requires your bonus action on a subsequent turn, it always includes movement, and it’s always one attack per bonus action.
15 Frequently Asked Questions About Spiritual Weapon
To further clarify the intricacies of the Spiritual Weapon spell, let’s delve into some frequently asked questions:
Can I Attack Twice with Spiritual Weapon on the First Turn?
No. On the turn you cast Spiritual Weapon, casting the spell takes your bonus action, so you cannot also attack with it that turn.
What is the Hit Bonus for Spiritual Weapon?
The hit bonus is calculated as your spell attack modifier, typically your spellcasting ability modifier plus your proficiency bonus.
How Much Damage Does Spiritual Weapon Deal?
On a hit, the Spiritual Weapon deals 1d8 + your spellcasting ability modifier as force damage.
Can Spiritual Weapon be Attacked or Damaged?
No. Spiritual Weapon is a spectral weapon and cannot be harmed by physical attacks. However, it can be affected by spells like dispel magic and disintegrate, as well as a sphere of annihilation or a rod of cancellation.
Can Spiritual Weapon be Flanked or Count for Flanking?
No. The Spiritual Weapon is not a creature or an ally and cannot set up flanking opportunities.
Does Spiritual Weapon Count for Divine Strike?
No. Divine Strike applies to weapon attacks, while the Spiritual Weapon makes a spell attack.
Can Spiritual Weapon Move Through Walls?
Generally, it’s interpreted that the spiritual weapon can move through open spaces, up and down, and across gaps. It can be argued that the weapon can move through objects, however it can not pass through solid surfaces like walls, as it has no ‘movement’ type listed as ghost or incorporeal that allows this.
Can I Use a Second Bonus Action to Attack Twice with Spiritual Weapon?
No. You only have one bonus action per turn, which includes moving and attacking with the Spiritual Weapon. The bonus action is used to control the weapon AND make the attack.
Can You Cast Another Spell on the Same Turn as Spiritual Weapon?
Yes, but with limitations. If you cast Spiritual Weapon as a bonus action, your action can only be used to cast a cantrip if you want to cast a spell. If you don’t cast a spell as your bonus action, you can then use your action for a spell, cantrip, or other non-spell action.
Can an Enemy Walk Through a Spiritual Weapon?
Yes, the Spiritual Weapon doesn’t create an obstacle, and creatures can move through its space without penalty.
Does Spiritual Weapon Deal Magical Damage?
Yes, Spiritual Weapon deals force damage, which is inherently magical damage.
Can Spiritual Weapon benefit from spells or buffs?
No, since it is not a creature. Spells, buffs and other effects that do not work on spells do not affect the spiritual weapon.
Can I Have More Than One Spiritual Weapon?
No. You can only have one Spiritual Weapon summoned at a time.
What Happens to Spiritual Weapon If I Go Unconscious?
The Spiritual Weapon remains active as it does not require concentration but you cannot use your bonus action to control or attack with it while unconscious or otherwise incapacitated.
Can Spiritual Weapon be Twinned using the Twinned Spell Metamagic?
No. The Spiritual Weapon does not initially target a creature making it not eligible for the Twinned Spell Metamagic.
Final Thoughts
The Spiritual Weapon spell is powerful and versatile, allowing you to deal consistent damage as a bonus action. However, it’s crucial to understand that it can only hit once per turn. Its main strength is the use of your bonus action for consistent damage and the fact that is non-concentration, freeing your action to cast other spells. While not as flexible as some may hope, the single attack it makes per turn is a valuable asset for any spellcaster who knows how to use it effectively. By understanding the rules, you can better utilize its capabilities and enhance your game play.