Decoding Strive: Can You Target the Same Creature Multiple Times in Magic: The Gathering?
The short and sweet answer: no, you cannot target the same creature multiple times with a single instance of a strive spell. The strive mechanic, while allowing you to increase the number of targets for a spell by paying extra mana, does not circumvent the fundamental rule that a single instance of the word “target” on a spell cannot apply to the same object or player more than once. This article will delve deeper into the mechanics of strive, targeting rules in Magic: The Gathering (MTG), and clarify why this restriction exists.
Understanding Strive: Amplify Your Spells
Strive is a mechanic that allows you to pay an additional cost for each target beyond the first chosen for a spell. It’s a great way to get extra value out of a single card. However, it’s crucial to understand that strive doesn’t override the basic targeting rules of the game. Think of strive as expanding the reach of your spell, not allowing it to hit the same target with multiple, identical effects within the same casting.
Targeting Fundamentals: A Core Mechanic
Targeting is a cornerstone of MTG gameplay. A spell or ability targets when it specifically uses the word “target” (or implies it through the use of keywords like “enchant creature”). The “target” is the object or player that the spell or ability will affect. Understanding the rules around targeting is crucial to correctly resolving spells and abilities.
The One-Target-Per-Instance Rule
The golden rule here is: the same target cannot be chosen multiple times for any single instance of the word “target” on a spell or ability. This means if a spell says “Target creature gains +1/+1 until end of turn,” you can’t target the same creature twice with that specific line of text.
How Strive Interacts with Targeting Rules
Strive spells allow you to choose more targets, but each target must be a unique object or player. The key takeaway is that each time you pay the strive cost, you’re adding another distinct target to the spell. This makes strive a powerful mechanic for spreading effects or dealing with multiple threats, but it is limited by the single-instance targeting rule.
FAQs: Demystifying Strive and Targeting
To further clarify the intricacies of strive and targeting, here’s a list of frequently asked questions:
-
What exactly does “targeting” mean in MTG? Targeting, in Magic, is when a spell or ability explicitly designates a specific card, player, or permanent as the recipient of its effect. This is usually indicated by the word “target” on the card or in its rules text.
-
Can a spell target multiple creatures at once? Yes, many spells can target multiple creatures at once. Spells with strive and other similar mechanics allow you to choose multiple targets by paying additional costs.
-
If a spell says “destroy target creature,” can I target the same creature multiple times if I copy the spell? If you copy the spell, the copy is a separate instance. Therefore, you can target the same creature with the original and the copy, as they are two distinct spells each with their own target.
-
Does strive let me bypass hexproof or shroud? No. A permanent with hexproof or shroud cannot be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. Strive does not override these protective abilities.
-
What happens if one of my targets for a strive spell becomes an illegal target before resolution? If a target becomes illegal before the spell resolves, that target is simply ignored. The spell will still resolve for the remaining legal targets, affecting them as intended.
-
Does copying a strive spell copy the number of targets I chose? Yes, copying a spell copies all decisions made for it, including the number of targets chosen and any additional costs paid.
-
Can I target a creature I control with a strive spell that benefits my creatures, and then target an opponent’s creature with the same spell? Absolutely. You can mix and match targets as long as all targeting requirements are met.
-
Are there any spells or abilities that let me target the same creature multiple times with the same effect? Some very specific cards and abilities might allow you to achieve a similar effect, but they would do so through creating copies of abilities or triggers, rather than directly bypassing the single instance targeting rule. Read the card carefully.
-
If a card says “choose a creature,” is that the same as targeting? No, choosing is different from targeting. Targeting happens when you cast a spell or activate an ability. Choosing happens during the resolution of a spell or ability. Some spells require you to target as you cast, and then choose something upon resolution.
-
What happens if I don’t have enough legal targets for a strive spell after paying all the costs? You must have a legal target for each instance of “target” required by the spell. If you cannot legally target the required number of creatures, you cannot cast the spell.
-
Can I use strive to target the same player multiple times with a damage spell? No. Just like with creatures, you cannot target the same player multiple times with a single instance of the word “target” on the spell.
-
How does strive interact with modal spells that have multiple targeting modes? Modal spells with different targeting modes essentially have multiple instances of “target.” So, you could target the same creature if each mode targets something different.
-
What if a creature has multiple abilities that trigger when it’s targeted? Each time a creature is legally targeted (even by different spells), all relevant triggered abilities will trigger.
-
Where can I learn more about MTG rules and mechanics? There are many resources available, including the official MTG rulebook, online forums, and communities like the Games Learning Society, which explores the educational potential of games such as MTG. Visit GamesLearningSociety.org to discover more.
-
Is there a way to get around the “one target per instance” rule if I really need to? While you cannot directly bypass the rule, clever card interactions and strategic spell sequencing can sometimes achieve a similar effect. For example, using a spell to give a creature multiple instances of an ability might be indirectly what you want to do. This showcases the depth and complexity of MTG gameplay!
We must all strive to do better to understand the rules of Magic: The Gathering. She always strives for perfection to play at a high level.
Conclusion: Mastering the Nuances of Strive
While strive offers incredible flexibility and power, it’s bound by the established targeting rules of MTG. You can increase the number of targets, but not the number of times a single target is affected by the same instance of the spell. Understanding this limitation is key to effectively utilizing strive and making informed decisions in your games.