Can Wizards Use Cantrips as a Bonus Action?
The short answer is: generally, no. A wizard cannot normally cast a cantrip as a bonus action in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e). The standard casting time for most cantrips is one action. However, there are exceptions to every rule, and this is where things get interesting. Let’s delve deeper into when and how a wizard might be able to cast a cantrip using a bonus action, and explore the rules governing spellcasting in general.
Understanding Action Economy and Spellcasting
The core of this question lies in understanding the action economy of D&D 5e. During their turn, a character typically has one action, one bonus action, movement, and possibly a reaction. Casting spells usually requires an action.
The Default: Action Casting
Most cantrips, such as Fire Bolt, Ray of Frost, or Acid Splash, require an action to cast. This means that, under normal circumstances, a wizard would use their action to unleash the magical power of a cantrip. This is the baseline, the standard operating procedure for spellcasting.
The Metamagic Exception: Sorcerers
The Sorcerer class has a unique feature called Metamagic, which allows them to manipulate their spells in various ways. One Metamagic option, Quickened Spell, allows the Sorcerer to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as a bonus action. Therefore, a Sorcerer can cast a cantrip as a bonus action by spending Sorcery Points. A wizard, however, doesn’t have this inherent ability.
The Feat Exception: War Caster
The War Caster feat grants several benefits, including the ability to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action as a reaction when an enemy provokes an opportunity attack. While not a bonus action, this is another way to cast a cantrip outside of your standard action on your turn. A wizard can take this feat to gain this benefit.
The Bonus Action Cantrips
There exist a couple of cantrips that have the bonus action casting time. Namely, these are Magic Stone and Shillelagh. Both of these cantrips could be used by a wizard if they know them as a bonus action spell.
The “Bonus Action Spell” Rule
Even if a wizard could cast a spell as a bonus action (through multiclassing, for instance), there’s a crucial rule to remember: If you cast any spell – cantrip or not – as a bonus action, you can only cast another spell on the same turn if it’s a cantrip with a casting time of one action. This restriction impacts spellcasting strategies significantly. So if a wizard casts Healing Word as a bonus action (acquired through multiclassing, perhaps), the only other spell they can cast that turn is a cantrip like Fire Bolt.
Cantrips and Spell Slots
It’s essential to remember that cantrips do not consume spell slots. They can be cast at will, making them a reliable source of damage and utility for wizards. This is what makes them the bread and butter of a wizard’s arsenal. Larger spells are supposed to be used sparingly for the biggest effect.
Can You Cast Two Cantrips in One Turn?
Yes, you can, under the right circumstances. The primary restriction is the bonus action spell rule mentioned earlier. If you haven’t cast any spell as a bonus action, you’re free to use your action to cast one cantrip, and then use Action Surge (if you have it, perhaps through multiclassing into Fighter) to cast another. You also can cast a slotted spell and a cantrip in the same turn, so two cantrips should be fine.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions related to wizards, cantrips, and action economy in D&D 5e:
1. Can a wizard cast a cantrip and a leveled spell in the same turn?
Yes, a wizard can cast a cantrip and a leveled spell in the same turn, provided they haven’t used a bonus action to cast any spell. The key is the bonus action rule: if you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
2. What happens if a wizard multiclasses into Sorcerer?
If a wizard multiclasses into Sorcerer, they gain access to Metamagic, including Quickened Spell. This allows them to cast a cantrip as a bonus action by spending Sorcery Points.
3. Can a wizard use the War Caster feat to cast a cantrip as a reaction?
Yes, a wizard with the War Caster feat can cast a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action as a reaction when an enemy provokes an opportunity attack.
4. Are there any cantrips that inherently require a bonus action to cast?
Yes. There are only 2 bonus action cantrips… Magic Stone and Shillelagh.
5. Can a wizard cast multiple cantrips with Action Surge?
Yes. With Action Surge, a wizard could cast two cantrips that both take an action to cast in a single turn. Action Surge grants an additional action on your turn.
6. Does the bonus action rule apply to magic items that cast spells?
Generally, yes. If a magic item allows you to cast a spell as a bonus action, the same restriction applies: the only other spell you can cast on that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
7. Can a wizard use a spell scroll to cast a cantrip as a bonus action?
No. Using a spell scroll typically requires an action, and doesn’t circumvent the general rules of spellcasting unless the scroll explicitly states otherwise.
8. What are some of the best cantrips for wizards to learn?
Some of the best wizard cantrips include Fire Bolt (for damage), Minor Illusion (for utility and trickery), Mage Hand (for interacting with the environment), Prestidigitation (for minor magical effects), and Message (for discreet communication).
9. Can a wizard cast a cantrip if they are silenced?
No. If a cantrip has a verbal component, a wizard cannot cast it if they are silenced. The ability to speak clearly is essential.
10. Can a wizard cast a cantrip if their hands are restrained?
It depends on the cantrip. If the cantrip only requires verbal components, then yes. However, if it requires somatic (hand movement) components, the wizard would be unable to cast it while their hands are restrained.
11. Does casting a cantrip provoke an opportunity attack?
Yes, unless you have the War Caster feat or another feature that specifically prevents it. Casting a spell within an enemy’s reach normally provokes an opportunity attack.
12. Can a wizard learn cantrips from other classes’ spell lists?
Not normally. Wizards typically only learn cantrips from the wizard spell list. However, feats like Magic Initiate allow you to learn cantrips from other classes’ lists.
13. How many cantrips can a Level 1 wizard know?
At 1st level, a wizard knows three cantrips of their choice from the wizard spell list.
14. Can you cast Eldritch Blast as a bonus action?
Eldritch Blast is a cantrip that takes one action to cast. You cannot cast both Eldritch Blast with your Action and again as a Bonus Action in the same round without some other mechanism to allow you to cast it as a bonus action.
15. What’s the best way for Wizards to optimize the use of their cantrips?
Wizards should pick a variety of cantrips that are good both in and out of combat, and use cantrips when bigger spells are not needed or appropriate.
Conclusion
While wizards can’t inherently cast cantrips as bonus actions, the rules of D&D 5e provide flexibility through multiclassing, feats, and specific spell interactions. Understanding these nuances allows players to make informed decisions and optimize their spellcasting strategies. It’s all about knowing the rules and creatively applying them to your character concept. Remember, the best strategy often involves a deep understanding of the action economy and the clever use of class features, feats, and even the environment. This game is all about strategy and critical thinking, much like the work done at the Games Learning Society. You can find out more about their important work at GamesLearningSociety.org.