Understanding Damage Assignment to Blockers in Magic: The Gathering
Yes, you can absolutely assign all damage to one blocker in Magic: The Gathering, provided certain conditions are met. This is a crucial aspect of combat, adding depth to strategic decision-making. When an attacking creature is blocked by multiple creatures, the attacking player declares a damage assignment order. This means you decide which blocker will receive damage first, second, and so on. You must assign lethal damage to the first blocker in the order before assigning any damage to subsequent blockers. “Lethal damage” is usually defined as damage equal to the blocker’s toughness minus any damage it already has marked on it. So yes, you can assign all damage to one blocker MTG.
Blocking and Damage Assignment: The Core Mechanics
The process of blocking and assigning damage is a cornerstone of Magic: The Gathering (MTG). A firm grasp of these mechanics is essential for both casual and competitive play. Here’s a breakdown:
-
Declaration of Attackers: The attacking player declares which creatures are attacking and which player or planeswalker they are attacking.
-
Declaration of Blockers: The defending player then declares which creatures are blocking which attackers. Remember, unless a creature has an ability that specifically allows it to block multiple attackers, each creature can only block one attacker.
-
Damage Assignment Order: If an attacking creature is blocked by multiple creatures, the attacking player must announce the order in which the blockers will receive damage before damage is dealt. This order is crucial because it dictates how the damage will be distributed.
-
Damage Assignment: This is where your initial question comes into play. You must assign enough damage to the first blocker in the order to destroy it (lethal damage) before assigning any damage to the next blocker in the order. If the attacking creature has more than enough power to destroy the first blocker, the remaining damage can be assigned to the subsequent blockers. However, it is not required to do so, and you can choose to assign all the damage to the first blocker.
-
Combat Damage Step: Finally, creatures deal damage simultaneously. This is an important distinction; even if a blocker is dealt lethal damage, it still deals its combat damage to the attacking creature unless it is removed from combat before the combat damage step (e.g., by sacrificing it in response to damage assignment).
Example Scenario
Let’s say you attack with a 5/5 creature and it is blocked by two 2/2 creatures:
- You, as the attacking player, must declare a damage assignment order. Let’s say you declare Creature A first and Creature B second.
- You must assign at least 2 damage to Creature A to deal lethal damage.
- You have 3 damage remaining from your 5/5 attacker.
- You can assign all 3 remaining damage to Creature A, even though only 2 damage is required to destroy it. The extra damage is simply “lost.”
- Alternatively, you could assign the remaining 3 damage to Creature B. In that case, Creature A is dealt 2 damage and destroyed, and Creature B is dealt 3 damage and destroyed.
The key takeaway is that you always have the option to assign all damage to the first blocker in the damage assignment order, even if it’s more than lethal.
Why Would You Assign All Damage to One Blocker?
While it might seem wasteful to assign more damage than necessary to a single blocker, there are several strategic reasons to do so:
-
Simplifying Combat: Sometimes, you want to eliminate one blocker as quickly as possible, even if it means slightly “wasting” damage. This could be crucial if the second blocker has a powerful ability or if you want to ensure that you can attack through the second blocker on a subsequent turn.
-
Combating Damage Prevention: If the defending player has a way to prevent damage, assigning all the damage to one blocker might be the best way to ensure that some damage gets through.
-
Intimidation Factor: Sometimes, a bold play can discourage your opponent from making similar blocks in the future.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Blocking and Damage Assignment
1. Can a creature block multiple attackers?
No, generally a creature can only block one attacking creature at a time, unless it has a specific ability that allows it to block multiple attackers. Look for keywords or card text like “This creature can block an additional N creatures each combat.”
2. How does trample affect damage assignment with multiple blockers?
If an attacking creature with trample is blocked by multiple creatures, you must still assign lethal damage to all blockers in the damage assignment order before assigning any excess damage to the defending player. Once lethal damage is assigned to all blockers, any remaining damage is “trampled over” to the defending player.
3. What happens if a blocker is removed from combat after damage assignment but before the combat damage step?
If a blocker is removed from combat after damage assignment but before the combat damage step (e.g., through a removal spell), the damage that would have been assigned to that blocker is simply lost. It is not redirected to another blocker or the defending player.
4. Can I change the damage assignment order after it has been declared?
No, once the damage assignment order is declared, it cannot be changed.
5. Does first strike or double strike affect damage assignment with multiple blockers?
Yes. With first strike, the attacking creature deals its combat damage during the first combat damage step. If a blocker dies during this step, any remaining damage is not redirected, and the second combat damage step proceeds as normal. With double strike, the attacking creature deals combat damage in both the first and regular combat damage steps. You assign damage to the blockers during both combat damage steps as if the combat is happening again from the begining.
6. What happens if my attacking creature has deathtouch?
If your attacking creature has deathtouch, any amount of damage it deals to a creature is considered lethal damage. This means you only need to assign 1 damage to each blocker in the damage assignment order to satisfy the “lethal damage” requirement. This can be very advantageous when dealing with multiple blockers with high toughness.
7. Does indestructible prevent damage assignment?
No. Indestructible only prevents destruction. You must still assign damage to an indestructible blocker according to the damage assignment order, even though the creature won’t be destroyed. If you have damage to spare, you might as well assign it to another creature.
8. Can I block with a creature that has summoning sickness?
Yes. Summoning sickness only prevents a creature from attacking or using abilities that require tapping on the turn it enters the battlefield. It does not prevent a creature from blocking.
9. What is the “double blocking” rule?
“Double blocking” refers to when two or more creatures block the same attacker. The attacking player chooses the order in which the blockers will receive damage.
10. If a creature has protection from a color, can creatures of that color block it?
No, a creature with protection from a color cannot be blocked by creatures of that color. The reminder text states, “can’t be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, enchanted, or equipped by anything of that color.”
11. Can I assign combat damage to a planeswalker that’s blocking?
You can’t use Planeswalkers to block in Magic: The Gathering.
12. If my creature has higher power than my opponent’s creatures toughness, can I redirect the rest of the damage to my opponent’s life points?
No, unless your creature has Trample. If your creature has Trample, you can assign lethal damage to all blocking creatures and trample over the rest of the damage to your opponent’s life points.
13. What if I need help understanding complex rules interactions?
Consult the official Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules for the definitive answers. You can also ask judges at events or utilize online resources. Consider exploring resources from organizations like the Games Learning Society, which promotes learning through games at GamesLearningSociety.org.
14. Can I sacrifice a blocker before it deals damage?
Yes, you can sacrifice a blocking creature before the combat damage step. If you do so, it will not deal combat damage, but the attacking creature will still be considered blocked.
15. Can a creature with Vigilance block multiple times in a turn if there are multiple combat phases?
Vigilance allows a creature to attack without tapping. While a creature with Vigilance remains untapped after attacking, it can only block one attacking creature in a given combat phase, unless another ability allows it to block multiple creatures.