Can You Attack a Card That Has Summoning Sickness?
The answer to the question Can you attack a card that has summoning sickness? is no, as a creature with summoning sickness cannot attack unless it has haste, but you can be attacked by a creature or targeted with spells and abilities even if it has summoning sickness. The concept of summoning sickness is a crucial rule in Magic: The Gathering that affects how creatures can be used on the battlefield, particularly in terms of attacking and using tap abilities.
Understanding Summoning Sickness
To fully comprehend the implications of summoning sickness, it’s essential to explore the specifics of how it affects creatures and other cards in Magic: The Gathering.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here are 15 FAQs that provide detailed insights into the rules and interactions surrounding summoning sickness:
- Can creatures with summoning sickness block? – Yes, creatures with summoning sickness can block but cannot attack or use tap abilities.
- Do vehicles have summoning sickness? – Vehicles themselves are susceptible to summoning sickness and cannot attack the turn they come into play unless they have haste.
- Can planeswalkers have summoning sickness? – No, only creatures have summoning sickness; planeswalkers do not.
- Can you tap a creature with summoning sickness for convoke? – Yes, you can use any untapped creatures, including those with summoning sickness, for convoke.
- Can you attack with a vehicle first turn if it has haste? – Yes, if a vehicle has haste, it can attack the turn it comes into play.
- How does summoning sickness work with creatures that have tap abilities? – Creatures with summoning sickness cannot use their tap abilities until the sickness wears off.
- Do artifacts have summoning sickness? – No, artifacts do not have summoning sickness, only creatures do.
- Can you crew a vehicle with a creature that has summoning sickness? – Yes, you can tap a creature with summoning sickness to crew a vehicle.
- Does summoning sickness affect lands? – Lands are not subject to summoning sickness, but land creatures are.
- Can creatures with summoning sickness defend against attackers? – Yes, creatures with summoning sickness can block to defend.
- Can you use a creature’s ability if it is tapped? – As long as you can pay the costs, you can activate a creature’s abilities even if it’s tapped.
- Do vehicles tap after attacking? – Vehicles that attack and do not have vigilance will get tapped.
- Is double strike also first strike? – No, double strike and first strike are different, though creatures with either can deal combat damage in the first combat damage step.
- Can you attack a creature with summoning sickness in Magic: The Gathering? – You can target a creature with summoning sickness with spells and abilities, but it cannot attack unless it has haste.
- Does Deathtouch work on vehicles? – Deathtouch works on vehicles as long as they are creatures; it will destroy them if they are dealt damage from a source with Deathtouch.