Can you block 1 creature with 2 creatures in magic?

Can You Block One Creature With Two Creatures in Magic? Absolutely!

Yes, you absolutely can! In Magic: The Gathering (MTG), the rules explicitly allow multiple creatures to block a single attacking creature. This is a fundamental tactic and a cornerstone of defensive strategy in the game. However, understanding how this works requires delving into the intricacies of the combat phase and the order in which damage is assigned. Let’s dive deep into this crucial aspect of MTG gameplay.

Understanding Blocking Mechanics

The heart of blocking with multiple creatures lies in the Declare Blockers Step of the combat phase. After the attacker declares which creatures are attacking, the defending player gets the opportunity to declare which of their untapped creatures will block. Here’s a breakdown:

  • One Blocker Per Attacker (Usually): Normally, a creature can only block a single attacking creature. There are exceptions to this, particularly with abilities like “This creature can block an additional creature.”
  • Multiple Blockers on One Attacker: The magic happens here. The defending player can choose to assign multiple creatures to block the same attacker.
  • Damage Assignment Order: If an attacking creature is blocked by multiple creatures, the attacking player gets to decide the damage assignment order. This means they determine which blocker will receive damage first, which second, and so on.
  • Lethal Damage Requirement: The attacking creature must assign lethal damage to the first creature in the order before assigning any damage to the next creature in line. “Lethal damage” is generally defined as damage equal to that creature’s toughness. For example, if Creature A has a toughness of 3, the attacking creature must assign 3 damage to Creature A before assigning any to Creature B.
  • Strategic Implications: This mechanic allows for crucial defensive plays. You can use smaller creatures to “chump block” a larger threat while another, more powerful creature deals damage. Or, you can gang up on a particularly dangerous attacker to ensure its demise.

Strategic Considerations for Multi-Blocking

Effective use of multi-blocking requires careful planning and understanding of your opponent’s deck and possible responses. Consider these points:

  • Creature Stats: Analyze the power and toughness of your creatures and your opponent’s attacker. This will inform your damage assignment decisions.
  • Abilities: Be aware of any relevant abilities on either your creatures or the attacking creature, such as deathtouch, first strike, double strike, trample, or lifelink. These abilities can significantly alter the outcome of combat.
  • Instant-Speed Spells: Remember that both players have opportunities to cast instants and activate abilities after blockers are declared but before damage is dealt. This can change the battlefield drastically. For example, you could cast a pump spell to boost the toughness of a blocker or cast a removal spell on the attacker.
  • Sacrificing Blockers: As discussed, you can block and then sacrifice a creature. This keeps the attacker blocked, preventing damage to you or your planeswalker, but the sacrificed creature won’t deal any combat damage.
  • Trample Matters: If the attacking creature has trample, it only needs to assign lethal damage to all blocking creatures. Any remaining damage is then dealt to the defending player or planeswalker. This makes multi-blocking against tramplers risky unless you can ensure the attacker is completely neutralized.

FAQs: Mastering the Art of Blocking

Here are some frequently asked questions (FAQs) to further solidify your understanding of blocking rules in Magic: The Gathering:

FAQ 1: What happens if an attacker with Trample is blocked by multiple creatures?

The attacking player must assign lethal damage to each blocking creature before assigning any damage to the defending player or planeswalker. If the attacking creature has more power than the combined toughness of the blockers, the excess damage is “trampled” over to the player or planeswalker.

FAQ 2: Can I change the damage assignment order after it’s been declared?

No. Once the damage assignment order is declared, it cannot be changed unless an effect specifically allows it.

FAQ 3: If I block a creature with Deathtouch with multiple creatures, what happens?

If an attacking creature with deathtouch is blocked by multiple creatures, the attacking player still assigns damage in the declared order. However, because of deathtouch, assigning just one point of damage to each blocker is considered lethal (unless the blocker is indestructible). Therefore, the attacking player can, if they choose, assign one damage to each blocker.

FAQ 4: How does First Strike or Double Strike affect multi-blocking?

Creatures with first strike or double strike deal combat damage in a separate first combat damage step. If a creature with first strike blocks an attacker, it deals damage first. If that damage is lethal and kills the attacker, the other blockers will not take any damage in the normal combat damage step. With double strike, the creature deals damage in both the first and the normal combat damage steps.

FAQ 5: Can I block with a tapped creature?

No, a creature must be untapped to be declared as a blocker.

FAQ 6: Can a creature block more than one attacking creature?

Generally, no. A creature can only block one attacking creature at a time unless it has an ability that allows it to block additional creatures (e.g., “This creature can block an additional creature each combat.”).

FAQ 7: What if I block and then sacrifice the blocking creature?

The attacking creature remains blocked, even though the blocking creature is no longer on the battlefield. It will not deal combat damage to you or your planeswalker unless it has trample or a similar ability. The sacrificed creature won’t deal any combat damage either.

FAQ 8: What happens if a creature with Indestructible blocks a creature with Deathtouch?

Indestructible trumps deathtouch. A creature with indestructible cannot be destroyed, even by damage from a creature with deathtouch.

FAQ 9: Does Hexproof prevent a creature from being blocked?

Hexproof only prevents a creature from being targeted by your opponents’ spells or abilities. It does not prevent a creature from being blocked.

FAQ 10: What is the “sacrifice” rule?

To sacrifice a permanent means to move it directly from the battlefield to its owner’s graveyard. A player cannot sacrifice something they don’t control or something that isn’t a permanent.

FAQ 11: Does Deathtouch work on Planeswalkers?

No, deathtouch only affects creatures. To damage a planeswalker with a creature, you need to attack the planeswalker and have the creature deal combat damage to it. Effects that deal damage to creatures are ineffective against planeswalkers.

FAQ 12: If a creature with double strike is blocked, does it deal damage to the player if it kills the blocker in the first strike combat damage step?

No, unless the attacking creature has trample and assigns enough damage to the blocking creature(s) to kill it, and then can assign excess damage to the player or planeswalker. A common new player mistake is that double strike, if it kills the sole defender will then go on to hit the player. This isn’t true (unless you have trample and enough damage to hit the player with it).

FAQ 13: How many times can you block in a turn?

The same creature can block multiple times in a turn if there are multiple combat phases. The rules for assigning blockers don’t consider any other blocking decisions that may have happened earlier in the turn during a different combat phase.

FAQ 14: What is the interaction between Deathtouch and Trample?

Deathtouch enhances Trample. You only need to assign 1 damage to each blocking creature with deathtouch, then all excess damage can trample over to the defending player.

FAQ 15: Can a creature with defender block?

Yes! The defender keyword only prevents a creature from attacking; it doesn’t restrict its ability to block.

Conclusion: Mastering the Block

Blocking with multiple creatures is a vital skill in Magic: The Gathering. It allows you to protect yourself, control the battlefield, and gain a strategic advantage. Understanding the nuances of damage assignment, creature abilities, and instant-speed interactions is essential for mastering this art. Practice your blocking techniques, analyze your opponent’s threats, and you’ll become a formidable defender.

For more insights into the strategic depths of games and their educational potential, consider exploring the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.

Leave a Comment