Can You Block with a Creature Multiple Times in Magic: The Gathering?
The short answer is, generally, no. In the vast majority of situations in Magic: The Gathering, a single creature can only block a single attacking creature during each combat phase. However, as with most things in Magic, there are exceptions and nuances to understand! Let’s delve into the fascinating world of blocking and uncover the intricacies of this crucial mechanic.
Understanding the Basics of Blocking
Before exploring the exceptions, let’s solidify the core rules of blocking. The Declare Blockers Step happens after the attacker declares their attackers. During this step, the defending player chooses which of their untapped creatures will block which attackers. Each creature can only block one attacker. However, multiple creatures can block the same attacker.
This is where strategy comes into play. You might choose to gang up on a powerful attacker with several weaker creatures or dedicate a single, strong blocker to neutralize a threat. But keep in mind, once a creature is assigned to block, it’s locked into that engagement for that combat phase, unless something removes it from combat.
The Exceptions: Creatures That Can Block Multiple Attackers
The main way around the one-blocker-per-creature rule is through specific card abilities. Certain creatures have abilities that explicitly allow them to block more than one attacker.
- “This creature can block an additional N creatures each combat.”: This is the most straightforward way to grant a creature the ability to block multiple attackers. Cards like [[Guardian of the Gateless]] exemplify this. This mechanic used to be primary in white and green, but is seen in all colors now.
It’s crucial to carefully read the text of each card. These abilities are always explicitly stated on the card itself.
Blocking Multiple Attackers: Strategic Implications
When you can block multiple attackers with a single creature, the strategic landscape of a game changes dramatically. It allows you to:
- Conserve your defenses: Block more attackers with fewer blockers, freeing up other creatures to attack or defend elsewhere.
- Control the board: Neutralize multiple threats simultaneously, slowing down your opponent’s offensive momentum.
- Survive overwhelming attacks: When facing a horde of attackers, the ability to block multiple creatures can be the difference between victory and defeat.
Advanced Blocking Concepts
Beyond the basic rules and exceptions, here are some more advanced concepts related to blocking:
- Order of Combat Damage: When multiple creatures block a single attacker, the attacking player chooses the order in which the blockers will receive combat damage. The attacker must assign lethal damage to the first blocker in the order before assigning any damage to the next blocker.
- First Strike and Double Strike: Creatures with first strike deal combat damage before creatures without it. This can be devastating to blocking creatures, potentially eliminating them before they have a chance to deal damage. Double strike allows a creature to deal damage in both the first strike damage step and the regular combat damage step.
- Deathtouch: A creature with deathtouch only needs to deal one point of damage to destroy another creature. This is particularly effective when blocking, as even a small amount of damage will be lethal.
- Trample: If an attacking creature with trample is blocked, it only needs to assign lethal damage to the blocking creatures. Any remaining damage is then dealt to the defending player or planeswalker.
- Sacrificing Blockers: You can block with a creature and then sacrifice it before combat damage is dealt. The attacking creature will remain blocked, but no combat damage will be dealt by the sacrificed creature.
FAQs: Blocking in Magic: The Gathering
Here are some Frequently Asked Questions to further clarify the rules and strategies around blocking:
1. What happens if I block with a creature and then it’s removed from combat?
The attacking creature remains blocked. If the attacking creature has trample, it can assign its combat damage to the defending player or planeswalker it is attacking. If the attacking creature does not have trample, the attacking creature does not deal combat damage to anything.
2. Can a creature with summoning sickness block?
Yes! Creatures with summoning sickness can block. The restriction of summoning sickness only prevents a creature from attacking or using activated abilities that include the tap symbol in the cost.
3. Does deathtouch work when blocking?
Yes. Deathtouch works any time a creature with deathtouch deals damage. If a creature with deathtouch blocks an attacking creature, only one point of damage needs to be assigned by the blocking creature to be lethal.
4. How does indestructible interact with deathtouch?
Indestructible creatures ignore deathtouch. A creature with indestructible cannot be destroyed by deathtouch.
5. Can a creature with protection from a color block a creature of that color?
No. A creature with protection from a color cannot be blocked by creatures of that color.
6. How does first strike affect blocking?
A creature with first strike deals combat damage before creatures without it. This means a creature with first strike can potentially destroy a blocking creature before it has a chance to deal damage.
7. If a double strike creature is blocked, does it deal damage to the player if the blocker dies in the first strike damage step?
No, unless the attacking creature also has trample and there is damage in excess of the defending blockers toughness, it will not. A blocked creature remains blocked, even if the blocker is removed.
8. What happens if I block with a creature and then sacrifice it?
The attacking creature remains blocked, but no combat damage is dealt by the sacrificed creature. If the attacking creature has trample, it can assign its combat damage to the defending player or planeswalker.
9. Can I change my blockers after they’ve been declared?
No, unless an effect or ability allows you to do so. Once blockers are declared, they are locked in for the current combat phase.
10. Does lifelink work when blocking?
Yes. Lifelink is triggered by any damage the creature deals and will work when blocking as normal.
11. How does trample work with multiple blockers?
The attacking creature must assign lethal damage to all blocking creatures before any excess damage can be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker.
12. If I block with two creatures, who decides the order the attacker deals damage?
The attacking player chooses the order in which their attacking creature will assign combat damage to the blocking creatures.
13. Does hexproof stop deathtouch?
No. Hexproof prevents a creature from being targeted by spells or abilities your opponents control. Deathtouch is a static ability, not a targeted effect.
14. Can a creature with zero power and deathtouch destroy a blocking creature?
No. A creature with zero power cannot deal damage, therefore deathtouch will not work.
15. What is the best way to improve my blocking strategy in Magic?
Practice, practice, practice! The more you play, the better you’ll become at recognizing threats, evaluating board states, and making optimal blocking decisions. Consider joining the Games Learning Society to connect with other players and learn from experienced strategists. GamesLearningSociety.org offers a community of fellow gamers.