Can you cast 2 fireballs with action surge 5e?

Can You Cast Two Fireballs with Action Surge in 5e?

The short, and somewhat disappointing, answer is: No, you cannot cast two Fireballs using Action Surge in a single turn in D&D 5th Edition. While the idea of unleashing a double dose of fiery destruction might sound appealing, the game mechanics and spellcasting rules prevent this powerful combination. Let’s dive deeper into why this is the case and explore the intricacies of Action Surge and spellcasting.

Understanding Action Surge and Spellcasting Rules

Action Surge: The Fighter’s Extra Action

Action Surge is a powerful ability unique to the Fighter class. It allows a Fighter to take one additional action on their turn. This extra action is incredibly versatile, letting them attack again, dash further, or use other actions as needed. At 17th level, Fighters can use Action Surge twice between rests, but can still only use it once per turn. The key point to remember is that it provides an extra action, not an extra turn or bonus action.

The Spellcasting Limitations

D&D 5e has specific rules governing spellcasting, primarily to prevent spellcasters from becoming overwhelmingly powerful. The main rule that stops us from casting two Fireballs in a single turn is that if you cast a spell as a bonus action, the only other spells you can cast on that turn must be cantrips with a casting time of 1 action. This rule is designed to limit the number of high-level spells a character can cast in a single turn, especially with effects like the Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell metamagic.

Why Action Surge Doesn’t Bypass Spellcasting Rules

Action Surge gives you an additional action, and you can use that additional action for anything you would normally be able to do with your action, including casting a spell. The issue isn’t the ability to use the action to cast; it’s the limitations between spell castings.

The core rules of 5e prohibit casting two leveled spells in a single turn if any leveled spell was cast as a bonus action. This isn’t relevant when considering casting two fireballs, as fireball takes an action to cast.

However, you also cannot cast two leveled spells on the same turn, even with action surge. If you use your normal action to cast a leveled spell like Fireball, the rules simply forbid you from casting any other spell that isn’t a cantrip with an action as casting time. Action Surge cannot be used to bypass this restriction.

The Illusion of Double Fireballs

The confusion often arises because people see Action Surge as a free pass to ignore all limitations. It’s an extra action, yes, but it is still constrained by the rules of the game. While a Fighter can use Action Surge to take the Attack action multiple times in a turn for extra attacks, the limitations on spellcasting are different.

If you could cast two fireballs with action surge, then a level 5 Fighter 1/Sorcerer 4 (which is completely doable) would be able to output 16d6 fire damage on every single combat for the first two combats of the day. This is a massive amount of damage that is not intended to be available.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the interactions between Action Surge and spellcasting, along with other related rules:

1. Can a Sorcerer cast two leveled spells in one turn using any combination of their Metamagic options?

No. If a Sorcerer uses Quickened Spell to cast a leveled spell as a bonus action, their action can only be used to cast a cantrip. No amount of Sorcery Points can get them around this. Similarly, a Sorcerer can not use Twinned Spell to cast Fireball twice.

2. Can I cast Fireball and another spell of equal or lower level with Action Surge?

No. The main issue is that once you use your action to cast a leveled spell (or your bonus action), the only other spells you can cast that turn must be cantrips with a casting time of 1 action. Action Surge doesn’t circumvent this spellcasting rule.

3. Can I use Action Surge to cast two cantrips in the same turn?

Yes, you can cast two cantrips with a casting time of one action using your action and your action surge.

4. Does Action Surge give me an extra bonus action?

No, Action Surge gives you only an additional action. It does not grant you an extra bonus action or reaction.

5. Can a Fighter with Action Surge use Two-Weapon Fighting twice in a turn?

No. You only have one bonus action. While a Fighter can take the Attack action twice using Action Surge, they can only use their single bonus action to make a single extra attack.

6. Can I stack multiple Action Surges together?

No, you can only use Action Surge once per turn, even if you have multiple uses available from higher levels.

7. Can a Wizard use Action Surge to cast two Fireballs?

No. Action Surge is a Fighter-specific ability and does not alter the spellcasting restrictions. Even if a Wizard gained the ability to use Action Surge, the rules above about spellcasting would prevent them from casting two fireballs.

8. Can a Sorcerer use Quickened Spell to cast two Fireballs?

No. Quickened Spell allows a Sorcerer to cast a spell as a bonus action. If you cast a spell with a bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip with a 1 action casting time with your regular action.

9. Can a Warlock cast Eldritch Blast twice with Action Surge?

No. While Eldritch Blast has a casting time of 1 action, and Action Surge provides an extra action to take, it is a spell and the rule about only casting a cantrip if you have already cast a spell applies.

10. Can I use a bonus action spell and then Action Surge to cast a leveled spell?

No. The restriction still applies. If you cast any spell (leveled or cantrip) as a bonus action, the only other spells you can cast that turn are cantrips with a casting time of one action.

11. How many attacks can a high-level Fighter make with Action Surge?

A level 20 Fighter with Action Surge can take the Attack action twice. If the Fighter has 4 attacks from taking the Attack Action, then this would be 8 total attacks.

12. Can I use Action Surge to take the Dash action twice in a turn?

Yes. You can use both your action and the extra action from Action Surge to take the Dash action, effectively doubling your movement speed that turn.

13. Can I use Action Surge to activate a magic item that has an action casting time twice in one turn?

Yes, Action Surge lets you take an extra action, allowing you to activate a magic item that requires an action twice in the same turn. However, any restrictions on casting two leveled spells in the same turn would apply if the item casts a spell.

14. Can I counterspell a counterspell with Action Surge?

While you can’t use Action Surge to cast an additional counterspell, you can use your reaction to cast counterspell if a foe is trying to counter your spell. You do not need an action to cast counterspell.

15. Can Dread Ambusher work twice with action surge?

Yes, because Dread Ambusher activates when you take the Attack Action on your turn. Because Action Surge allows you to take a second Attack Action, Dread Ambusher would activate again.

Conclusion

While the allure of double Fireballs is strong, the rules of D&D 5e prevent this from becoming a reality. Action Surge is a powerful tool, but it is not a bypass to the fundamental rules of spellcasting. Understanding the intricacies of Action Surge and spellcasting limitations is crucial for building effective and balanced characters. The key takeaway here is that Action Surge is powerful, but it’s designed to enhance a Fighter’s capabilities within the established rules, not to break them. Always refer back to the core rules when questions arise, and remember that the game is intended to be fun and challenging within the confines of those rules.

Leave a Comment