Can You Cast 2 Leveled Spells in One Turn?
The short, direct answer is: no, you generally cannot cast two leveled spells in a single turn in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e). The core rules of 5e are quite specific about spellcasting action economy, and they place a firm limitation on the use of leveled spells. While there are some nuanced exceptions involving cantrips and certain specific class features, the general rule is that you’re limited to casting one spell of 1st level or higher per turn. This rule applies regardless of whether the spell requires an action, a bonus action, or even a reaction.
This limitation is a deliberate design choice to help maintain balance in the game, preventing spellcasters from overwhelming encounters with multiple high-impact spells in a single turn. It ensures that players, both those playing spellcasters and those facing them, must strategize and choose the right moment to unleash their magical abilities, rather than just firing off their most powerful spells one after another.
The key to understanding this rule lies in understanding bonus action spells. If you cast a spell with your bonus action, any other spell you cast on that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This rule is often misconstrued, leading to confusion, but the core restriction remains: you are limited to only one leveled spell per turn.
Breaking Down the Spellcasting Rules
To fully grasp why you can’t cast two leveled spells on your turn, let’s delve into the core mechanics of spellcasting in 5e:
Action and Bonus Action Spells
Most spells require either a standard action or a bonus action to cast. Some spells also have a reaction casting time. However, the restriction on leveled spells primarily focuses on actions and bonus actions.
A spell that uses your action might be something like Fireball or Cure Wounds. On the other hand, a bonus action spell might be something like Healing Word or Misty Step. The crucial rule to remember is:
- If you cast any spell using your bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip with your action.
- If you cast a leveled spell using your action, you cannot cast a bonus action spell of any level.
Cantrips: The Exception
Cantrips are spells that are considered 0-level spells. They are not limited by the same rules as leveled spells. However, this doesn’t mean you can freely spam cantrips. If you cast a bonus action spell, you can only use your action to cast a cantrip. You can cast two cantrips in one turn, only if neither of them is cast as a bonus action, and neither is a reaction.
The ‘No Two Leveled Spells’ Rule
Regardless of their casting time, you can only ever cast one spell that is of 1st level or higher on your turn. This is the overarching principle that makes it generally impossible to cast two leveled spells. It is the single most important rule to remember when considering spellcasting action economy.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 related frequently asked questions to provide a more comprehensive understanding of the rules surrounding spellcasting and casting multiple spells in a single turn:
1. Can I cast a leveled spell and then a bonus action spell in the same turn?
No. If you cast a leveled spell using your action, you cannot then cast any bonus action spell that turn, including other leveled spells or cantrips.
2. Can I cast a bonus action spell and then a leveled spell as an action in the same turn?
No. If you cast any spell with your bonus action, the only other spell you can cast that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action. You are restricted from casting another leveled spell.
3. Can I cast two cantrips in the same turn?
Yes, you can cast two cantrips in the same turn, provided you do not cast any spell as a bonus action and/or reaction. The only restriction regarding cantrips is if you cast a bonus action spell – then the only other spell you can cast is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
4. Can I cast two leveled spells using Metamagic “Quickened Spell” on a Sorcerer?
No. Metamagic allows you to cast a spell with a bonus action using “Quickened Spell.” However, the usual “bonus action spell” restrictions still apply. If you cast any spell with your bonus action you cannot cast other leveled spells in the same turn, even with a normal action.
5. Can you cast a cantrip as a bonus action?
Normally, no, cantrips require an action to cast. The Sorcerer’s Metamagic (Quickened Spell) and the War Caster feat are exceptions where cantrips can be cast using a bonus action or a reaction respectively, but under normal circumstances, cantrips are action-based.
6. Does this rule apply to spells with a reaction casting time?
The rule restricting two leveled spells per turn applies to spells cast as actions and bonus actions. Spells that are cast as reactions are not restricted under this rule, though certain conditions might apply to their casting.
7. Can I cast a higher-level spell using a lower-level spell slot?
No. A spell can only be cast with a spell slot of the same level or higher than the spell’s level.
8. Can I cast a lower-level spell using a higher-level spell slot?
Yes. You can always cast a spell using a higher-level spell slot. Sometimes, this enhances the effect of the spell, but it is not always the case. For example, Magic Missile gains additional darts when cast with a higher level slot.
9. Do cantrips count as leveled spells?
No. Cantrips are 0-level spells and are treated separately. They do not count toward your limit of one leveled spell per turn, unless they are cast as bonus action spells, then the restriction applies to other spells.
10. Can I counterspell a cantrip?
Yes. Cantrips are spells, so they are fair game for counterspell. Counterspell works against any spell of 3rd level or lower.
11. Can I counterspell a counterspell?
Yes. You can absolutely counterspell an attempt to counterspell your spell.
12. Can you twin Eldritch Blast?
Yes, you can. When cast by a character between 1st and 4th level, Eldritch Blast can target only a single creature, making it eligible for the Sorcerer’s Twinned Spell Metamagic option.
13. Can you Twin Fireball?
No. Spells that affect an area (like Fireball) are not valid targets for the Twinned Spell Metamagic.
14. When do wizards get access to 2nd level spells?
Wizards, and other spellcasting classes, gain access to 2nd-level spells when they reach 3rd level in their class.
15. Can I cast Hex and Eldritch Blast in the same turn?
Yes, you can. Because Hex is a 1st level spell, you are restricted in which other spells you can cast. You cannot Quicken Eldritch Blast, a cantrip with an action casting time, in the same turn. However, you can cast Hex as a bonus action, and then use your action to cast Eldritch Blast, provided you have not already used a bonus action that turn. If you Quickened Eldritch Blast by using a bonus action, you cannot then cast any leveled spell on the same turn.
Conclusion
While it might be tempting to try to unleash a barrage of leveled spells in a single turn, the rules of D&D 5e are designed to promote strategic thinking and balanced gameplay. The restriction on casting two leveled spells in one turn is a core element of this design. Understanding these limitations is crucial for all players, whether they are wizards, sorcerers, or any other class with access to spellcasting. By adhering to these rules, players will create a better play experience for all at the table. The one-leveled-spell-per-turn rule promotes careful selection of action, bonus action, and reaction usage. It encourages deeper thought about which spell to cast and when to cast it, turning each encounter into a test of strategy and magical ingenuity.