Can You Cast a Cantrip and a Spell in the Same Round?
The short answer is: yes, absolutely, you can cast a cantrip and another spell in the same round in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e), but there are specific rules that govern when and how this can happen. This interaction is governed by the rules on bonus action spells and spellcasting restrictions, which, while straightforward, can sometimes cause confusion. Let’s delve into the details to clarify this common point of question for many players.
Understanding the Core Rule
The key rule to remember is this: If you cast a spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast during that same turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action. This rule is not about the number of spells you cast per round, but rather the way you are casting them. It’s essential to understand the difference.
Bonus Action Spells
Some spells have a casting time of one bonus action. If you use your bonus action to cast one of these spells, you are restricted in what you can cast with your action for that same turn. You cannot cast another levelled spell. For example, if you cast healing word (a bonus action spell), you cannot cast fireball (an action spell) that same turn. However, you can cast a cantrip like fire bolt or acid splash with your action.
Action Spells
Most spells require an action to cast. If you use your action to cast a spell, you haven’t imposed restrictions on your bonus action. This means you could cast any other spell with a casting time of a bonus action. Importantly, this also means that if you cast a cantrip as your action, you can still cast any bonus action spell.
The Cantrip Exception
Cantrips are fundamental spells that are cast at will and don’t consume spell slots. They are an essential part of the spellcasting classes, and they have their own specific rules. Critically, most cantrips have a casting time of one action, which makes them the only spells allowed when another spell has been cast as a bonus action.
Examples in Gameplay
To further illustrate, here are a few common scenarios:
- Scenario 1: A sorcerer casts misty step (a bonus action spell) to teleport away from an enemy and then follows up with a fire bolt cantrip using their action to attack the same enemy. This is completely within the rules.
- Scenario 2: A cleric casts healing word (a bonus action spell) to heal an ally, then follows up with the sacred flame cantrip using their action. This is a valid combination of spells.
- Scenario 3: A wizard casts fireball (an action spell) and then tries to cast misty step (a bonus action spell) on the same turn. This is also completely valid.
- Scenario 4: A wizard casts magic missile (an action spell) and then tries to cast scorching ray (another action spell) using their action. This is invalid; a single action can only be used for one action spell.
Key Takeaways
- If you cast a bonus action spell, you are limited to a single action cantrip for your action on the same turn.
- If you cast a spell with an action, you can still cast any bonus action spell in the same turn, and you can even use your reaction for something like shield or counterspell.
- Cantrips do not break any of these rules, as long as they meet the conditions.
- The restriction is on casting spells on the same turn, not in the same round.
- Spells cast as reactions are separate from the main action and bonus action rule.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some FAQs to further clarify the relationship between cantrips and other spells:
1. Can you cast a cantrip with a spell slot?
No, you cannot cast a cantrip with a spell slot. Cantrips are 0-level spells that are cast without using spell slots. This is a core aspect of their design, making them available for use at will.
2. Can you cast two cantrips in one turn?
Yes, you can cast two cantrips in one turn if you have the means to do so. For example, if you have a feature that grants you a second action (such as a fighter’s Action Surge), or cast one using your action and another with a bonus action, such as with the Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell metamagic, you could cast two cantrips. However, you cannot cast two cantrips using just the action.
3. Can you cast two cantrips if you have multiple attacks?
While a class feature like the Eldritch Knight’s War Magic allows you to cast a cantrip in place of one of your attacks during the Attack action, you can only use this feature once per Attack action. You cannot replace more than one attack with a cantrip. You would need another way to cast another cantrip or use another action to cast another spell.
4. Can cantrips be cast infinitely?
Yes, cantrips can generally be cast infinitely. As long as you know them, you can cast them without limit, unless a specific feature or item says otherwise.
5. Do cantrips count as casting spells?
Yes, cantrips are spells and are subject to rules that apply to spellcasting, such as those relating to being attacked while casting, or breaking invisibility.
6. Is there a limit on the number of cantrips cast per round?
The primary restriction on cantrip casting per round comes from the action/bonus action spell rule. You can cast as many cantrips as your available actions and bonus actions will allow, provided you follow the bonus action rule.
7. Can you rage and cast cantrips?
No, you cannot cast spells, including cantrips, while you are raging. Raging requires you to be focused on melee combat and is incompatible with spellcasting.
8. Can you cast two spells in one round?
Yes, you can cast two spells in one round, as long as they adhere to the rules outlined earlier. This includes the one bonus action rule, which typically limits you to a single bonus action and the restriction of casting a cantrip with one action if you have used your bonus action for a different spell.
9. Can you cast a cantrip as a bonus action?
Generally, cantrips require an action to cast. However, some features such as the Sorcerer’s Metamagic option, Quickened Spell, can allow a cantrip to be cast as a bonus action, or the War Caster feat which could allow a cantrip as a reaction.
10. Do cantrips count against spell slots?
No, cantrips do not use spell slots. This is a fundamental feature of cantrips, making them a source of consistent magic throughout adventuring.
11. Can you cast a cantrip while holding a weapon?
Whether you can cast a cantrip while holding a weapon depends on whether the spell has a somatic component. If it does, you need a free hand. If there are no somatic components for the cantrip you are casting, then you can cast the spell whilst holding weapons.
12. Can you cast a cantrip as a 1st level spell?
No, you cannot cast a cantrip as a leveled spell. Cantrips are 0-level spells. They cannot be prepared or cast using spell slots.
13. Are cantrips reusable?
Yes, cantrips are reusable. They do not consume spell slots and can be cast as many times as you wish.
14. Do cantrips scale with total level?
Yes, cantrips do scale with total character level and not the level of a specific spell casting class. This means that a multiclass character will use their full character level for the damage output of a cantrip, not the level of a specific spellcasting class they have taken.
15. Does a cantrip break invisibility?
Yes, a cantrip can break invisibility. Casting any spell, cantrips included, ends the invisibility spell effect because of the nature of spell casting.
Conclusion
The interaction between cantrips and other spells in D&D 5e is governed by a few straightforward, yet important rules. Understanding these restrictions is critical to maximizing a spellcaster’s capabilities. While the rules can initially seem complex, they are quite simple. Ultimately, this is all about understanding the timing of your actions and bonus actions, as well as being able to plan your moves ahead of time. So go forth, cast your cantrips and spells effectively, and adventure onward!