Can you cast a cantrip and a spell in the same turn?

Can You Cast a Cantrip and a Spell in the Same Turn in D&D 5e? A Comprehensive Guide

The answer is yes, but with crucial caveats. The core rule revolves around the use of a bonus action spell. If you cast any spell as a bonus action – and remember, cantrips are spells too – the only other spell you can cast on that same turn is a cantrip with a casting time of one action. In other scenarios, you might be able to cast two cantrips, or a leveled spell and a cantrip, depending on the actions available to you. Let’s break this down with precision to avoid any tabletop confusion.

Understanding the Action Economy in D&D 5e

D&D 5e operates on a system of actions, bonus actions, reactions, and movement. Each turn, you typically have one action, one bonus action (if you qualify for one), movement, and one reaction (which can occur outside your turn). This structure significantly impacts spellcasting. Most spells, including many cantrips, require an action to cast. Bonus actions can be used for specific spells or class features that allow for faster casting. The interaction of these components is where the “cantrip and spell” rule becomes relevant.

The Bonus Action Spellcasting Rule

The critical rule is this: If you cast a spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action. This means if you, for example, cast Healing Word (a leveled spell with a bonus action casting time), you can only cast a cantrip like Fire Bolt or Sacred Flame using your action. You cannot cast another leveled spell, even if it uses an action.

This rule is a significant limiter, preventing powerful combinations of leveled spells in a single turn. It’s intended to balance spellcasting and prevent characters from overwhelming encounters with multiple high-impact spells simultaneously.

Scenarios Where You Can Cast Multiple Spells

  • Leveled Spell (Action) + Cantrip (Bonus Action): This is possible if you have a feature that allows you to cast a spell as a bonus action (such as the Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell metamagic). Cast a leveled spell with your action, and then use a bonus action to cast a cantrip.
  • Two Cantrips (Action + Bonus Action): As long as neither cantrip is being cast as a bonus action as the only other spell that you can cast is a cantrip with a casting time of one action.. If you have a way to cast a cantrip as a bonus action, and a separate action available, you can cast two cantrips in a single turn.
  • Two Cantrips (Multiple Actions): Certain features, such as the Fighter’s Action Surge, grant you an additional action on your turn. This allows you to cast two cantrips, each using one action, provided neither is cast as a bonus action.

Cantrips: More Than Just Weak Spells

Cantrips are often underestimated, but they are essential tools for spellcasters. They can be cast at will, without expending spell slots, making them reliable options in any combat scenario. Understanding the interaction between cantrips and leveled spells is crucial for effective character optimization. They are “free” spells and they can be cast whenever your character is able to do so.

Examples in Action

Let’s illustrate with some examples:

  • Good: A Cleric casts Cure Wounds (action) and then Sacred Flame (cantrip, bonus action). This is within the rules.
  • Bad: A Sorcerer casts Fireball (action) and then Misty Step (bonus action). This violates the bonus action spellcasting rule; if Misty Step is cast as a bonus action, the other spell must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action
  • Good: A Fighter/Wizard uses Action Surge. They cast Fire Bolt (action), use Action Surge, and cast Ray of Frost (cantrip, action). This works because both spells are cantrips and he is simply using two actions to perform the two casts.

FAQs: Mastering the Cantrip and Spellcasting Rules

Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of casting cantrips and spells in the same turn:

1. Can I cast a leveled spell and then a bonus action cantrip?

Yes. If you cast a leveled spell with your action, you can cast a cantrip as a bonus action (assuming you have a feature that allows it).

2. If I cast a cantrip as a bonus action, can I still cast a leveled spell with my action?

No. The bonus action spell rule dictates that if you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast is a cantrip with a casting time of one action.

3. Can I cast two cantrips in one turn without using a bonus action?

Yes. If you have a feature that grants you multiple actions (like Action Surge), you can cast two cantrips, each using one action.

4. Does casting a cantrip take an action?

Yes, most cantrips have a casting time of “1 action.” Some might have different casting times, such as a bonus action or reaction. Always check the spell description.

5. Can I cast a cantrip and a spell with Quickened Spell metamagic?

Yes. The Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell metamagic allows you to cast a spell with a casting time of one action as a bonus action. You can then cast a cantrip with your action.

6. Can I twin cast cantrips?

Yes, provided you are a Sorcerer with the Twinned Spell metamagic and have enough sorcery points. The cantrips must target different creatures.

7. Do cantrips count as casting spells for breaking Invisibility?

Yes. Casting any spell, including a cantrip, will break the Invisibility spell.

8. Do I need a free hand to cast cantrips?

It depends. If the cantrip has a somatic component, you need at least one hand free to perform the gestures. Material components also require a free hand to access.

9. Can you cast cantrips as much as you want?

Yes. You can cast cantrips as often as you want, as long as you have the available action or bonus action needed for the casting time.

10. If a cantrip is cast as a bonus action, does this affect concentration?

No. Casting a cantrip doesn’t inherently break concentration unless the cantrip itself requires concentration. It’s the act of casting another concentration spell that breaks concentration on the first.

11. Can I cast a cantrip and then a bonus action spell?

No. Because casting the Bonus Action spell limits you to only casting a one action cantrip for your next spell. You can only cast a Bonus Action spell after casting a one action cantrip.

12. Does casting a cantrip use a spell slot?

No. Cantrips are cast without using spell slots. They are “at-will” spells.

13. Can you cast a cantrip while holding a weapon?

If the cantrip has a somatic component, you need a free hand to perform the gestures. If there’s no somatic component, then you can cast it while your hands are full.

14. Can you cast a cantrip and a spell in the same turn if one of them is a reaction?

Yes. Because the limitations only apply to action and bonus action spells, if you have a reaction to cast a spell then you can still cast a leveled spell as an action, or use your bonus action to cast a cantrip.

15. How do I get more cantrips in 5e?

You get more cantrips based on your class levels. Each class specifies at which level more cantrips are learned.

Conclusion: Mastering Spellcasting

The rules governing spellcasting in D&D 5e, especially concerning cantrips and bonus actions, can seem complex at first. However, with a clear understanding of the action economy and the bonus action spellcasting rule, you can effectively manage your spells and actions to maximize your character’s potential. Remember to consult your Player’s Handbook and spell descriptions for specific details. It is the knowledge that you as a player bring to the table that dictates how effective your spellcasting character will be.

For more on the intersection of games and learning, visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.

Leave a Comment