Can you cast and use mage hand in the same turn?

Can You Cast and Use Mage Hand in the Same Turn?

The short answer is no, not initially. While the Mage Hand cantrip is a versatile tool for adventurers, it doesn’t allow for immediate use on the turn it’s cast when you first obtain the spell. You must use your action to cast Mage Hand, and then on a subsequent turn, you must use your action to manipulate it. However, the rules also allow some exceptions, so understanding how Mage Hand and action economy works is crucial for any aspiring spellcaster. Let’s dive deeper into the mechanics of this often-misunderstood cantrip.

Understanding the Action Economy

The core issue stems from the way actions, bonus actions, and spellcasting interact in D&D 5th Edition. Typically, each turn you have:

  • One Action
  • One Bonus Action
  • Movement

Spells often require either an action or a bonus action to cast. Crucially, the rules for casting spells limit you to one non-cantrip spell on a turn if you use a bonus action to cast a spell.
Mage Hand, by default, uses your action to cast. Once cast, using the hand requires a separate action. This means that upon first casting Mage Hand, you can not use the hand in the same turn. The core of the action economy dictates that you need one action to set the effect in motion and another action to activate it.

The Arcane Trickster Exception

The core rule, that one action must be used to cast and another action to manipulate, is the basis for standard play. However, the Rogue’s Arcane Trickster subclass provides an exception. Starting at 3rd level, Arcane Tricksters gain the ability to cast Mage Hand as a bonus action. Further, they can make the spectral hand invisible and perform additional tasks with it. This is a significant upgrade, allowing them to both cast and then manipulate the hand on the same turn, greatly enhancing their action economy and utility of this cantrip.

Benefits of Bonus Action Casting

Being able to cast Mage Hand as a bonus action is a game changer for several reasons:

  • Action Flexibility: It frees up your action for other activities on the same turn, such as attacking, casting another spell (provided it’s a cantrip), or using a class feature.
  • Enhanced Stealth: The hand becomes invisible, making it harder for enemies to detect.
  • Expanded Utility: The Arcane Trickster can use the hand to perform tasks like pickpocketing, stowing objects, or using thieves tools remotely.

FAQs About Mage Hand

Let’s explore some common questions and nuances surrounding the Mage Hand cantrip.

Can I have multiple Mage Hands active at once?

Yes, but only if you’re a class that supports it, usually after gaining a certain level. The Arcane Trickster subclass specifically allows for this. Once you have one Mage Hand active, you can cast another as a bonus action. You can only control one active hand at a time, using your bonus action to do so. You can however alternate, provided you have enough bonus actions.

How far can the Mage Hand move?

The Mage Hand can move up to 30 feet each time you use it, during the action or bonus action (if an Arcane Trickster) on your turn. This makes it ideal for manipulating objects at a distance.

What can the Mage Hand do?

The Mage Hand can:

  • Manipulate an object.
  • Open an unlocked door or container.
  • Stow or retrieve an item from an open container.
  • Pour the contents out of a vial.

What are the limitations of Mage Hand?

The Mage Hand cannot:

  • Attack.
  • Activate magical items.
  • Carry more than 10 pounds.
  • Pick locks (unless you are an Arcane Trickster).

Can Mage Hand go through solid objects?

No, based on the general spellcasting rules, you cannot cast the Mage Hand through a window unless you have some other direct way of doing so.

Can Mage Hand take items from creatures?

A regular Mage Hand cannot take items directly from a creature. It is not invisible and would be noticed. The Arcane Trickster’s version of Mage Hand can, however, stow an object in a container carried or worn by another creature.

Can Mage Hand be attacked or damaged?

No, the Mage Hand is a magical effect, not a creature. It has no AC, HP, and it cannot take damage. It also has no saving throws.

Can Mage Hand use tools?

The Arcane Trickster’s enhanced version of Mage Hand allows it to use thieves’ tools to disarm traps or pick locks from a distance.

Can Mage Hand open a bag of holding?

Yes, the Mage Hand can retrieve items from a Bag of Holding as it’s essentially a bag that’s bigger on the inside. You’ll still need to be able to see the contents to grab what you want (or rely on a fair bit of luck).

Can Mage Hand open a chest?

Yes, the Mage Hand can be used to open chests or bags, provided they are not locked or magically sealed.

Can Mage Hand lift other creatures?

Mage Hand cannot lift anything over 10lbs. The DM can make exceptions to this, if they wish.

Can Mage Hand interact with fire?

Yes, within the 10 lb limit you could use a container with water to extinguish a fire, however, if the fire is large the water may need several trips.

Can you cast a spell and use an item in the same turn?

Yes, you’re not casting a spell with the item, you’re using an item. So you can cast a spell with a bonus action and then use the item for a full spell.

Does a spellcaster need a free hand to cast spells?

A spellcaster needs a free hand to access a spell’s material components or hold a spellcasting focus, but it can be the same hand used for somatic components.

Can you cast spells while concentrating?

Yes, you can cast another spell that isn’t a concentration spell while already concentrating. Casting a second concentration spell will end the first. Also, even if a concentration cantrip has an instant effect, it will still end any previous concentration spell.

Conclusion

The Mage Hand cantrip is a powerful and versatile tool, though its effectiveness depends on the user’s class and level. While initially requiring separate turns to cast and activate, the Arcane Trickster’s enhanced version is one of the game’s strongest cantrips, and demonstrates how versatile and useful this simple magical ability can be. Understanding the nuances of spellcasting and action economy will help players fully utilize its potential in their adventures. By thinking creatively and carefully planning your turns, you can weave the most from this cantrip.

Leave a Comment