Can you cast hex and Eldritch blast on the same turn?

Can You Cast Hex and Eldritch Blast on the Same Turn in D&D 5e?

The short, definitive answer is yes, absolutely you can cast Hex and Eldritch Blast on the same turn in D&D 5th Edition. In fact, this combination is a core element of many effective Warlock builds. However, there are nuances and restrictions involving spellcasting rules that can often confuse players. This article will dive deep into the specifics of how Hex and Eldritch Blast interact, along with addressing a number of frequently asked questions related to these powerful spells and spellcasting rules in general.

The Core Interaction: Hex and Eldritch Blast

The reason you can use these spells together on the same turn boils down to their casting times. Hex is cast as a bonus action, while Eldritch Blast is cast as an action. This means that, according to the standard spellcasting rules, you can cast a spell with a bonus action and still cast a spell with your action as long as it is a cantrip or another spell, which is the case with Eldritch Blast.

The interplay between these two spells is particularly potent because Hex adds extra necrotic damage to each successful hit you make against the cursed target. Eldritch Blast, at higher levels, fires multiple beams, each capable of applying this extra damage. This effectively amplifies the damage output significantly, making the combination extremely popular and effective, especially at levels where Eldritch Blast can create multiple beams.

Why the confusion?

The confusion often stems from a common misinterpretation of the following spellcasting rule from the Player’s Handbook: “A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

The emphasis is on the cantrip exception. Since Eldritch Blast is a cantrip with a casting time of one action, it’s perfectly legal to cast it after using a bonus action to cast Hex. This is not an unusual combination, nor is it an “exploit”. It’s intended gameplay that takes the core mechanics of the spells into account.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Does Hex Apply to Each Eldritch Blast Beam?

Yes, absolutely. The Hex spell states that when you hit the cursed creature with an attack, you deal extra necrotic damage. Each beam of Eldritch Blast is considered a separate attack roll, so each beam that hits a target affected by Hex will deal the extra necrotic damage. This is one of the primary reasons that the Hex/Eldritch Blast combination is so powerful.

2. Can a Warlock Cast Hex and a Spell of 1st-Level or Higher on the Same Turn?

No, with a key exception: the use of Eldritch Blast. You can cast Hex (a bonus action) and then you are limited to casting a cantrip (with a casting time of 1 action) such as Eldritch Blast. You cannot cast Hex and then a spell such as Fireball or Hold Person on the same turn because Fireball and Hold Person are not cantrips.

3. Does Hex Add to the Damage of a Critical Hit with Eldritch Blast?

Yes. When you score a critical hit, you double the damage dice of the attack, including any extra damage dice from abilities like Hex. So, if you score a critical hit with Eldritch Blast against a cursed target, both the Eldritch Blast dice and the Hex damage dice will be doubled.

4. Can You Cast Eldritch Blast Twice in One Turn?

Normally, no. You can only cast one spell on your turn as an action (cantrip or otherwise). There are ways of overcoming this such as utilizing the sorcerer’s meta magic ability Quickened Spell.

5. Can You Use Quickened Spell on Eldritch Blast After Casting Hex?

No. If you cast Hex as a bonus action, it has nothing to do with using the sorcerer’s Quickened Spell metamagic on Eldritch Blast. Quickened Spell allows a sorcerer to cast a spell as a bonus action, but you are still limited by the rules of casting a spell as a bonus action – i.e. that on your turn if you cast a spell as a bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip as an action. A Warlock can’t use Quickened spell unless they have levels in Sorcerer.

6. Can You Cast Hex and Hexblade’s Curse on the Same Turn?

Yes. Hex is a spell requiring concentration, and Hexblade’s Curse is a class feature that does not require concentration. Therefore, these two can be stacked with each other.

7. Can a Warlock Cast Two Cantrips in One Turn?

You can’t cast two spells of 1st level or higher in the same turn. You can cast as many cantrips as you have actions for, though most characters have only one action. If you cast a spell of 1st level or higher, or a cantrip as a bonus action, you can cast a cantrip as your action.

8. Can a Warlock Cast Hex and Then Cast Eldritch Blast at Two Different Targets?

Eldritch Blast can be cast on two targets using the Eldritch Invocation called Eldritch Spear. Using Hex (bonus action) you can then use Eldritch Blast to attack two different targets as an action. The target of Hex will not change if you attack multiple targets with Eldritch Blast.

9. Is Hex a Trap in D&D 5E?

No, Hex is not a trap. In fact, it’s a very efficient spell when used correctly. The extra damage it provides, especially when combined with Eldritch Blast, is highly beneficial to the Warlock. It is a concentration spell, so you need to avoid being hit or losing your concentration.

10. Can Eldritch Blast be Modified by Eldritch Invocations?

Yes, absolutely. Eldritch Invocations are key to making Eldritch Blast so powerful. They can add bonuses to hit, damage, range, and even allow for attacks on multiple targets. Agonizing Blast is a key invocation that adds your Charisma modifier to the damage of each beam of Eldritch Blast. This is in addition to the hex damage.

11. Can You Cast Hex Multiple Times on the Same Target?

No. Hex specifies that only one target can be cursed at a time. Casting it a second time on the same target will overwrite the first casting. If the target dies or the spell ends, you can use your bonus action to move the curse to another target.

12. Can Hex Affect Magical Attacks?

Yes. Hex applies its extra damage to any attack that hits a cursed target, whether that attack is magical or non-magical. The source of damage can also be magical or non-magical so long as the attack itself hits.

13. Can a Warlock Move Between Eldritch Blast Attacks?

Yes. You can break up your movement on your turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action to fire Eldritch Blast, and then move 20 feet.

14. Does Hex Work With Other Spells?

Yes. The extra damage from Hex will apply to any attack roll you make against the cursed target, whether that attack is from a weapon or a spell, such as Scorching Ray.

15. Can You Infinitely Use Cantrips?

Yes. Any character can cast any cantrips they know at will and an unlimited number of times unless the feature that lets them cast it specifically says otherwise. This makes Eldritch Blast a very reliable source of damage throughout a Warlock’s adventuring career.

Conclusion

The combination of Hex and Eldritch Blast is not only legal but also a cornerstone of many powerful Warlock builds. Understanding the spellcasting rules and how they interact is vital to making the most of your character in D&D 5e. The ability to use a bonus action to curse a target and then unleash multiple beams of Eldritch Blast, each dealing additional damage, demonstrates the synergistic design of these powerful spells, and is crucial in understanding what makes a Warlock effective in combat. Don’t let confusion about spellcasting rules hold you back. Go forth and blast your enemies with confidence!

Leave a Comment