Can you cast multiple leveled spells with an action surge?

Can You Cast Multiple Leveled Spells with an Action Surge?

The short answer is no, you cannot cast multiple leveled spells on the same turn, even with Action Surge. The core limitation isn’t about having extra actions; it’s about the specific rules governing bonus action spells. While Action Surge grants you an extra action, the restrictions on spellcasting remain. Let’s delve into the details of why this is the case, and explore some common misconceptions about spellcasting and Action Surge.

Understanding the Core Spellcasting Restriction

The fundamental rule that prevents you from casting multiple leveled spells in a single turn centers around the usage of bonus action spells. If you cast any spell (leveled or cantrip) as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This restriction applies regardless of how you gain the bonus action. This is important: the rule doesn’t just apply to spells like healing word that are inherently bonus action spells, but also to spells that you can cast as a bonus action through a feature like Quicken Spell.

How Action Surge Works

Action Surge, a powerful feature available to Fighters, allows you to take one additional action on your turn. This can be used to perform any standard action – another Attack action, a Dash action, or even another spellcasting action. However, Action Surge does not grant you an extra bonus action, nor does it remove the limitations placed on spellcasting. It simply gives you an additional action.

The Interaction: Action Surge and Spellcasting

Here’s where the confusion often arises. Let’s say you are a Fighter who multiclassed into a spellcasting class. You use your action to cast a powerful leveled spell, such as fireball. You then use your Action Surge to get a second action. Now, if you want to cast a second spell, you might assume you can cast another leveled spell. However, the bonus action spell rule still applies. Because you have already cast a leveled spell with your first action, the only other spell you could cast in this turn has to be a cantrip with a casting time of one action. It doesn’t matter that you had two actions from Action Surge, and didn’t use a bonus action spell.

Common Misconceptions & Clarifications

To further clarify, here are some common misconceptions and important rule clarifications about Action Surge and spellcasting:

Action Surge does not provide a second Bonus Action

  • Action surge provides a second action, not a second bonus action. The rules specifically state that you can only take one bonus action on your turn, regardless of any extra actions available. This is why you cannot use a bonus action to cast a spell and also use a second bonus action to make a second offhand attack, or any other second bonus action.

Action Surge does not remove Spellcasting limitations

  • Action Surge doesn’t bypass the rule restricting the casting of more than one leveled spell per turn if you use a bonus action spell. The rule about bonus action spells dictates that the only other spell you can cast on that turn must be a cantrip with an action casting time.

Action Surge does not allow you to cast two bonus action spells

  • You can only have one bonus action per turn. Therefore, you can’t use Action Surge to circumvent this rule. If you use a bonus action spell, Action Surge will not permit you to cast another bonus action spell as well.

Action Surge and Multiple Attacks

  • If a Fighter uses Action Surge to take two Attack actions, they can indeed attack multiple times based on their level and class features (such as Extra Attack). However, if they were hoping to use a bonus action on one of these attacks and have it work twice with Action Surge, this also won’t work as only one bonus action can be taken per turn.

Haste and Action Surge

  • Both Haste and Action Surge give extra actions. Haste does have restrictions on what its additional action can be used for. These extra actions can be used for the same standard action in the same turn, unless that standard action specifically limits you (such as spellcasting).

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some FAQs to provide further clarity on spellcasting rules, Action Surge, and related mechanics:

1. Can I cast two leveled spells if one is from an item?

No. The restriction on casting leveled spells applies regardless of the source of the spell. If you cast a leveled spell from an item, you’re still bound by the rule that prevents you from casting another leveled spell during the same turn, unless the other spell is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

2. Can a Sorcerer cast two Fireballs using Quicken Spell and Action Surge?

No. Quicken Spell turns a spell with an action cast time into a bonus action cast time, but it still falls under the bonus action spell restriction. Even if you use Action Surge to gain another action, you still cannot cast two leveled spells. You could use quicken spell to cast fireball as a bonus action, then use your action and your action from action surge to cast cantrips.

3. Can I cast a 1st-level spell using a 2nd-level spell slot?

Yes. You can use a higher-level spell slot to cast a lower-level spell, without needing to upcast the spell.

4. Does Action Surge stack with Haste?

Yes. Haste grants an extra action per turn and Action Surge also grants one extra action once per rest (twice at higher levels). These extra actions can be used in the same turn. However, the action from Haste can only be used for specific types of actions, while the Action Surge action has no such limitations, except when casting spells.

5. Can I Dash twice with Action Surge?

Yes. Using Action Surge allows you to take an additional action, which can include taking another Dash action.

6. How many times can I use Action Surge?

At level 2, you can use Action Surge once per short or long rest. At level 17, this increases to twice per rest, but you can only use it once per turn.

7. Can I use Two-Weapon Fighting with Action Surge?

Yes. If you have the Extra Attack feature and you take the Attack Action, you can make two attacks with the action from Action Surge. If you are wielding two light weapons, you can use one of those Attack Actions to take a bonus action attack. However, you can still only use one bonus action per turn so you can’t do this twice in the same turn.

8. Does using a bonus action attack limit you as if you had cast a bonus action spell?

No. The bonus action spell rule only applies when you cast a spell as a bonus action. Using a bonus action to make an attack, such as using two-weapon fighting, does not trigger the spellcasting rule about limiting other spells to be cantrips.

9. Can I Counterspell a Counterspell?

Yes. You can counterspell a counterspell, provided you have a reaction available to do so.

10. Do you lose a spell slot if the spell fails?

If your concentration is broken while casting a spell with a longer casting time, the spell fails, but you do not lose the spell slot. However, if a spell fails for other reasons, like the creature having advantage on a save, you do lose the spell slot used to cast the spell.

11. Can Eldritch Blast be twinned?

If your Eldritch Blast targets only one creature (which is typically true for levels 1-4), it can be twinned. However, you cannot twin it if it targets multiple creatures.

12. When can you cast 2nd-level spells?

You can cast 2nd-level spells when your spellcasting class reaches level 3.

13. Can I cast Eldritch Blast twice using Action Surge?

Yes and No. With quickened spell and action surge, you could use a bonus action to cast a quickened spell and then use your regular action to cast Eldritch Blast and the action from Action Surge to cast Eldritch Blast again. So, technically yes, you can use Action Surge to cast Eldritch blast twice with other class features or abilities.

14. Can a 2nd-level spell take 2 spell slots?

No, a second-level spell only uses 1 spell slot. However, you can choose to use a higher level spell slot to cast it.

15. Can you cast a leveled spell and then a bonus action spell?

No. If you cast a leveled spell with your action, you can’t then cast a bonus action spell. You are limited to cantrips with a cast time of one action if you have used a bonus action spell.

Conclusion

While Action Surge is a powerful feature that grants an additional action, it is crucial to understand that it does not bypass the spellcasting rules related to bonus action spells. You cannot cast multiple leveled spells in a single turn, even with Action Surge. Understanding these core rules will help you play your spellcasting characters more effectively and strategically. Always consult the Player’s Handbook for the most accurate and updated rules.

Leave a Comment