Can you cast sorcery before upkeep?

Can You Cast a Sorcery Before Upkeep in Magic: The Gathering? A Comprehensive Guide

The short answer is no. You cannot cast a sorcery spell before the upkeep step in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). Sorceries can only be cast during your main phase when the stack is empty, and you have priority. The untap step immediately precedes the upkeep step, and no player receives priority during the untap step. Therefore, there is no opportunity to cast a sorcery between untap and upkeep. Understanding the nuances of priority and the structure of a turn is crucial to mastering the timing of your spells.

Understanding the Turn Structure

To fully grasp why you can’t cast a sorcery before your upkeep, let’s break down the beginning of a turn in MTG:

  1. Untap Step: All permanents you control are untapped simultaneously. No player receives priority during this step, meaning no spells or abilities can be played.

  2. Upkeep Step: This is the second step of your turn. At the beginning of this step, any triggered abilities that trigger “at the beginning of your upkeep” are put on the stack. You receive priority after these triggered abilities are put on the stack.

  3. Draw Step: You draw a card. After the draw, you get priority.

  4. Main Phase (Precombat): This is the first main phase of your turn. During this phase, you can cast sorceries, play lands, and cast creatures, as long as the stack is empty and you have priority.

The key point here is that you only receive priority during the upkeep step after any triggered abilities have been put onto the stack. This prevents you from casting a sorcery before any upkeep triggers. Because no one receives priority during the untap step, you can’t cast a sorcery then either.

The Significance of Priority

Priority is the right to cast spells and activate abilities. In MTG, players don’t constantly have the ability to act. Instead, priority is passed around, allowing each player a chance to respond to actions or initiate their own. You can only cast a sorcery if you have priority and the stack is empty during your main phase. Since the untap and initial portion of the upkeep step do not grant priority, sorceries are off-limits.

Practical Implications

Understanding this rule has significant implications for strategic gameplay. For example, you can’t cast a sorcery to destroy an enchantment before its upkeep ability affects you. You must wait until your upkeep step has begun and any triggered abilities have been placed on the stack before casting the sorcery during your first main phase. This delay can be crucial, giving your opponent an opportunity to react.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are 15 frequently asked questions that provide more clarity on casting spells and abilities around the upkeep step:

1. Can I activate abilities before my upkeep triggers?

No, you can’t activate abilities before your upkeep triggers. You gain priority for the first time during your turn once your upkeep has started and any triggered abilities have gone onto the stack. After that, you gain priority during your turn as normal.

2. Can you cast an instant before upkeep triggers?

Yes, in general you can cast instants after a “beginning of your upkeeptriggered ability is on the stack, but before it resolves. You cannot, however, do it before that ability gets triggered and goes on the stack, which is what messes up your plan.

3. Can you cast spells after untap before upkeep?

No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the untap and upkeep steps because no one has priority.

4. Can you cast an instant during opponent’s upkeep?

Yes, you can cast instants during your opponent’s upkeep. No cards or abilities can be played during the untap step, but during the upkeep and draw steps, players can cast instants and activate abilities as normal.

5. Can you cast between upkeep and draw?

Yes, you can cast spells or activate abilities between upkeep and draw. This is especially important if you’re about to lose due to drawing from an empty library.

6. Can you cast spells during the draw phase?

Yes, you can cast spells and activate abilities during the draw phase, after you draw your card. Assuming it is your turn, you can play any type of spell or ability during this phase.

7. Can I cast an instant before the draw step?

Yes, there is a way to cast an instant before the draw step. If you want to cast an instant before you draw, you need to cast that instant during your upkeep step, after the stack is clear of any triggered abilities from the beginning of the upkeep.

8. Can you cast a sorcery on an instant?

You cannot directly cast a sorcery on an instant. Sorceries can only be cast during your main phase, when the stack is empty and you have priority. You can respond to an instant with another instant, but not with a sorcery. There are cards that allow you to cast sorceries as if they have flash, thus enabling you to cast sorceries during times where you normally could not.

9. Can you flash in a creature during my upkeep?

You can flash in a creature during your upkeep, after any beginning of the upkeep triggered abilities have been put on the stack, if you have priority and an opportunity to do so. However, a creature needs to be in play at the beginning of your turn to use its abilities at the beginning of the turn.

10. Can you cast spells before combat damage is dealt?

No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time it’s dealt.

11. Can you respond to playing a land?

Playing a land is a special action and doesn’t use the stack. A player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn’t go on the stack, players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.

12. When can you not cast an instant?

Instants are the only card type in Magic to have no timing restrictions. They can be played at any time you have priority, including during other player’s turns and while another spell or ability is waiting to resolve.

13. Can you cast an instant in response to your own spell?

Yes, you can cast an instant in response to your own spell. It’s often good etiquette to announce your intention to do so, especially in casual play.

14. When can you activate a sorcery ability?

You can only activate a sorcery ability on one of your own main phases while the stack is empty, the same as if you were casting a sorcery spell.

15. Does copying an instant or sorcery count as casting?

To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated. Copying a spell avoids any “when you cast” triggers but still allows the spell to go on the stack.

Mastering the Timing

Understanding when you can and cannot cast spells in MTG is fundamental to becoming a skilled player. The upkeep step, in particular, requires careful attention due to its impact on triggered abilities and the timing of your actions. Remember, sorceries have restrictions, instants offer flexibility, and priority governs it all! By studying the turn structure and mastering the nuances of priority, you’ll be well-equipped to make strategic plays and outmaneuver your opponents. To further deepen your understanding of game dynamics and the educational aspects of gaming, consider exploring resources like the Games Learning Society and GamesLearningSociety.org, which offer valuable insights into the intersection of learning and games.

Remember that Magic: The Gathering is a complex game, and these rules are simplified for clarity. Always refer to the comprehensive rules for the most accurate and up-to-date information.

Leave a Comment